Skip to content

Chemise And Stays

November 12, 2008
It is now time for me to begin to make my chemise and stays.  I’ve had a little break from needlework, since finishing my Hallowe’en costume…but now I feel ready to get stuck in…!  "About time!" I hear Rachel mutter…!! Wink  At the moment I am going to trace the patterns, but know of a printers that can do very large (AS) sized photocopies for under £4, so will be taking the pattern sheets in when I get paid…then I can send them back (thanks Rach…!)
 
I did attempt to make a chemise myself, but it didn’t quite turn out as I’d anticipated, so now I can make one properly…I will post photos when these items are made…with some slight modifications to the patterns…
                      1819stay                     underthingslg 
The photo on the left shows some short stays and long stays of about 1818…there were many individual designs, as the ladies would often make them themselves, to their own preferences.  The stays on the right are from the Sense and Sensibility pattern that Rachel has lent me.  As you can see, the front is fairly flat, and there is no allowance for a ‘generous bosom’, even though it has the gussets, which I find a little strange, as the Regency shape was for uplifted, seperated breasts Wink…hence the wooden busk down the front of the long stays.
 
What I will attempt to do is to copy the front of the long stays and add a drawsting and rounded cup shape…I need all the help I can get, I’m telling you, and I don’t want to be flattened!!  On her website, Jessamyn has reviewed some of the patterns available (USA) and she suggests narrowing the shoulder strap a bit and making more of a cup to the front…otherwise the pattern is more acceptable for late eighteenth century gowns.  www.songsmyth.com/patternsunderthings.html is the link to Jessamyn’s Regency Costume Companion patterns review page. Open-mouthed
 
Well, I’m going to get on…actually, I have got to finish taking up Robert’s new trousers first…or maybe I’ll go and copy the patterns…hmmm…! Thinking
2 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    November 13, 2008 6:02 am

    Yo Sandi! Ooh looks interesting & complicated! Good Luck! Hope u have a Great day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  2. Cornish permalink
    November 13, 2008 9:11 am

    I\’d seen the advice about narrowing the straps and was going to do that to my next one. It\’s not so bad on the front but I think it needs it on the back as the straps do tend to show. I\’ve also found that those bad boys (as fairy Gok mother calls them) do indeed rise to the occasion. It\’s a real hands on experience to get them up there but they do do it. As the pattern says, you need the chemise to stop them from spilling out over the top; the two work together. The trouble is, all of this is nigh on impossible to find out by just doing the sample piece. It wasn\’t until I\’d done the whole thing that I found out about all the adjustments that are needed. I\’ll get back to doing mine as soon as I\’ve finished knitting the shawl (another one – groan). Like you say though, it\’s good to give things a break. 
    Have fun with it and I\’m sure it will look beautiful when it\’s done. HUgs. xx 

Leave a Reply

