Skip to content

Meryton…or Lacock…?!

October 6, 2008
Yesterday morning, we packed up and got ready to leave, but Mary’s daughter’s boyfriend couldn’t start his car…so this became a bit of a drama…aparently, the girls live from one drama or crisis to the next, rather than planning and being calm…like the rest of us…(ahem…!)  Robert was called on to take a look, but he inisted that Ian was the best man for the job, and took him along…job sorted…!!
 
Finally, we set off for Lacock to meet Lucy and John for lunch.  The pub chosen was The George…a lovely place of cosy rooms, opened into one-another, beams and even an old ingle-nook fireplace complete with a dog-spit!  Fabulous!
Karens 50th 027
Sunday lunch was excellent, but I’m sure my knife was blunt as I couldn’t cut through the huge wedge of roast beef (no, it wasn’t tough!)…so gave up before my plate ended up in someone elses lap!  After lunch we decided to explore…this was when John left us to it…so we headed off in the direction of the High Street, where some of the scenes were filmed for Pride & Prejudice (Colin Firth and Jennifer Ehle version)…here’s T Bentley, Milliners…
Karens 50th 032…where Kitty and Lydia admire the bonnets.  Robert didn’t get one of the National Trust shop, as this was A&R Robb, Family Grocers.  Never mind…here’s the Meryton Assembly Rooms….Karens 50th 036…and a view of the High Street…
Karens 50th 066…where the ball was held that introduced the Bennet family to the Netherfield party…and Mr Darcy…!
Here are a few more…if I’d had the camera, I would have photographed every inch of the place…LOL!  Just as well Robert had it, eh…?!Karens 50th 029 Karens 50th 030 Karens 50th 054
So, here’s me and Lucy…we were like a couple of schoolgirls on a school trip…!  What fun…we looked in on a craft fair, and a small gallery selling animal photographic prints, and a shop selling sweets and pastries…I’m so glad that I had no cash on me…or I would have spent a fortune…and got fatter…!!!  Ooooh…I’m just thinking of those lovely calories……..
Anyway, here’s one more of us larking around…singing in the rain…Karens 50th 071
 
 
 
 
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    October 7, 2008 5:59 am

    Yo Sandi! Aaaaw Phots are Fabulous! I would love 2 go there! I love Pride & Prej! I have it on dvd & have watched it er….just a few times!!! I even bought the book "The making of Pride n Prej" That was really interesting! Loved Mrs Bennet!!! Darcy ooooh, Ii just melted! Thank u 4 showing the phots! Loe u dancing in the rain! hehehehe! Hope u have a Great Day! Luv pF XXX

  2. Bal permalink
    October 7, 2008 9:01 pm

    Hi Sandi!  Glad you and Rob got home in one piece after battling the elements and M25.  Thanks for such a lovely time it was great fun and lovely to meet you too!!!!  If you pop down this way again, just let me know and we\’ll meet again (mmm can take you to Castle Coombe next time! where Dr. Dolittle was filmed among others I am sure you will recognise).  Pity you didn\’t get to go around the laycock abbey where bits of Harry Potter were filmed, maybe next time, eh? xxx

  3. Natalia permalink
    October 17, 2008 3:43 am

    It\’s so lovely to see that you got to meet up with Lucy. I did wonder about it whilst I was away. I often wonder what it would be like to meet in person with anyone of you and then one day I did. At Dionne\’s housewarming party. Quite something isn\’t it? Anyway take care and I\’m glad you had such a good time. xxx

Leave a Reply

