Skip to content

Happiness Is A Comfy Sofa…!

December 4, 2008
This week has flown by…I can’t believe it’s Friday tomorrow, already!!  As a friend once said:  "Life is like a toilet roll…the nearer to the end you get, the quicker it goes!"  You’re not kidding!!!  Oh, well, it will soon be Spring!!
 
On the whole, it has been a good day.  I met Ange at the Drillhall for our weekly cuppa, then we took a wander through the Waterside Shopping Centre, first looking at a cut-price book shop on the Waterside level, then up to the High Street level for a look in the new lingerie shop.  Why, oh why does a shop that sells such sexy underwear insist on also selling those god-awful fleecy and fluffy monstrosities that pass as slippers, these days…?!!  You can just see it, can’t you…gorgeous girl in the most beautiful underwear…then you look at her feet…!!  On second thought, don’t!!  If anyone knows where I can get some dainty little kitten-heeled slippers, I would be most grateful!
 
When Ange went to catch her bus, I decided to wander up to the library for a bit of quiet reading or writing….or both.  I found a quiet corner table and settled myself down…by this time I had decided to write…go out my notebook and pen and began scribbling.  It’s funny how ideas start to flow once you start asking yourself the right questions!
 
Then it started…this week, it was those dreaded chavs…!  A woman was sat at another table, looking at a book or magazine…you don’t think she can read, do you?!  Then a lass arrived with her Primark bags…yak yaketty yak!  Then she left.  Oh, good!  Ten minutes later, a lad arrived…you know, track suit and f**king every other word…telling the whole room where he’d been and what he’d been doing…and all this time someone was munching on crisps and loudly rustling the packet!!  What has happened to staff asking people to keep the noise down?!  I packed up and walked out when two old boys started a loud conversation, too!!!
 
Actually, I went back to the Drillhall…it was lovely.  A pot of tea, a comfy sofa…and the place to myself!  Out came my notebook, and I continued my scribbles…and totally forgot the time!  I slung everything back in my bag and ran all the way to work…nothing like keeping fit, eh?!!!
 
Right…on with me scribbles…!!!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    December 5, 2008 6:08 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! U ran all the way 2 work? WOW! Most of us crawl! hehehee! Stats & view counter are found on in ur space page, look up, right hand side, there is "options" with an arrow down, press arrow then choose "statistics" Hope u have a Great day 2day, it\’s bathtime & wortk 4 me now! Luv PF XXX

  2. Cornish permalink
    December 5, 2008 9:04 am

    You know where you want to go for peace and quiet don\’t you? Go to the school where all those idiots are supposed to be. I bet it\’ll be quiet there!I was in a shop standing next to some of those \’slippers\’ a month or so back with my eldest looking at them. She said how cosy they looked and that she wouldn\’t mind a pair. I said they\’d be stinking within a week and said they weren\’t worth the money. The woman on the other side of the display curled up with laughter.Ahhhh, do we get to see some of your scribbles? Will it lead to the next best seller and can I have your autograph now so that wen you\’re famous I can say that I\’ve already got it?Have a wonderful weekend Sandi. xx

  3. Sandi permalink
    December 5, 2008 11:57 am

    I thought I\’d better get my writing head back on…as I didn\’t want to be left behind by all my creative friends who write poetry and stories. I\’ll pass on the poetry…never could get into it, but I keep getting ideas for stories…they just pop into my head when I\’m least expecting…like The Hairy Detective…! Eh? What the f….?!!! I have to write it down…that\’s why I will not go anywhere without a notebook on me…(in my bag, stoopid…not wearing it…! Doh!!!)

  4. Kayley and Phil permalink
    December 5, 2008 3:37 pm

    Hey my eye\’s have trouble reading the blue on purple(nice hint)How you getting on with the new M.S.N. ? bit long winded to do what we used to do i think…PHIL XXX

Leave a Reply

