Skip to content

Crap Monster Update

December 1, 2008
You would have thought that, having been home all day, I would have cracked on and whipped this room into shape by now.  No chance!
 
Stuff is still in piles, waiting to be torn apart and dealt with, but to be honest…I’ve run out of steam.  I keep looking at it in despair, just wondering where to start.  This happens every time…I start, I tip the place upside down…then I have no idea how to proceed…so it all gets shoved back into boxes or cupboards until next time.
 
I know…where is that fighting spirit I had the other day…?!  Drained away with the enormity of the task, I guess.  I have developed a small pile of papery crap in the hall, and I keep adding to it, but it seems to make not the slightest difference to the amount of ‘crap’ in here!!!  Will I ever have the strength to carry on, I wonder…?
 
There is a pile for books…and a pile for folders…and I should do a pile for magazines…and the rest should be shoved further towards the door…and out of it!!!  The problem here…like most places…is the lack of organised storage…and that is one area we will have to seriously look at.  Until then…on with the fight…!!!
 
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    December 1, 2008 7:44 pm

    Oh, sod it!!  A few more minutes, then I\’m going to go and watch a couple of programmes on TV from 8pm…about costume dramas…followed by Persuasion (not Cairan Hinds, but him from Spooks)

  2. Princess permalink
    December 1, 2008 7:52 pm

    Yo Sandi, Good Evening! Aaaw I know wot u mean! U Enjoy ur programmes! Ooooh Persuasion! I remb avidly reading it, I woz even walking up the stairs 2 bed still reading as I went, I got 2 the bit where he left that note 4 her & she read it when he had left the room, I had 2 stop & sit on the stairs, sooooooooooooooo romantic! I have the complete Jane Austin\’s novels(leatherbound) book, that permenantly lives on my bedside cabinet! hehehe, hope u have a lovely resta evening! Luv PF XXX

  3. Pamela permalink
    December 1, 2008 9:45 pm

    Hi Sandi, I started a similar project back in March, ended up putting the crap monster in my spare
    bedroom, during the past eight months I have added to said monster and now am afraid to open the
    door!! There is also a mini crap monster in one of my bedroom closets, tho that one is a clothes/purses/shoes monster. One day I`ll get it together…

  4. Sandi permalink
    December 1, 2008 10:34 pm

    I used to have a spare room…which we called the Trebus Room.  It got cleared to make way for all of our books and became a library.  Then we swapped rooms, and it\’s now our bedroom.  I think the Crap Monster is incensed for being evicted and has come back to haunt us!!!!

  5. Bran permalink
    December 2, 2008 12:33 am

    We have "the cupboard from Hell" its in the old part of our cottage and was originally a cupboard bed so you can see the space is about the size of a large single bed. Its become a habit of mine to clear it out every 12 months with the intention of only storig "important items in it —-  its definitely a vortex of hell, as no matter how we both say we havnt put any junk in it, within a few weeks there is no more room in there and you cant find the things you thought were in there —- actualy think it might be a portal into another dimension and stuff gets sucked in there like matter being sucked into a black hole —— thats my excuse anyway!

  6. Cornish permalink
    December 2, 2008 8:51 am

    Awwwwww Rupert thinga-me-jig. I\’ve got that version. I didn\’t like him at first but he grows on you like chocolate. Delicious!
    As for the crap monster – take it one small step at a time. Don\’t try and do it all at once. Take one small pile and sort it out and then sit back and give yourself a \’well done\’. That\’ll make you feel good about having conquered a part of it. Then do another bit and so on. Before you know it, it\’ll be all done. Simple (says she who can\’t face her own huge crap monster in the loft!) Easier said than done isn\’t it? Hugs. xx
     

  7. Sandi permalink
    December 2, 2008 11:30 am

    That\’s the geezer…Rupert Penry-jones…I think that\’s how it\’s spelt.  Still prefer the Cairan Hainds and Amanda Root version…but Rupes is so sweet as Captain Wentworth…hmmm…chocolate…!!

Leave a Reply

