Skip to content

Every Cloud Has a Silver Lining

March 30, 2007
Well, last time I wrote I was in despair and wondering what on earth we were going to do.  Things just seemed to go from bad to worse, and I thought that we were going to sink.  Then, the loan that we applied for in October(!) finally materialised, debts were paid off, and the situation at work, with regards to how things were going to change and how it would affect us, has been ‘interesting’ to say the least.
 
We went for our induction and training, after a last minute phone call confirming that Robert was still wanted as Supervisor, and learned a lot of useful and important stuff.  Our trainer, Paulina, kept our attention all day, and I left wishing that she was going to be one of the Power Start-up team, but she wasn’t.  Shame, because that woman has such a big personality and lots of enthusiam and could even make watching paint dry interesting!
 
Anyway, back at work, next day, saw the place in total chaos, with people all over the place putting out stock, checking stuff, rushing about, and I panicked when Chrisine was taken off the till to go and start on her training workbook, because I had to take her place.  It wouldn’t have been too bad if it hadn’t just happen to be the mad pre-budget fill-up!  The fore-court was so busy, and cars were constantly queuing, the console constantly bleeping and my head was in a whirl!  By the time I left work, I just went home and sat quietly with a nice cup of tea.  I had no idea where that afternoon went, and before I knew it it was time to get ready and leave for my second job.  What a blessed relief it was to finally climb into bed and snuggle up with my darling husband.
 
Next day was so much quieter, in the shop and on the forecourt!  Thank goodness!  Since then, I have been bloody annoyed by the Power Rangers and got to know and like some of them.  They have been patient with us as we have been learning all the new things that we now have to do, like all the blasted paperwork!  I have practically finished workbook one, all but one small section on end of shift stuff, which I haven’t done, and still have to learn about in case I ever have to do a shift.  I am only part-time, doing eighteen hours per week in the mornings, at the moment, and have been used to stocking shelves, doing new promotional stuff, cleaning the shop and forecourt, taking the occasional tanker and chilled deliveries, etc., etc.  
 
The Power Rangers have all but finished here, and next week we get our new Store Manager.  I still feel uncertainty about how and where I am going to fit in, now, but I shall just have to wait and see, won’t I!
One Comment leave one →
  1. Bob permalink
    April 5, 2007 7:30 am

    Don\’t worry darling, you\’ll fit in just fine. All you have to do is relax and think about what you\’re doing, not what you would like to be doing.

Leave a Reply

