Skip to content

Cotume Update

October 30, 2008
Well…the skirt is all but finished…but hasn’t turned out quite as I’d envisioned.  The hem is supposed to be in points, with inserts that are supposed to drape into points…but they don’t quite make it…!  The top part has worked as it should, despite the fact that I use patterns very loosely…basically as a guide only…the rest I make up as I go along….and as I haven’t got any patterns with that kind of hem…I had to experiment and hope for the best…!!! Thinking
 
I am now attempting to make a sleeved top out of the spider web lace…and it is proving a bit of a challenge…!  For one thing, the pins keep falling through!!  So I’m having to hold it together as I roughly tack it together with a bright pink thread (so I can see it!!)  This was constructed from a couple of waistcoat patterns and a sleeve pattern from a dress (I think)…and is going to be long, and cut into pointy bits…if you know what I mean.  This I will wear over the top of my vest top…as I can’t find the faux leather top…no idea where that has been put…! Sad
 
Black fishnets and my black Italian designer stilettos (£3 from an antique and collectors fair at Newark, a few years ago…unworn…and my size…bargain…!!!) will finish off the look.  I have my white Stargazer face powder, and while I was looking in the loft for my make-up…from amateur dramatics days…I found a cosmetics set that I won in a raffle…and in that set was a bottle of blood-red nail polish…excellent!!! Open-mouthed  So, now do I look for my red lipstick, or wear the mauve, to go with the purple eye-shadow…I think I will experiment to see which looks best, methinks…Wink
 
Robert piped up about me going into town early so that I could go and look for make-up for him…he wants black eye-shadow and white face paint.  I’ve got him the Stargazer black eyeshadow because it is cheaper, at £3, than Rimmel and other well-known brands…which are all around the £4.00-£4.50 mark.  As for white face paint, I might have to pop into town tomorrow to have a look in the market…precious sewing time, by the way…!!! Baring teeth  He could always use mine…!!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. commander permalink
    October 30, 2008 9:08 pm

    Get the old chap to paint a costume on prob solved .
    oh don\’t forget to shave ,

  2. Sandi permalink
    October 30, 2008 9:14 pm

    Hope you don\’t mean me when you say don\’t forget to shave…!!! 

  3. Mike permalink
    October 30, 2008 10:01 pm

    Your gonna look terrific Sandi…
    ..hope all your efforts are rewared with a fantastc evening! xxx

  4. Pamela permalink
    October 30, 2008 10:33 pm

     Cool, you will look fantastic Sandi.
     I was gonna be a goth chick, but decided last minute to be a hippie chick.
     Peace, lol, xx 

  5. Princess permalink
    October 30, 2008 11:00 pm

    Yo Sandi! Aaaaw Well done! It sounds Fab! Stargazer face paint is good stuff, as it\’s hyperallergenic & it does comes off(unlike Wilkies cheap muck!) we use it at work. Can\’t wait 2c the pics! Ur gonan get so much satisfaction outta wearing what u have created all by urself! Nite nite Sandi, sleep well, Luv PF XXX

Leave a Reply

