Skip to content

Paper, Paper Everywhere…!!

January 4, 2009

 

CLIMBING A PAPER MOUNTAIN

 

OK…so the contractors who are supposed to be dealing with our recycled paper waste are struggling and are putting it into storage, as paper waste is virtually ‘unsellable’.  There are tons and tons of the stuff just sitting there waiting to be re-used!  Wow!  What a HUGE bonfire just waiting to…no!  Shhhhh…!  I must not go putting ideas into people’s heads…must I!  Tsk!  Tsk!!

 

Another news item, this weekend, is to do with the increase in the rat population…despite the fact that numbers fell with the introduction of wheelie bins.  Hmmm…a lot of people blame the Friday/Saturday night piss-heads who come out of pubs and clubs, queue for food…then discard it all over the country’s pavements.  Free food for vermin…left courtesy of…um…vermin!

 

Back to the growing paper mountain…!  I read that if it is stored for more than three months, it begins to rot…thus attracting vermin, and rendering it useless.  So all our recycling efforts are for nowt, basically!

 

Let’s take a look at businesses…and local government for a sec…these generate tons and tons of paper waste every year.  Technology was supposed to reduce this, but instead has increased the use of paper…what is that about?!!  Anyway…local government…hmmm…more bloody vermin!!

 

So how do we deal with this problem…and reduce the amount of paper needing recycling?! 

 

Starting with the government and local government…and of course, government agencies and the police…oh, yes, the police use tons and tons of the stuff dealing with petty criminals (vermin) and weekend pissheads!!  I’m beginning to think that paper and vermin are linked somehow…!!!

 

So, in a nutshell we have got to exterminate the government, reduce paper and recycle vermin…what are we waiting for…let’s get to it!!!

12 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    January 5, 2009 1:17 pm

    I should have added that is is the perfect time for scientists/artists/whoever to try and come up with another way of using up the paper…you know, instead of using other stuff that costs a lot of money to make…?! Any ideas, anyone?!!

  2. commander permalink
    January 5, 2009 1:51 pm

    We Could build a giant paper mache\’ Chav and stick it next to a motorway out side Manchester.

  3. Sandi permalink
    January 5, 2009 8:44 pm

    Sounds like a good idea to me…then can we burn the bugger?!!!

  4. Cornish permalink
    January 7, 2009 10:48 am

    A lot of mine goes into the woodburner to keep us warm. Paper chains and bills are wonderful fire starters.Hmmmm, how about setting fire to the government (didn\’t someone already try that once?), recycling the vermin (rat and chips anyone? piss head doormats?) and computerise un-necessary paperwork (course, computers aren\’t easy to send through the post or to wipe your arse for that matter!)

  5. Sandi permalink
    January 7, 2009 2:30 pm

    It\’s a bit expensive to send computers through the post, too…wrong size or shape, or something. Of corse, we could try recycling the piss-heads instead? Or the government? A Hundred And One Uses For A Politician…anyone got any ideas?

  6. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 7, 2009 4:04 pm

    We are only into the first week of the year but we can see it\’s going to get a little heated out there.(ask\’s if this is not a good thing as it\’s so bloody cold) lolYou cant blame the rats just the people who drop or leave litter/food. What happened to the "keep Britian tidy" thingy? or fines for dropping litter,or being drunk and disorderly,criminal damadge..i could go on..an on..lol

  7. Natalia permalink
    January 7, 2009 6:14 pm

    Sandi, the P""s head round my way have a habit of ending up in my recycling box, in that they roll out the pub and feel a need to Stand in it. :o) xx

  8. Sandi permalink
    January 7, 2009 8:48 pm

    LOL to both Kayley and Phil and Natalia\’s comments! I\’m with you on the Keep Britain Tidy campaigns and the rest…what HAS happened to them?!!!! Have the police turned into wussy little playground monitors who only stand around and watch the bloody mayhem and mess going on, but can\’t/won\’t do anything? My friend\’s husband is a policeman, and on New Year he was in the custody suite…which was full to bursting…so they must be doing something! Oh, sorry, I forgot…the police arrest the buggers…and the courts let them off with a little fine and a slapped wrist…!!! Oh, bugger…I\’m on me bloody soapbox again…!!!! Shut up, me!!!Natalia…I bet you can\’t keep the pissheads there until the collection comes, can you…what a shame…I can just see it now…hehehe…!

  9. Rosie permalink
    January 7, 2009 9:53 pm

    Well our council will only take what we can fit in our boxes – and our extra waste collection was 2 days BEFORE Christmas – with a Family of 4 (make up of baby and toddler) you can imagine that my basement is starting to fill with paper and card that the council do not make easy to dispose of.Being close to the shopping centre – our back alley is a handy little detour for any 2 legged vermin who want to dump a whole manor of stuff and while I\’m all for recycling etc I am not looking forward to the proposal that I will be responsible for rubbish dumped outside my back yard… I can\’t put it in my own bin – 1 bin between 5 emptied fortnightly with no \’extra\’ accepted is difficult enough – but if they insist on fining us for not recycling, overfilling our bins or not clearing up after other people who dump stuff ourside ours – then I would like our alley gated! Rock and a hard place…

  10. Sandi permalink
    January 8, 2009 11:58 am

    Living in a flat, we share large communal bins, so we have no problems with filling the bins to overflowing, so I guess we are lucky in that respect. Some councils are not very accomodating towards family households, but Lincoln allows extra bins. It\’s really not fair of them making people responsible for areas OUTSIDE their properties…that just isn\’t on!!! I was right with my comment to exterminate the government, then…and that includes all councils…!!!!

  11. Rosie permalink
    January 8, 2009 1:19 pm

    Well the dad in the family that lives with me has been working on the bins over Christmas which is where I first heard about the proposal of clamping down with fines for everything (no one better to understand what should and shouldn\’t be collected by the people doing it). I can\’t say I blame the council for wanting to take action with our area (lots of flats at either end of our road) and they regularly have to clean our back alley – but to assume that the residents are responsible for everything that is left out there is utter trash (pun intended). I don\’t mind the council routing through my rubbish to work out who owns it (I\’m careful not to leave my details about)… but I really object to the idea of being fined for rubbish in the alley depending on where it is… you can imagine if it is the neighbours or landlords leaving the bulkier items they will just take them a little further down the alley and a game of fly-tip ping pong could ensue (and I\’m at a disadvantage as I work during the day). I really hope they are rumours cos that is one game I don\’t want to play. Back to it…

  12. Princess permalink
    January 8, 2009 1:19 pm

    Yo Sandi, or should I say Council Exterminator!!!!! Hope u have a Great Day 2day! Luv PF XXX

Leave a Reply

