Skip to content

Is It Legal Tender?

June 15, 2008
The other day, I went to catch the bus into town, and, being in that ‘too much month left at the end of the wages’ time, I had to hunt around for a couple of quid for my fare  This found, off I set.  At the bus stop, I met a neighbour and we stood chatting until the bus arrived.  We got on, and I stated that I wanted a single into town.  The driver looked at the coins I’d dropped into the tray and sneered:  "Not with that you won’t!"  "I beg your pardon?" I replied, somewhat taken aback.  "I’m not taking that…it’s nt legal tender!" he said, stubbornly.  I looked at it…"Oh, yes it is!" I replied, defiantly, "The Isle of Man is British!"  But, he wasn’t having any of it, so I had to ask if anyone could swap or change it for me, which they did, and I got my ticket.
OK, can anyone answer me this…why are there so many of these coins in circulation, along with Channel Islands and those others, if they are not legal tender?  And who looks?  Who even cares?!  It’s a friggin’ pound coin, for f**k’s sake! 
I think the bus driver was just being a jumped-up, pedantic little shit, and it made him feel big!  Tosser!!
One Comment leave one →
  1. tigr permalink
    June 20, 2008 12:19 am

    Start saving penny coins, count it into a little bag then next time dump the whole lot in his tray and say" you better check that"

Leave a Reply

