Skip to content

Counting Our Blessings

December 13, 2008
Todays sermon…er…lecture…no, BLOG!  Todays blog is about counting our blessings.
 
So many things, these days, are taken for granted…like a warm, dry home, running water (hot and cold), gas, electricity…and more and more these days computers and internet connection, TV (wide-screen, flat-screen, HD, etc.), telephones (mobile and land-lines)and lord knows what other ‘necessary’ gadgets! 
 
While these things are brilliant and amazing, are they really necessary for a happy and fulfilled life?  What I am asking is are the families that have all these things happy when they are together?  Do they enjoy communication and interaction with each other?  Or do they all disappear to their rooms and play games or listen to music…or whatever?
 
I am amazed at the numbers of people who hate silence!  They have to have noise all the time…why?  What are they afraid of?  Their own thoughts?  The human race is turning into one big techno zombie!  How many people are sat on the bus, or walking down the street, music plugged in, expressionless?
 
Yes, we have all been drawn in…seduced…so what I want you all to do, for a wee minute, is to turn away from this thing and look around you.  Just think about all those things that you take for granted…then look around at things that are free…things that give pleasure…like a bird singing in the tree, a beautiful sunset, a halo of twigs (that street light viewed through a tree…it forms a halo where the light reflects on the twigs…pretty!), spiders webs covered in dew or frost…go on, add to this list!  What are you thankful for…I’d love to know.
 
 
9 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    December 13, 2008 1:52 pm

    Hi Sandi, great attitude. You`re right about the techno zombies.Now, I`m not gonna knock technology cos I truly love to be ableto communicate with you all like this. But, when I`m not working, and I`m not on here, either my nose is in a book, or I am very much appreciating my wooded view, I see many beautiful sights that I amthankful for . So…I am thankful for , among other things, the ability to lose myself in a book, to chat with peeps an ocean away,and to have the wooded view, and ofcourse my cats, who love me unconditionally, so long as I buy them the catfood that they like, picky lil things! I am thankful to have you back online too, xx

  2. Natalia permalink
    December 13, 2008 1:54 pm

    Oh so many, many things I am thankful for Sandi too numerous to list without my Answer turning into a mini blog. The gift of sight, insight,compassion, love, laughter and of course friends being some. In all of this your blog immediately drew my thoughts to those without the fundemental needs for life and again it is a case of there for the grace of…. go I. I hope you manage to get your medication soon as I can\’t bear the thought of you feeling ill in amongst all of this. xxx

  3. Sandi permalink
    December 13, 2008 3:47 pm

    Technology is great…without it, I wouldn\’t know you guys! How I wish we could all get together for real…didn\’t one of these online community thingies hold a huge party type thing last year? That\’s a good idea.Pam, I envy you your lovely view…before I moved here, I would often spend long hours at my bedroom window, binoculars (or camera) glued to my face…see photos My Stuff. Here, there are trees all around, which makes living in a flat bearable. I need to be close to Nature.Natalia, I\’ll have my medication again, on Tuesday…I don\’t have the amount of pills I used to…thank goodness…an overactive tyroid isn\’t too bad…it just makes me a bit emotional and easily stressed, as well as fidgetty and out of breath…apart from that, I\’m fine…at the moment….aaaaarrrgh!!! Joking…have a lovely evening, friends…XXX

  4. Natalia permalink
    December 13, 2008 4:27 pm

    You are a lovely lady Sandi, Perhaps in the spring we will indeed meet for real. As Bath and Trowbridge isn\’t that far from me. In the meantime if you give me your address I will send you a Crumbo card. Providing I don\’t run out of Stamps before then. (Christmas Budget Nil ;o)……….. ) xxx

  5. Princess permalink
    December 13, 2008 5:55 pm

    Yo Sandi, Good Evening! Yeah I know wot u mean u can get a bit 2 reliant on all the techno stuff! We have a rule in our house that we all come off the comps, xboxes at 9 have some family time, that doesn\’t mean we\’re all on them till that time, just that anybody that is…comes off them! I am thankful 4 so many things, like the woods & fields behind my house, finding the beauty of all the nature that I find there. Hope u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

  6. Pamela permalink
    December 13, 2008 6:18 pm

    Yes Sandi ,my view is very relaxing to me, I find a lot of peace in it, maybe that is why I`m such a homebody. I got some great news remy apartment today, due to the recession they are offering $100 offrent for six months , plus no increase if we sign another years lease. I was already going to re sign, but it will sure help.Do your prescriptions come in generic? Over here our Krogersand Walmart have generics for $ 4 a month, and thankfully minecome in generic, otherwise I`d be sol. XX

  7. Kayley and Phil permalink
    December 13, 2008 10:17 pm

    The most important thing for us is infact each other. Our families(well some of them) and our friend\’s. These are the thing\’s you cant buy,or download,burn,copy ect. Technology can help communication but you have to have the want or need to in the first place. This is what we are very thankful for and never take for granted.

  8. Cornish permalink
    December 15, 2008 8:55 am

    It\’s the fiends that do it for me. And yes, that is spelt correctly. Mwahahahahaha!That idea to all meet up sounds wonderful. I\’m good at catching trains but not so good at driving so pick somewhere close to a train station and I\’ll be there. xx

  9. Bran permalink
    December 16, 2008 12:05 am

    It appears too many people are scared of the silence, but that\’s is one of the joys of life for me, to walk in the moonlight with only natures soundtrack sure as hell beats walking around with plugs in your ears with noise from various gadgets! Now off for a walk across the fields under stars before bed, now that\’s the way to end the day.

Leave a Reply

