Skip to content

Off to Sunny Cricklewood

July 28, 2008
 Phew!  What a scorcher it was, yesterday! Sun  All I did, all day, was sweat…and I detest sweating! Angry
We left home all clean and fresh, but as soon as Robert opened the car door and the heat hit me, I knew that we would arrive at our destination looking like limp…er…lettuce…?  I don’t mean all green and floppy…though I wasn’t far off!!  Sitting for three hours in a mobile oven, having had nothing to eat ordrink, was not my idea of fun…Robert had told me that we would stop on the way for breakfast…and did we…?  Did we b*****ks!
We finally arrived at our destination…to meet friends, Jan and Lyndon, who were here on holiday…from Bermuda.  They moved there due to Lyndon’s job, and will be staying out there for a couple more years.  (We arranged to go and see them before they disappeared again.)
We stopped for a couple of drinks at the club…where they had been catching up with another friend…before heading for Jan’s cousin’s…in Ashford.  Robert had printed a couple of maps, so that we could find the place, but he missed a turning…which was just off the corner!!!  After turning back and trying to figure out where he’d gone wrong, he actually stopped and asked someone…so we arrived to find Jan already there…preparing dinner (which would be breakfast to me…I was ravenous!) Tongue out
It turned out to be rather a full-house, as Jan and Lyndon’s children and Kim and Dave’s. too, made it quite hectic…and all I wanted, after the hot, sticky journey, was to sit quietly, in the garden, to cool down a bit.  This was not to be, as everyone piled out after me, and two boys cannot play quietly together…it has to be at the top of their lungs and at high speed, too!  Exhausting!!! Sleepy
We had a most excellent dinner…Jan is a brilliant cook…which helped to revive me, and we spent a very pleasant evening sitting in the garden while the sun set and it got dark.  What a relief it was to finally be comfortably cool.
It was almost eleven when we left, and getting on for two in the morning when we got home…and we had another early morning ahead of us…!
 
 
 
5 Comments leave one →
  1. tigr permalink
    July 28, 2008 9:47 pm

    Your a happy chapette these days ….wot\’s the secret ?

  2. Sandi permalink
    July 28, 2008 10:33 pm

    Happy?  I\’m buggered!!!  I want to go to bed….!!!!
    Um…am feeling better because I stopped taking nasty tablets…er…other dosage halved, and Thyroxine doubled…so far, so good…feeling a bit more bouncy…until my next period, then will be in big black hole again!!! (Only for a couple of days, I think…!)
    Am still a worrier, just haven\’t had much time, lately…I want to go to bed!!!!!!!!!

  3. Pamela permalink
    July 28, 2008 11:18 pm

    I am so with you on the hatred of sweating!!
    I hate Summer, wish it was Autumn with the beautiful leaves, and cool, crisp nights. Sigh… 

  4. Sandi permalink
    July 28, 2008 11:53 pm

    I love Spring…new life…birds singing…bliss…

  5. tigr permalink
    July 29, 2008 1:57 am

    Thanks for the offer no really i can\’t go to bed with you i am a hap….? i am a married man you hussy !

Leave a Reply

