Skip to content

I Want to Make a Sunbonnet…!

July 13, 2008
It’s got to be getting on for twenty years since I last made a sunbonnet!  So, why the sudden urge to make one now?!  Is the weather about to make sudden improvements, perhaps?  Who knows!  It seems that the Sunbonnet Lady is back…
The Museum of Lincolnshire Life ‘Crafternoons’ and Church Farm Museums ‘Craft Week’…those were the days…school kids who would ask me what I was doing…sunbonnets and pictures of women wearing sunbonnets all around me(!)…I’d ask them what it looked like I was making…lace? some would answer…and that was just the teachers…!!!  Ye gods!!  The teachers!!  Some would just stop in front of me and spout a load of b*****ks to the kids, and when I politely put them right, they would glare at me and hurry said children on to the next demo…and do the same again!!  The ignorance of some people!
Anyway, have got my fabric, scissors, thread, piping cord, pins and needles (from sitting on the floor!), tape measure, ruler and fabric pen…and round thing to draw round (for edges of brim)…and off I jolly well go…tum te tumtum tum, tiddlie-pom…
What?  Are you still here…?!  That’s all for now…I’m busy…
 
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    July 13, 2008 8:23 pm

    HEHEHEHEE, Ok..we\’ll wait….4 the picci!!! Hope u have a Great resta evening! Luv PF XXX

  2. tigr permalink
    July 13, 2008 10:13 pm

    iT\’S TRUE FOLKS SHE REALLY IS BARMY  !

  3. Sandi permalink
    July 13, 2008 10:31 pm

    Why are you calling PF barmy?  That\’s not very nice.
    What?  You mean me?!  Doh!  Of course I\’M barmy…I thought you knew that!!!
    Daft Tiggy

  4. Cornish permalink
    July 14, 2008 2:21 pm

    We need pictures. I have visions of Little House on the Prairie going through my head! Oh and Holly Hobby too. Can\’t wait to see the results, and yes, we DO have to go with these urges! You go girl! xx

  5. Sandi permalink
    July 14, 2008 2:39 pm

    American sunbonnets are much plainer than ours…Lincolnshire bonnets have a piped brim and rows of tucks and piping, gathered into an arched back piece, which can be piped or plain…then with one or two curtains round the bottom.  N.Yorkshire bonnets are plain and simple in construction (looking like a pinny when flat) but look lovely when gathered and worn.
    I have no idea about Cornwall or Devon, yet, so can\’t tell you.  Wiltshire bonnets, similar to ours, but with no curve to bottom of brim.
    The most decorative were the boatwomen\’s bonnets. 
    Blah, blah, blah…drone…waffle…sorry…

Leave a Reply

