Skip to content

Life’s Whuppings

June 4, 2006
 
 
"When life throws sudden changes at you, don’t let it intimidate you.  It happens to everybody.  We all experience hard knocks, things that deplete your spirit, drain your energy and sap your courage.  You just have to dig deep into yourself in those times.  At some point you have to admit out loud that life is going to be hardIt is going to be challenging.  And it is going to work out.  You will work it out.  If you don’t life will use you and abuse you."
 
This passage from Les Brown’s book, Live Your Dreams was where I had read to yesterday morning.  It was forgotten after I opened my post…and received a nasty shock concerning an offer of payment for a debt that was refused.  They wanted a weekly payment far in excess of what I am earning, and this shook me to the core.  I cried.  I felt beaten.  I could not see a way of dealing with it.  In short, I did not know what to do.
 
Robert came home from work.  After reading the letter, he calmly said that we could deal with it, then gave a list of things that we could do that made more sense than my list of ‘ideas’. 
 
Now that I have had time to think about it, I do not feel so defeated.  Once a solution is found, we will be able to deal with this problem and move on.  It has been one of Life’s lessons that I have learnt from and will definitely not be repeating!  One day I will be able to look back and see the good that came from this ‘incident’.
 
"Let me tell you something:  You never stop getting whuppings in life.  And usually while you are getting them you don’t understand.  You think maybe there has been a mistake.  They’ve got the wrong person.  You scream, "Why is this happening to ME?"  You become angry and defiant and resentful, and feel sorry for yourself.  And then, later on, you look back and you say, "Now I know why I had to go through that.  I needed that lesson.  It opened me up to new possibilities.  I guess it was worth it, after all."
 
Who knows how things will turn out.  But you know what they say about every cloud having a silver lining…
 
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

