Skip to content

Perceptions

May 24, 2006
Isn’t it funny that our perception of others is invariably their perception of us! 
 
How many people out there pass others by, never saying ‘hello’ because they think that they are stuck up?  How many would be surprised to find out that that is exactly what they think of you? 
 
We look at someone and think that they are so cool, and confident, and that we couldn’t possibly talk to them because they might think that we are not good enough, but the reality is that they are quaking inside and wish that they could be like their friend, who can talk to anyone!
 
If only we could all realise that others are just like us, however confident they appear to be, and that if we smile and say ‘hello’ we will discover that they are really nice people to talk to, and you might just end up being life-long friends!
 
So, with this in mind, I am going to say ‘hello’ to those people I usually pass by, most days, and see how they respond. 
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Ogheneovo permalink
    May 24, 2006 3:23 pm

    Hmmmm…This is interesting because I have thought about it before but could never do it. Maybe in a closed environment I could say hello to just about everyone that I see regularly but what about on the bus, on the tube, on the train – I see certain people on a daily bases at the same time everyday as I walk by them but I didn\’t even smile. I guess to an extend it is just the English thing to do but I think I will jsut start by smiling, you never know that smile could just make their day. Thank you very listening (Yes that was you line by now i have made it mine).
     
    Ovo

  2. nicholas permalink
    November 20, 2006 11:34 am

    let me know if any scowl and say naughty words.
    skippy

  3. Sandi permalink
    August 18, 2009 10:30 pm

    This reminded of something that a friend told me, a little while ago…!

  4. Princess permalink
    August 19, 2009 9:32 am

    Yo Sandi! hehehehe, let me know how it goes….then I\’ll try it!! Hope u have a lovely day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  5. Sandi permalink
    August 22, 2009 10:34 am

    Well, there have been quite a few people that I have got to know, over the years, through catching the same bus…people of all ages.But, another side of the Perceptions coin is how we see ourselves and all of our imperfection…and how others see us, as just us! Look at a friend…do you look at them and think "Eeew, look at that pimple!" or "Ye god! You\’ve got another wrinkle!!"…? No, we just see our friend, as a whole, as a person. The same with strangers. So why do we have so many hang-up about ourselves and how we look?So next time you look at your reflection and start to think about the spare tyre or flabby neck…STOP! Life\’s too short for hang-ups!Now I have to try and practice what I preach…! :-I

Leave a Reply

