Skip to content

Autumn Approaches

September 1, 2008
Well…I was going to say that it’s the first of September…and it’s a beautiful sunny morning…but there is a bank of grey clouds coming up from the south-west…humph…!!!  I was hoping that today would see some lovely weather…all day…!!  Oh, well, as is usual in this country…enjoy it while it’s here…!!! Hot
 
Some of the birch trees have started to change colour, with small strands of gold…but on the whole…all still lush and green.  The blackberries are ripe, and all kinds of other berries are ripening and showing bright reds and oranges.  Yes, autumn is fast approaching…
 
Actually, it seems that today’s weather is goingto be alternating sunshine Sun with clouds and the odd little shower Umbrella…so, roll-on the next sunny spell…!! Open-mouthed
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Unknown permalink
    September 1, 2008 11:37 am

    Hi. I just stopped by from Pam\’s and saw your question about Labor Day. It\’s a holiday that was created to recognise the working men and women of America… It\’s always celebrated on the first Monday in September and is for most people, the *unofficial* end of summer. And I\’m missing it and homesick today!!
     
    I wish I could see a few trees outside my window. I moved from suburbia Texas to city centre Sunderland a few years ago and still haven\’t adjusted to city dwelling. You can take the girl out of the country, but you can\’t take the country out of the girl. With that, I\’ll bid "y\’all" tara.  xx Jake

  2. Cornish permalink
    September 1, 2008 2:25 pm

    That bank of grey cloud is currently dumping lots of rain onto us down ere, together with the gales it\’s just like a warm winter.
    I love the first colours of autumn but once the leaves have turned but not dropped they all look dirty and that\’s when I\’m not so keen. As for stamping on crispy leaves and scooting them ………. great fun! I walk around like a drunkard in autumn from one crispy leaf to another!
    As for those blackberries …………… I\’ve got the first of three gallons of wine on the go beside me (I\’ll save some for you). The next will be started by the end of the week. They\’ve been late this year though due to the lack of sun. We\’re usually picking them from early august onwards.
    I can almost smell the freedom. Counting down the hours to thursday. Woohooooooo. Take care Sandi. Hugs. xx

  3. Princess permalink
    September 1, 2008 2:34 pm

    Yo Sandi! Good afters! Well the sun has been out here – YAY! I have done my staff training day & am now just trying 2 dry all my washing whilst the sun makes a rare appearance! Hope u have a lovely resta day! Luv PF XXX

Leave a Reply

