Skip to content

Moth Party

July 26, 2008
Wow!  One last blog entry before I retire to my bed…about bugs!  Yes, bugs…my window is covered in them!  Each evening, I love to watch the moths flitting about and knocking themselves senseless against the glass, but tonight…there’s more!
Millions of minute midges have appeared, and along with them the lacewings.  Lacewings and spiders are having a real feast…and there’s plenty to go round!
There’s the big moth that never settles, just frantically going up and down the window…and a tiny moth that’s all of half an inch long.  Then there’s a silvery-cream, medium-sized moth, a couple of neat-looking ths, an inch and a quarter wing-span, that never seem to move.  There are one or two more, but, alas, I cannot identify them by looking at their undersides.
All the beautiful pictures in my book show the colourful side, obviously, and not the underwings…ne’mind…they are still fascinating to watch.  I still haven’t seen any hawk moths at the window…
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    July 26, 2008 8:55 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! ooooh that sounded interesting! Hope u have a Great Day 2day, the sun is out here & it is BOILING!!! Luv PF XXX

  2. Bal permalink
    July 26, 2008 1:07 pm

    EEEwwwww … sorry Sandi but I have a phobia about moths!!!! My skin is crawling just reading all that but I do like to look at them and I am sure they made a beautiful twilight display for you (even with their sore heads!!! lol)
    Nice to hear you are keeping well … keep it up!!! Eat blueberries and drink cranberry juice they are very very good antioxidents and flush out nasties from your system.  Mmm hope you like fruit?  xxx

Leave a Reply

