Skip to content

Hat’s The Ticket..?!

September 7, 2008
What do other people think I can do…?! Confused 
Because I love needlework, and love to design and make things, like costumes for amateur dramatics, I get the feeling that people think I’m some sort of expert with a needle and sewing machine…I’m not…!!  I tend to make things up as I go along…!!  Yes, I can make sunbonnets by hand…and, using a calico toile, have (sort of) worked out my Regency spencer (short jacket that fastens under the bust)…I still need help from my dress-making friend, Geddes!! 
I have been thinking about finding an actual dress-making class, so that I can learn the ins and outs of button holes and zips and other fiddly fabric thingummies for myself…!!! Thinking
So, what has caused this little outburst…I hear you ask…!  Robert came home from the pub, earlier to say that Tina had given my phone number to Geordie Dave’s girlfriend, also Tina, because she wants to do a hat-making course…or something like.  As I said, I have been thinking of finding something like this to do, so I thought it a good idea.  Then she phoned me…and she has a dress pattern and the satin…and could I make her wedding dress for her…?!!!  She also said something about sewing it by hand…!!!!!  What…?!!! Surprised Um…no…sorry…! 
As for the hat-making thing…for her hen night she wants to do something different, as she does not drink, and could we make hats…?  Now, that sounds like a good idea…at the moment…!  I’m meeting her at the pub on Wednesday evening to find out more…I’ll keep you posted…!! Sarcastic 
 
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    September 7, 2008 2:39 pm

    Yo Sandi, aaw that\’s brill! I think u shud go on a course & get more knowledgebale about something that ur really interested in! Keep us posted! Sun is out here at the mo! Luv PF XXX

  2. Cornish permalink
    September 7, 2008 4:13 pm

    Perhaps you just don\’t give yourself enough credit for the beautiful items you create. Other people must think you\’re good otherwise they wouldn\’t ask. That\’s one way of looking at it anyway. I wouldn\’t make the dress either. You have to be comfortable with your own ability to make something so special as that.
    Thanks for the website tip. I\’ve ordered my pattern now so that\’ll be here in a few days. I\’m not sure whether to hand sew (don\’t tell Tina) or to ask my neighbour to lend a hand with it. I\’m not good with sewing machines so that\’s something best left to an emergency.
    The hat making course sounds right up your street. Go for it! Have a good evening. xx

Leave a Reply

