Skip to content

Jane Austen Festival

May 9, 2008
Right, for all you Jane Austen fans out there, if you don’t already know about it, I am going to tell you a little bit about the Jane Austen Festival. It is held every year, in September, in the beautiful Georgian city of Bath, so check out www.janeausten.co.uk/festival to find out more.  This year’s programme and dates are included, as are reviews of previous festivals, with lots of photos.  
 
The festival opens with a Grand Regency Promenade, and what could be more fun than strolling around the city dressed as one of your favourite Austen or Heyer heroines….or heroes!  Since I discovered all this, it has been my wish to join in, so I got busy researching and collecting fabrics for my costume.  This was when Robert said that if I ‘knock up a costume’ for him, he would join me.  I spent almost a year researching men’s fashions of the day, only to come to the conclusion that I would need to do a tailoring course to learn all the necessary skills before even attempting it!!  A shame, really, as the majority of the promenaders are women, and most of the men who take part look as though they belong to re-enactment societies.  
 
Last September, we made the trip to Bath, to follow the promenaders, and take photos.  Even though I hadn’t got my costume made up, I had a very enjoyable day, and vowed that I will take part this year, though I have no idea where I am going to be, size-wise, due to the medication I’m on, or wether I will have the radio-iodine treatment for my thyroid problem.  Will keep you posted on that one.  Minor detail!
 
So, check it out!    
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

