Skip to content

What we do is not who we are!

May 22, 2006
How many people are working in jobs that they hate?  How many people are looked upon, by others, as the job that they do? 
 
Take cleaners, for example.  In the old days they came from a certain strata of society.  Today, things are different, and cleaners are not just old women, but young and old, men and women, and a lot of students are taking these jobs to earn some money while they study.  Then there are those who are saving for certain things or just need to pay off debts.
 
By now, you should have guessed that I am working as a cleaner, and have done so for the past fifteen years.  The job was originally a stop-gap until I could do better for myself, but things were not going well, at that time, and my fragile self-confidence and self-esteem took a nosedive, so I ended up getting stuck in a rut.
 
Then one day my partner came home from work telling me about a ‘business opportunity’  To cut a long story short, after going to a seminar, I was hooked, and have stayed with it since then.
 
How am I doing?  Business-wise…not very well, but with the help of the books and tapes, I am growing.  Depression is no longer part of my life, I have almost discarded ‘excess baggage’, and my self-belief is improving, and with it my confidence.  I have a long way to go, yet, but I will keep on banging the rocks together, as Robert says.
 
So, back to what I was saying earlier…people should not look down their noses at someone who is doing a job that is not considered desireable, because one day that person might be the one paying their salaries! 
 
Who knows what I will be doing in two to five years time, but I will tell you now…it won’t be cleaning!!
 
 
 
 
11 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    September 9, 2009 1:39 am

    Sod it! I\’m still cleaning…better get a move on if I want to change direction!!!

  2. simon permalink
    September 9, 2009 1:48 am

    Hey ! I\’ve just appeared from an alternative reality. There i was just minding my own <poof> …..

  3. Curiosity permalink
    September 9, 2009 5:46 am

    Cleaning! nah. Environment Enhancer Enabling Efficiency Everyday Evermore Enthusiastically Engineer….too early in the morning for me to jumble those words up to make better sense. Well, I am off to work as Chief Commander continuously clicker counting co2 contaminating charabangs consequectively checking coffee cup charged …………am I still asleep at this godforsaken hour of the dark dark day. Wake up Annie!!!

  4. Curiosity permalink
    September 9, 2009 5:47 am

    consequectively is not a word is it?

  5. Poppy permalink
    September 9, 2009 8:25 am

    It really doesn\’t matter what you do for a living, its who you are that counts 🙂 I have had jobs in a cafe washing up for 8 hours solidly, I worked in a shoe factory, trimming shoes, the Unemployment Benefit Office, British Telecom and of course the Libraries (public and University!) I have just been lucky enough to stay in the Library bit!!Anne, I like your word, and considering the time you wrote it, its brilliant!! :):)

  6. Cornish permalink
    September 9, 2009 9:37 am

    My eyes. My eyes!!!! 😉

  7. Sandi permalink
    September 9, 2009 10:18 am

    Too bright for you, Rachel? Lovely summery weather here, today.BTW, Rachel worked at that place…T-A-X office…!Anne has invented a new word for the day…I have absolutlely no idea how to pronounce it, though, and I\’m not going to try!!My best job ever was at the museum…and I have done washing-up at a restraunt, too…never again!!Er…am I seeing things, or did Simon just appear then disappear…?!!!

  8. Eileen permalink
    September 9, 2009 10:25 am

    Oh I did cleaning for a good few years (as a paid job that is.. I\’m still doing the cleaning I just don\’t get paid for it now!). The silly thing is I used to charge £15 an hour which is pretty good money and you always get job satisfaction knowing when you leave the place is spotless..Now I get paid less than that, it\’s stressfull and demanding yet it\’s supposed to be a skilled job?!Go figure

  9. Deb's permalink
    September 9, 2009 11:49 am

    I have 3 relatives who have worked as cleaners, and the stigma still persists, personally i don\’t think it matters what you do (work wise) as long as you are happy in your work. I even toyed with the idea of going into the cleaning side of things, but cannot through allergies to dust and a lot of the chemicals they use in cleaning products…. so thats me snookered there then. as for building your confidence and self esteem, most local councils (usually in community centres) and colleges run assertiveness classes… and they are usually free too.love n hugsdebsxXx

  10. Sandi permalink
    September 9, 2009 12:05 pm

    On the whole, I have students from the uni, but there are a handful of people at the EA who look down their noses and treat us as if we are a bunch of Mrs Mops…and my guess is, they feel inadequate or inferior in some way (especially if we are better dressed than they are!), or even threatened by these intelligent people working as cleaners. But by acting as if they are by far more superior to us, they only demean themselves. How sad is that!!

  11. Eileen permalink
    September 9, 2009 12:12 pm

    Argh! Students! My hourly rate would go up to £25 per hour cleaning student houses!

Leave a Reply

