Skip to content

The Trees Have Grown So…!

July 2, 2008
I really could not make up my mind what category to put this under…Entertainment, Beef of the Day, or what…
As I’m having a little whinge about the lovely trees here.  Whinge?  Lovely trees?  Umm…yes…but only for this week.  The reason is because the RAF Waddington International Airshow is on this coming weekend, and the trees have now grown so much that I can’t see as much as I used to.
It has started to get busy, with aircraft coming in from all over the world, and a lot of display practice going on…I keep disappearing to the window to see if I can see what is flying. Listening to Airshow FM 103.6 is much easier than running to the bedroom window…it might be execise, but I’ll be knackered before I get to work!  Besides, they keep you informed of what is going on, and what is flying, etc. 
I love going to the airshow, but this year we’re giving it a missSad…and I’ll miss Chitty Chitty Bang Bang…Crying!!!
Well, hope the weather stays dry…last year it was cancelled because the airfield was flooded and the carparks turned to quagmires!  And I’m keeping my fingers crossed that the Vulcan will be putting in an appearance…I remember when Vulcans were stationed there, and we watched them doing bumps and curcuits…those were the days…
 
  
2 Comments leave one →
  1. tigr permalink
    July 2, 2008 7:36 pm

    I love the air shows to,we are only about 20 mins from Duxford and it\’s agreat day out.I have a Red Arrows memorial clock dated 1982 with all the signatures of the officrs in the team engraved on the plate with a picture of a plane in flight,one of my treasured possesions from the past.We used to watch Navy helicopter crews doing bumps at Portland,they would rush in over the sea and just when you thought they were going to plugh into the pad they would nose up and break with the rotors and flop down on to the pad,then in a split second up and nose down tear off again.Round and round one after the other .
    Ah happy days by the sea side and bloody noisy to.
    tigr

  2. Sandi permalink
    July 2, 2008 8:04 pm

    Those were indeed the days…we moved here in 75 to the base of Waddington hill, with a great view up to the airspace above the camp…as I mentioned, they were the days of the Vulcans, and they flew from there during the Falklands War.  There were also the Buccaneers, Lightnings, Harriers, Phantoms, and the Victors…it was fascinating watching them doing the in-flight refuelling.  I spent ages at my bedroom window, binoculars in hand, not only watching the aircraft, but the wildlife, too.  Yeah…I have taken heaps of photographs…we just need a new scanner, so that I can start getting some of them on here…!  

Leave a Reply

