Skip to content

Christmas Price Check..!!!

November 26, 2008
At the moment, I am having a clear-out in this room…as all the books and crap have been breeding!  I have no idea how many books we have between us…and I’m afraid I can’t keep away from charity book shops, as well as Waterstones and The Works (our cut price book and craft store)
 
Anyway, I digress…I’m having a clear-out, because the corner has become so piled up with books, files, magazines and other…totally un-related…crap, that I can’t get to the books on the bookshelves.  I couldn’t get to the cupboard, either, so I’d forgotten what was in it…!!
 
I have found my pile of old Lincolnshire Life magazines, and browsing through them I have had a bit of a chuckle at some of the advertisements.  Here is a wee taster…do you remember any of these…?  
From November 1973…Opel Commodore from £2456…Imperial Panatellas mild cigars, 11p each…Raleigh Chopper bike £37.50…a Lundby doll’s house £7.50…Subbuteo table soccer £3.50…!!! 
 
Wow!  Houses for sale…Stable Cottage, Dunston…a stone-built period bungalow, tastefully converted to a luxury home, with two reception rooms and two bedrooms…£14,000 including carpets, curtains and light fittings…!!!  
 
I shall have a dig around and see what other little gems I can coe up with…so I shall leave you with a Rolex Perpetual Day-Date in 18ct gold with matching 18ct gold ‘President’ bracelet for a measly £653…December 1972 (20p)    
3 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    November 26, 2008 2:15 pm

    Yo Sandi! Wow, it\’s great looking back & seeing how much stuff was! When my Gran & grandad bought the house down the street it woz £500, when my dad bought the house (next door 2me now) it woz £2000. The houses now sell 4 around  £230,000. Amazing aint it! Hope u have a great resta day, I have 2 hotfoot it back 2 work..time!!! Luv PF XXX

  2. Bran permalink
    November 26, 2008 8:56 pm

    Had a clear out of books a couple of years ago and got rid of 500+ books that I no longer needed —-how come now after only a short time has the number of my books has risen till I am short of bookspace again. Think the damn things are breeding or at least thats my excuse when Lavinia complains about it!

  3. Cornish permalink
    November 28, 2008 8:27 am

    I can remember the good old chopper but that\’s about it from the list. I don\’t need to get rid of any books, I just need more bookcases! I don\’t like to get rid of any books in case I want to read them again, which if they\’re good, I do. xx

Leave a Reply

