Skip to content

Life’s Ups & Downs

December 8, 2008
Thanks to Robert not paying the bill, we no longer have internet or phone connections!!  I could spit feathers…!!  Actually…to be honest…now I have got used to it, I have calmed down and feel free….no longer tied to the computer!  I have got more done, this weekend than I usually do, because I’m not continually checking on Spaces, e-mails, or playing games between doing chores.  It’s great!! Smile
 
At the moment, I am using the 3 dongle…and my blood pressure is rising…grrr…!! Baring teeth  It takes minutes to get online, minutes to sign in to Messenger…and I have to go and do other stuff while I’m waiting to get into my e-mail account.  After half-an-hour with nothing much done, I am ready to give up!!!  My computer is slow, anyway, because the little drive is nearly full…I’ve even transferred some files across to the D drive, but the rest have to stay put…anyway, I digress…!!!
 
Saturday was my friend Jo’s birthday, so she and her partner, Alv, and friend, Jason, came down to Lincoln for a night out.  I joined them in The Jolly Brewer…which hasn’t changed at all, thank goodness!  It was rather crowded, but where else to the bikers, Goths, etc., go these days…?  There used to be The Falstaff…a hole…gone!  The Cornhill Vaults…loads of character and atmosphere…gone!  The Falcon…tarted up for the students/night clubbers!  
 
Another friend of Jo and Alv’s, Chris, was also with them, and I recognised him from Falstaff/ Vaults days. There were other well remembered faces, too…Rupert, and Big John…there’s no missing him…he towers over everyone else…and I’ve seen him walking down the street combing his very long hair…the vanity of the man!!!
 
We moved on to Rock Haven, which is a nice little place, tucked down a little alley, where we saw Di…who told me she owned the place, and was enjoying herself immensly.  I checked my phone…four missed calls from Robert.  I text him to let him know where we were, and he joined us after ten thirty, after finishing his pizza deliveries.  (He already knew Chris…I think he was a regular customer at the garage, anyway…!) 
 
We had a fabulous evening, and it was really late when we left…I’ve not been in town, on a Staurday night, for many, many years…these days, it’s to be avoided…but it was very amusing…half naked girls shivering and blue-looking…tripping about in heels they could hardly stand in, let alone walk in…!!!  Queues for the night clubs, and bouncers everywhere…and I think we were the only ones who could walk straight…!!! 
 
Have a brilliant day, friends…and be good (whatever that means!! Wink)  
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    December 8, 2008 12:48 pm

    Yo Sandi, aaaw I wondered where u were. Glad u had a good weekend, yeah it is surprising how much more u can get done, when there is no internet! Hope ur not thinking of abandoning us tho? Hope u have a lovely day 2day, Luv PF XXX

  2. Mike permalink
    December 8, 2008 1:53 pm

    Hiya Sandi….yeah i noticed my homepage had been a bit empty of \’Madwoman\’ comments lolIt\’s amazing how much time we spend on these things….jobs usually being moved to \’sometime later!\’ :-)Good to see you enjoyed your weekend though! xxx

  3. Kayley and Phil permalink
    December 9, 2008 12:22 am

    What was life like without the internet? It is true it can take over your life if you let it…..so dont let it…lol

  4. Sandi permalink
    December 9, 2008 12:14 pm

    Blasted dongle don\’t always work…frickin\’ thing!! When it does, it takes forever to load one page…so I am here…until…whenever!! Will try to visit, where I can…if this thing lets me…!!! Blood pressure rising, again…!!! Take care all…until next time……..

  5. Natalia permalink
    December 9, 2008 12:24 pm

    Frustrating I know, I hope things improve Sandi. xx

Leave a Reply

