Skip to content

What Is Wrong With People…?!!!

September 15, 2008
Today, I thought I’d go into town earlier, so that I wouldn’t be late for work…and I was still left standing at the bus-stop for nearly half-an-hour…!!  The bus finally arrived…after four had gone in the opposite direction…and I still thought that I would actually be early…until we got into town and the traffic seemed to come to a standstill.  What now…?  A bus or lorry broken down on Lindum Hill, or a rush-hour accident caused by someone being too impatient…? 
Some people tried to board the bus at the last stop, just before the bus station, and when the driver tried to tell them that we were going into the bus station, they told him that the police had blocked it off, due to someone trying to jump off of the footbridge over Broadgate…that was why all the buses ahead were turning right to go round what used to be the Grand Hotel and back on their way again.
I got off the bus at the stop the other side of the ex hotel, and had to dash across to the bus station..I was late for work…again…!!!  The bus station was a strange place to be, this afternoon…not one single bus to be seen…but every bus shelter was full of people waiting to go home and all you could hear was people talking…!
Trying to push my way through all those people, I was told that I would have to go back…so I dashed through the Co-op and over the bridge, over the river, to try and get across Broadgate from the other side.  There were people everywhere, all rubber-necking…and I suddenly felt angry.  I felt like shouting at these people who looked on it as entertainment…Youre all sick!!!  You’re sick bastards…!!!  I know that human nature makes us look at that which is not nice, but this upset me…
That poor guy was crying out for help…maybe whatever had made him feel as though life was not worth living is not really so bad to the rest of us, but to him…maybe he was so upset he didn’t know which way to turn…maybe all he wanted was for someone to listen to him and treat him seriously.  I hope someone listens to him, now…
6 Comments leave one →
  1. Natalia permalink
    September 15, 2008 10:31 pm

    Insightful and Profound Sandi. Perhaps it\’s humanity that made him this way? xx

  2. Cornish permalink
    September 16, 2008 11:46 am

    Such a shame it took this to get someone there to listen and offer a shoulder. Our house overlooks a regular jumping spot and we\’ve seen many a bunch of flowers left at the bottom of the viaduct. I hope he finally got the help he needed.

  3. Sandi permalink
    September 16, 2008 12:25 pm

    I don\’t think he had any intention of jumping…it was a typical cry for help…why else does he go to a very public spot during rush hour…?!

  4. Princess permalink
    September 16, 2008 8:56 pm

    Yo Sandi! Great Blog. I hate it when i see peeps gawp over an accident, my own thoughts on this subject are " if ur not gonna help, then bog off!" I am a registered St.John\’s Ambulance First Aider & it is my civic duty 2 go help anyone I see, that has been hurt. That aside…I wud anyway. I cud never walk past or turn away, coz I cudna live with myself 4 doing that. I can\’t understand peeps that can just gawp & do nothing, it is totally beyond my comprehension. Luv PF XXX

  5. Sandi permalink
    September 16, 2008 9:01 pm

    This morning\’s This Is Lincolnshire had a report about the incident…and what do you think most of the comments were about…?  I couldn\’t believe it…!!  They were bitching about the traffic being held up…!!!  Just goes to show what caring, concerned people Lincoln folks are…!!!!  http://www.thisislincolnshire.co.uk check it out for yourselves…!!!

  6. Kayley and Phil permalink
    September 17, 2008 7:26 am

    Yeh it really angers me when I see people crowded around just to catch a glimpse at someone or something when its really not their business. When I was younger I went through a couple of months of colapsing and blacking out and it often happened in town. There would be people all around, some would offer to help, most just seemed to stop and stare.
     
    I\’m in agreement with PF, if you can help – great!!! IF not…….. hop it!!!
     
    But……….. human nature I suppose…….
     
    xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Leave a Reply

