Skip to content

POLITE NOTICE

July 11, 2008
I’ve had another one!  Someone has requested to be my friend…and I don’t even know them! Baring teeth
ACCESS DENIED
I hope that dosn’t appear rude of me, but I thought the polite way to go about things, here, was to get to know people by leaving messages in their guestbooks and blogs, and wait for return visits, etc…not just bang in a friendship request. 
They could just be new to Spaces, and not know, in which case I would like to apologise…but, then again, they could be up to no good, in which case they can bugger off!!
I ended up with one who got added to my Messenger contacts, and popped up, as soon as I’d turned on my computer, saying:  "Hi Sandi…how are you?"  I deleted him straight away, and went though all my Messenger and Spaces lists delting him…creep! Sick  Was this because I’d checked him out before denying friendship?
What do the rest of you do in such cases?  I could do with another module which would be a Noticeboard…i.i. POLITE NOTICE  Blah, blah, blah…
5 Comments leave one →
  1. tigr permalink
    July 11, 2008 11:32 am

    I don\’t get that many invites to be honest (sad).Men rarely invite other men and thats fine with me.I think women are very astute and check potentials out,perhaps they see i am old and randy all the time and they say urrgh no thanks  ? ah well can\’t please all the people all the time.
    Many people and in particular younger gregarious types view these social sites differently to us more mature peeps…ahem.
    They have a good social life and many friends around so they get all the close contact and chat they need and use the pages as just a sort of advert for their selves.
    People who have been there and done that and now have quieter lives,value close contact and friendship more as in some cases like my self it is the only contact they have with real people .
    Different needs and values thats all.Most people i accepted blind in the early days i have deleted because i was one of hundreds and felt unimportant.
    I have learnt that many people with loads of contacts still keep a close and smaller group of friends who they contact regularly so it is wrong to judge on numbers alone.
    You are right to be cautious as a list of people who never visit like a lot of younger ones as i said,
    can be a drag on your time and is stressful.Stick to people who have things in common with you that is how i have pruned my list and i am happy with all my friends now.
    I like you because you are funny and kind and make me smile a lot,what more could i ask for from a friend…perfect.

  2. Sandi permalink
    July 11, 2008 11:55 am

    Now, now…don\’t talk bollocks!
    1) You ain\’t old (you may feel it, but you ain\’t!!)
    2) Who does all the inviting, then?  Tigrx is now friends with….blah, blah, blah.
    3) Judging by all the women in your friends list, I hardly think that they say such things!!!  (Who ya trying to kid, sweetie-pie?!)
    Anyway, you\’re probably right about the way young people go about things…and I think it\’s disgraceful!!  They have no inhibitions…just look at the way they display themselves…on second thoughts…don\’t!  (you might get done for being a dirty old m…Tigr…LOL!  Now, where was I?  Oh, yes, displaying themselves…ahem…disgraceful! 
    Now, about you \’long\’ lens…our flat is… 

  3. Cornish permalink
    July 11, 2008 7:39 pm

    I don\’t like it when they ask to be your friend and you can\’t even view their space. Most of us out there are alright, it\’s just the odd one or two that ruin it for the rest.
    Oh and a tip. If you get the request coming through on messenger – go straight to your space and sort the request out through there. That way they don\’t get onto messenger. I did it through messenger once and got someone on there who has since been deleted.
    Have a good weekend. xx

  4. Pamela permalink
    July 11, 2008 9:04 pm

    OOPS!! I did not see this blog before. I have seen your comments in other friends blogs and liked your personality ( and screen pic).
    I did not know his name is Charlie, fitting though!!

  5. Sandi permalink
    July 11, 2008 9:44 pm

    Sorry, Pamela…this was not aimed at you…had a couple of fellas…no idea who they were (one called himself Sexyboy, and the other was Jesse!)  One of \’em got onto my Messenger because I checked him out through the e-mail!   Can\’t be too careful these days, sad to say.
     
     

Leave a Reply

