Skip to content

HOW MUCH?!!!!

August 1, 2008
You could have knocked me down with a flamin’ feather!  Seriously!  My flabber has never been so ghasted!!! 
Last week I went into Kodak Express to ask about putting my negs onto discs, and was quoted:  Five, twenty-four exposure films per disc, each disc £2.99.  Bargain! says I!  So, I sort out a bundle of the brown plastic thingies, and take them in a couple of days later.  Again I asked and was quoted the same….fine. Open-mouthed
Today (er, Thursday), I went in to collect them and the girl behind the counter said it would be…over £50!  HOW MUCH?!!! I cried in utter disbelief, so she repeated herself. Surprised  No way!!  I told her what I’s been quoted, and said that I had ten pounds on me…and that there was no way I was paying over fifty quid!  I was not a happy bunny, and said so…I also told her that I that I had been misled, so she explained about the processes and time it took, etc. Angry  I didn’t care…I had been quoted this much and I was not going to pay that much! Baring teeth  She went and spoke to the manager, came back and said I could pay for them in two goes (it was two discs, so she suggested I buy one disc now, and one later…!)  I stood my ground (I’m getting better at being a stubborn bugger!)
The manager came over and I told him the same, and he asked if it had been a young lad.  Yes.  He’s going to get a stiff talking to…I suggested he give the blighter a damn good slapping!!! Sarcastic 
Anyway, I got both discs for £5.98!  I should think so, indeed!!! Open-mouthed
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    August 1, 2008 7:41 am

    Yo Sandi! WELL DONE U!!! I don\’t blame u 4 standing ur ground. If the lad didna know then he shudna said, he should have informed u that he would have 2 check it out & call u back. I DID thin that seemed very cheap when u came & told us how much it was gonna cost! Ne way, his fault is ur gain! hehehehee! Ooooh I see u have put pics of ur bonnet in so I am off 4 a nosey! B4 I go, the rain last night!!!!! I have honestly never heard a downpour like it in my life!!!! Woke up this morn 2 bright sunshine so hoping it\’s gonna stay, so I can get some painting dine! Hope u have a Great DAY 2DAY & that the sun is shining ur way! Luv PF XXX

  2. Natalia permalink
    August 1, 2008 12:06 pm

    Hello Sandi, you do sound like my kinda girl. As PF says, really well done. Knowing your consumer rights goes along way to obtaining what you want. I saw your pics of the Bonnets and it\’s obvious alot of work went into them. The last one was a bit scary looking though but very practical as protects the shoulders. I think the lodger has def moved in as he\’s worming his way into my Bed now. (oh he of the ginger nuts). xx

  3. Sandi permalink
    August 1, 2008 2:10 pm

    Some of the bonnets are beautifully made, but some are quite roughly stitched…but this in no way detracts from their beauty.  The Boatwomens bonnets are far more decorative than their normal country cousins…New blog entry coming up…!!

Leave a Reply

