Skip to content

Dilemma!

December 24, 2008
Today we exchanged Christmas cards at work…but one of my girls had gone as far as to buy me a gift. 
This in itself would not have been a problem, had it just been a small box of ordinary chocolates…but when I got home I found the price label still on it…over £8!!
Most of you know that this year I have absolutely no money spare to buy anyone anything…not even Robert or my mum!  They know this, at work, so you see the position I find myself in.
OK, on the one hand I feel a glow the she thought of me…but on the other, I feel awkward at not being able to reciprocate.
Here’s the thing…do I take them back and risk offending her?  She’s a lovely lady, and, like me, like the finer things in life.  (If this was last Christmas, it wouldn’t have been a problem!)
Should I have a word and explain how I feel?  Or, maybe say thet they should be shared with the others…then I won’t feel bad…?
What should I do?  Help!!!  Any suggestions, please…?!!!
5 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    December 24, 2008 12:40 am

    With your sewing skills, perhaps you could offer to make her something….a handkerchief maybe?Hope my suggestion isn\’t too daft!! A cashier i used to work with (unfortunately William Hillspensioned her off despite her being the best one i\’ve ever had!) has similar skills, she makespersonalised handkerchiefs, bookmarkers etc for friends on their birthdays and xmas….xxx

  2. Pamela permalink
    December 24, 2008 1:09 am

    Mike has a good idea there Sandi, make her something , bake her some cookies, or…"re-gift" her something, lol. My mom asked me the other day if I needed a re-gift cos peepsat her workplace give her presents she doesn`t want or need . Enjoy your chocolates, xx

  3. Natalia permalink
    December 24, 2008 1:46 am

    Yes I\’m all for the re gifting theme Sandi and after all it is the thought that counts. Like your card that sit\’s pride of place on my radiator cabinet. It makes me smile every time I look at it. Night. Night. xx

  4. Princess permalink
    December 24, 2008 7:56 am

    Yo Sandi, u know , u have already said that everyne knew u had no money. People give gifts coz they want 2, not coz they expect a a gift back in return. Accept the prezzie in the manner it was given as a "gift" , enjoy it & don\’t feel guilty.Last year, I didna buymy friends anything, as we were really skint, I still got gifts from them, without any expectation of getting one back. This year, I have bought a gift 4 one of those friends, she has told me she can\’t get me anything as she is broke…does it matter…NO!!! Swings & roundabouts! U never know mayb next year, u will be able 2 & she can\’t! Enjoy ur gift & mly the thought that was behind it, Big Hugs, Luv PF XXX

  5. Sandi permalink
    December 24, 2008 12:01 pm

    Thank you for your suggestions…I\’m afraid it\’s too late to make anything, as I\’m going to be getting ready for work very shortly, and I don\’t have anything that I could give her.I guess you\’re right, PF…there have been times when I\’ve had the money and others haven\’t. When I do have money, I like to spend it on people…but I tend to forget about that, and always remember when people have given me things…and I wonder why. I believe in Karma, and wonder what I have done for others that has brought me \’gifts\’ from others. Funny old world, innit!

Leave a Reply

