Skip to content

He Drank Me Under The Table…Literally!!

August 9, 2008
Ho, hum…how silly did I look…?!  Very…I’m just disappointed that no-one took a picture. Disappointed
I arrived at the pub, after work, for Dean and Tina’s wedding ‘do’…the place was heaving…people and kids everywhere, disco in full swing.  Lynda and Smokie were sitting by the door, with Robert sat in Wally’s wheelchair…conversation was made difficult by the volume of the music, so when Robert went to go outside for a cigarette, I grabbed my drink and followed…it was far too hot inside!
The beer garden had lost it’s lake-look, and the gazeboes and bouncy castle were out…so we went and sat at one of the picnic-tables with bench combined…typical of most pub beer-gardens…but I digress…
Sue and Kev joined us, as did one or two others, and when they went inside to play on the football table Robert said he was going to finish his pint then go home to get some sleep (working – night shift).  Pint finished, he leaned across to kiss me…woah!…what…?  Tilt…!!!  The table began tipping…beer and glasses sliding my way…there was nothing I could do…!  Robert rolled clear, but I was trapped…still ‘sitting’…on my back, on the soggy grass, with the table on top of me, covered in beer and surrounded by glasses…!!!  I must have looked a picture!!  If it wasn’t for the large umbrella, I could have lifted the table off, myself, but several chaps came to my rescue and lifted it, while Robert and another guy helped me to my feet. 
Yuk!  Soggy bum and back…mud and grass…"what have you been up to…?!"  I’m glad I was wearing trousers!
10 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    August 9, 2008 1:24 pm

    Ooooh Sandi!!! U have sooooo let us down by not providing the picci evid 4 us 2 have a good old laugh at! ROFL!!! Ya know that is usu the sorta thing that happens 2 me! Hope u have a good resta day, it raining here AGAIN!!! Luv PF XXX

  2. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2008 1:34 pm

    I don\’t think anyone got any pics…am disappointed…!
    It\’s peeing down with rain, here, too…it was a nice day, yesterday, which was nice for Dean and Tina…too many people for everyone to stay indoors!

  3. tigr permalink
    August 9, 2008 1:37 pm

    Well if you came home from the pub covered in mud and grass all up your back and soggy knickers what would your husband say princess.
    H e wouldn\’t believe that story for a start sanndi. ! !

  4. Natalia permalink
    August 9, 2008 1:44 pm

    Hmmm! reminds me of that quip, "the drinks are on you then? Sandi" Thanks for the comment in my blog yesterday, How true. Try googling Dharma if you already havent, Tis interesting. (if you like that sort of thing) What you wrote in tigers Blog today., Well said and for that………. A big hug from me. xx

  5. Pamela permalink
    August 9, 2008 4:26 pm

    I`m grinning at Amiee`s "drinks are on you"!!!
    And yes Pf, pictures would be nice .
    I`m assuming that you weren`t hurt?

  6. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2008 5:49 pm

    Um…nice bruise and lump coming up on my calf…just under the back of my knee…ow…!

  7. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2008 5:51 pm

    Pictures there may not be…but you can conjure the mental picture of us tipping back and me still \’sitting at the table\’…albeit on my back with legs in the air…!!!

  8. Cornish permalink
    August 9, 2008 7:20 pm

    I thought you were going to say that you got onto the bouncy castle and had some fun (big kid at heart, me). Why is there never a camera about when you need one? Hope the bruise fades quickly and the lump even quicker. xx

  9. LABW permalink
    August 9, 2008 7:36 pm

     Can\’t hold your drink then..eh…or any body elses…LMAO
     
      LABW x

  10. Sandi permalink
    August 9, 2008 7:47 pm

    \’Fraid not, sweetie…had a cascade of glasses falling on me…including my own…!!!  LOL!!!

Leave a Reply

