Skip to content

Lincoln Christmas Market

December 5, 2008
Sorry Phil…er…it is getting lighter again…is this one better?  I do tend to start one side of the spectrum, working up and down the shades because I used to forget what colours I’d used and what I hadn’t…oh, look…I’ve digressed before I’ve even started…ooops…!!
 
Ahem…Christmas Market…!!!  Yes, folks, it’s that time of year again, when people in their hoards crowd into Lincoln from all over the place, to visit our Christmas Market.  I haven’t been for a few years, because it got so crowded I couldn’t even see the stalls (without queuing, that is!  Then to find it was something I had no interest in!)
 
It all began in the early eighties in a tiny way…a few stalls from Cathederal Close, Castle Hill and into the castle, either side of the drive…now it has taken over much of uphill Lincoln…!  In the early days it was a joining of cultures when Lincoln was twinned with Naustdadt (I think that’s how it’s spelt) in the Black Forest area of Germany…and there were stalls selling all the German sausages and Gluhwein (hot mulled wine…YUM!!), as well as all manner of wooden toys and German goodies.  So, yes, it was really our version of a traditional German Christmas market.
 
In recent years it has grown to such gargantuan proportions, that traffic has to be re-directed on a large scale…and complaints have been getting louder about the amount of fast food stalls and tat that have been on offer, so this year they have tried to get back to quality, hand produced items and local produce.  Who knows if I will ever go again…these days I try to avoid the crowds!
4 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    December 5, 2008 9:01 pm

    I avoid crowds too, but it looks lovely. xx

  2. Sandi permalink
    December 6, 2008 5:10 pm

    Did I say something wrong…? The \’C\’ word, perhaps…? Sorry…I didn\’t mean to swear…but we have four days of this Christmas Market…and I think I might like to go again…one day…when it\’s not too crowded…!

  3. Princess permalink
    December 6, 2008 5:51 pm

    Yo Sandi! Ooh it does look interesting! I am like u, I hate crowds. I hate queues, I have no patience in them, I will moreoften than not, leave a queue, even if I am wanting 2 purchase something I relaly want. I just rget really frustrated & I have 2 leave! Hope uhave a lovelye resta evening! Luv PF XXX

  4. Sandi permalink
    December 6, 2008 6:21 pm

    Originally, the Christmas Market had a wonderful atmosphere…lights, spicy wine and roast chestnuts…and of course the German sausages…cold and frosty, people wrapped up to the eyeballs, lanterns, carols, Punch & Judy, fairground rides and happy, smiling faces…then to the pub for a nice pint of hand-pulled…cheers!!

Leave a Reply

