Skip to content

Hallowe’en Humbug

November 1, 2008
All that effort…and, yes, I did get complimented on my costume…so, I guess it was worth it, after all.
 
As I predicted that we would be the only ones to make the effort…I was proved wrong…but also proved right.  What are you on about, woman…?!!!  Let me explain…  We were not the only ones to turn up in costume…there were fairies and a dark angel, and a werewolf (not Chris), masks, witches hats, pink cowboy hats, flashing bunny ears, etc., so, yes, I was proved wrong, this time…but, these were shop-bought costumes.  I have nothing against shop-bought costumes, let me hasten to add, as it means that fancy-dress is growing in popularity…which is great!!  We never truly grow out of our desire to dress-up.
 
Robert was the only one in zombie make-up…of course, his chosen character wears normal clothes…but he got his ‘good ideas’ right at the last minute, and had no time to implement them.  One was to get an old suit and rough it up a bit, and half rip one sleeve off…film zombie cliche…and the other was to use some peel-off face masque (Avon) along with the greasepaint, so it looked like skin hanging off…eeeewwwwww…!!!
 
My costume got a few compliments, as people know that I like making things…I even got a compliment from (Big) Nick (to distinguish him from our ex-neighbour Nick), and I waited for the cheeky comment to follow, but was surprised when none came…how sweet of him.
 
Today, I am taking the opportunity to sort out all my beads, sequins, bits and bobs, fabrics and trimmings as I tidy up the mess that I’ve created in the last couple of weeks…so, I must get on…have a lovely day, peeps…even though it’s raining…well, it is here…!!!
 
Right, here are the pics…the one of me is horrible…the battery in the camera died, as he hadn’t re-charged it…so couldn’t delete it and take some better ones…oh, well…I’ll keep praying for the miracle that will turn me into a sexy siren…ha!!!
Zombie Bob  Fat Goth  So there you have it…Zombie Bob and the fat Goth…!!      
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    November 1, 2008 2:21 pm

    Yo Sandi! Well done U! hehehe, I felt the same when I wnet with my banana coztume as I had bothered 2 make it myself! Most were just costume shops ones, there was a winner & it was a friend that had simply put a big whie towel around his bum as a nappy & won! hehehhe! Homemade costumes are the best! Hope u have a great resta day! Luv PF XXX

  2. Pamela permalink
    November 1, 2008 2:26 pm

    Hi Sandi, I was one of two peeps that dressed up at work, well, one of about a dozen if you count the women who decided to wear
    their pj`s to work . Mine was quite simple, and last minute too. I just wore a tye-dye tee that had a peace sign on it, peace sign bracelet,peace sign earrings, a hippie scarf tied around my head, held up a "Make love not war" protest sign, and tada… I was
    a flowerchild : )
    Nice Avon plug BTW, we need all the business we can get.
     xx  ~ Pamela ~

  3. Sandi permalink
    November 1, 2008 2:56 pm

    OOOPS!!  Will have to delete the Avon plug…it\’s just that the Avon face masque was the one that Robert had….I always use Artistry cosmetics and skin care from Amway (along with the occasional other brand)…they are some of the best I have ever used…besides being made from ingredients that they mostly grow themselves, organically.

  4. Natalia permalink
    November 1, 2008 3:18 pm

    Sandi what happened to Robert? Someone eat his brains? (Zombie cliche\’) really good and quite scary. Your costume is very elegant. Well done, what an achievement. xxx

  5. Pamela permalink
    November 1, 2008 4:11 pm

    Cool costumes !!!  Sandi, you are not fat, don`tcha know cameras add 20 pounds ?
    Mine adds 50 I think, usually to my face : (

  6. Kayley and Phil permalink
    November 2, 2008 9:01 am

    You both look great. Wish we could have come out with you to play…lol

  7. Sandi permalink
    November 2, 2008 11:54 am

    It probably would have been more fun if you could have…!

  8. Cornish permalink
    November 2, 2008 3:57 pm

    You both look wond…….. hang on………………… you look wonderful Sandi, I love the lace and the necklace finishes it all off really well. As for Bob. I\’s scared!!!!! Eeeeeeeeeek.

Leave a Reply

