Skip to content

Sunbonnet Update

July 19, 2008
Last Sunday evening, I had the urge to make a sunbonnet…I know, strange woman!  Anyway, I’ve had this white cotton with little apples all over it, and big red apples down either side, for years…no idea where it came from…which I’ve often thought would be suitable for sunbonnets.
The piped brim took a few days, fiddly to begin with, as the piping cord has to be sewn into the curved edge…after three pieces, I did the rest straight across…this was a bit tedious.  Brim finished, I had to decide on the piping and tucks for the main part…this took a couple of days, in between work and other things, and would have taken less time if it had all been done on a sewing machine!
Today, I have hemmed the ‘curtain’, and am now at THE fiddly bit…pulling the cords to gather it into a head-shape, and get them even!  This I do after pinning the curved back piece in place…oh, joy!!!
3 Comments leave one →
  1. tigr permalink
    July 19, 2008 11:01 pm

    Life in the fast lane….where\’s me tea woman.

  2. Sandi permalink
    July 19, 2008 11:39 pm

    Milk?  Sugar?  Weak?  Strong?  A.I.C?

  3. Princess permalink
    July 20, 2008 8:45 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! Oohh sounds interesting! We need a phot ?!?! Hope u have a Great Sunday, it\’s Gorgeous here-YAY! About time 2! Hope the sun bonnet is finished now…..oooh how about a phot of U modelling it?! Rather than just a phot of the bonnet! Luv PF XXX

Leave a Reply

