Skip to content

A day at the Coast

July 28, 2008
This morning began almost like yesterday…but earlier!  I do apologise if this reads like total jibberish, but the late nights and early morns are beginning to tell on me!  Yawn!!  And you know what I’m like for waffling…Embarrassed
Anyway…!  This morning we went to sunny Skegness.  Me, Robert, Lynda and Smokie…and the first stop was a pub for breakfast…which I passed on, as I really did not fancy a plateful of grease Sick….I’d already had a couple of slices of toast, and said I would get something a little later…and had a nice cup of tea, instead.  We then took a stroll down Lumley Road towards the seafront, and saw where the amusement/entertainment complex once stood, before it burned down last year. 
Onwards, to the beach…off came shoes and socks, and trousers or jeans were rolled up ready for a paddle in the sea.  (You cannot go to the seaside and NOT paddle in the sea…it just has to be done!) Open-mouthed  The sand was warm, and the water was, too!  We had a fab time splashing about like big kids, and finding dead crabs, shells, starfish and even a compass jellyfish!  That was the reason I did not go where I could not see the sand, because jellyfish are not always easy to spot, and there are now several species in our warmer waters.
Back to the car, and onwards, to Fantasy Island, a bit further up the coast at Ingoldmells.  The day was very bright…sometimes sunny, but mostly cloudy bright…which was hurting my eyes, and giving me a slight headache again, so when Robert and Lynda went on the roller-coaster, where your legs are dangling(!!), I found it difficult to watch.  Here, there are two roller-coasters that kind of inter-twine, and which are both painted in different colours for easy identification…I agreed to go on the other one!  So after a wander round the market, we arrived at the second one…I decided against it, but Robert had already bought the tokens, so I wasn’t allowed to back down.  Ye gods, it was high!!!  And the first descent and twist leave your innards all of a jumble Sick, but after that, the corkscrews and twists wern’t all that bad…I would go on again. Confused
Inside, there is a children’s show, bars, more weird and wonderful rides…another one that I agreed to go on!  Smokie didn’t know that you could end up soaked from this ride, but he sussed it when we were halfway up the stairs…too late to back down now, matey!  From the arena area, you look up at a big spiralling tube…I was told that it’s a boat ride…it turned out to be a water flume with inflateable dinghies…one, or two people go at a time…and disappear down the tube!  Oh, shit!  Robert went first…then me!  I screamed!…sharpe right, then left, then…total darkness, apart from flashes…aaaaaaarrrrrrgh….!!!!! Light again and I could see the direction of the twists…OMG!!!!…last corner, and the end…phew…helped out of boat…I’m still dry!  We all managed to stay dry…except Lynda…who got drenched!  After she bought herself a new pair of trousers, and changed, we had something to eat, then back to the car…and home!
Robert went straight to bed, he’s at work tonight, and I have to get him up at twelve…If I can stay awake long enough…Sleepy
 
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalia permalink
    July 28, 2008 10:48 pm

    Headache Sandi? I should of thought after that you\’d have a totally new hair style after that experience. By any chance was Lynda at the front?

  2. Sandi permalink
    July 28, 2008 11:10 pm

    On the boat/flume thingy, we each went seperately…after the roller-coaster, yes, a totally windswept look(actually, having the car windows open did most of the re-styling!)

  3. Pamela permalink
    July 28, 2008 11:26 pm

    The beach sounds lovely.
    I HATE rollercoasters!! Refuse to get on `em.
    I do like the log flume though, only one drop and blessed cool water.

  4. Princess permalink
    July 29, 2008 3:57 pm

    Yo Sandi! WELL DONE!!! U went on the rollercoaster!!! Rather u than me!!! I am afraid the only ting i will go on is the carosel, hehehehe! See u got past the height restrictions then 2 get on! That wud be one of my greatest fears!  Well it\’s gorgeous here now, was awful when I got up tho, was chucking it down. Have just finished staining the decking. Hope u have a lovely rest aday! Luv PF XXX

  5. Sandi permalink
    July 29, 2008 8:44 pm

    Hey, guys…rollercoasters scare me, too!  But I remember when the corkscrew arrived at Alton Towers…and I was persuaded to go on it…just like anything we fear, it was nowhere near as scary as I thought it would be…which is why I went on the Millenium Rollercoaster at Fantasy Island…not as scary I I\’d imagined!  Damned imagination…!!!

Leave a Reply

