Skip to content

My Job Is Not Who I Am!!

January 13, 2009

This is a subject that I have written about before…and will probably write about again…but it is one that most of you know really gets my goat!  Ignorant people!

 

My present job is Cleaning Supervisor at a government agency (EA), and my team happen to be educated, well-dressed people who do not swear or walk around “wiv a fag ‘anging out their gobs”…neither do they go straight to the ‘boozer’ to spend their wages!!!

 

What has brought on this rant, I hear you ask…I’ll tell you…

 

At the same time every day, we head up to our floors in the lift.  First, second, third, then fourth…and at each floor I go and unlock the cupboard.  This takes all of five minutes, if that.  Today, as I went to unlock the cupboard on the second floor someone started banging impatiently on the lift doors upstairs.

 

When the doors opened on third, two women were waiting, so I took my bag and left.  One of the women said “Can I have a word!” so I stopped and she continued; “Is there any reason why you have to hold up the lift every day?!!”  I explained that I have to unlock the cupboards, then walked off.

 

They know that we arrive at the same time every day, so it would not hurt them to just wait a few minutes, or leave slightly earlier.  Did that woman’s pompous arrogance make her feel big in front of her colleague?  Just who the heck does she think she is?!  She’s only a clerical worker, a pen pusher, sitting at her desk all day!!

 

My third floor lady was really annoyed by her attitude, and asked “Who is she, to judge us!  She doesn’t know about our lives…has she got twelve acres of land in Jamaica?!!  I have!  I’m probably better off than she is!!”  This may be true.

 

Just because someone chooses to do a cleaning job, does not mean that they are from an underclass (which these days means they are claiming all the benefits going and deem work beneath them!!).  No, it means that they are paying their way through university, saving up for a holiday, home improvements, or just to have a bit of money to be able to afford the finer things in life!

 

Some people are still living in the past with their blinkered views and opinions of people who do certain types of work.  It’s time they removed their heads from their fat arses and took a look at the real world! 

 

What we do for a living is NOT who we are…welcome to the twenty-first century!!!

 

Wednesday 14

OK…this is where it gets funny! 

I was called down to Facilities, to see Emma…I set the alarm on the security chap when I locked up last night…ooops!  (He’s in for the night, as there is scaffolding up, and last time thieves descended like flies and ripped the lead from the building…even when it got replaced!)

 

Anyway, she asked me if there had been a ‘confrontation’ yesterday.  Not that I knew of.  At five…lift…?  Oh…that!  She asked what happened, so I told her.  She looked as though she was trying not to laugh, when she said that she had had another version, then told me to let it go.

 

Can you believe that the woman actually went down and whined about us…like a spoilt child…!!  How tiny-minded and petty…!!

0805_tantrums_mcenroe_500.jpg overserved image by swinginangel

19 Comments leave one →
  1. Pamela permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:28 am

    Amen to that Sandi!!!I was in Housekeeping before I started in Production.Most that I worked for did not look down their noses at us, but there were some.Freakin` snobs!!!

  2. Sandi permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:53 am

    That\’s it…that\’s all they are…snobs, pure and simple!! Sad GITS!!!

  3. Pamela permalink
    January 14, 2009 1:05 am

    Who, if they were forced to swich positions with us peepswho actually have to work, would not have the intestinal fortitudeto withstand it!! They`d be in tears because their feet ached, or they broke a nail!!

  4. Sandi permalink
    January 14, 2009 1:25 am

    Sitting at a desk tapping away at a computer all day is really gripping work…I\’d love to be able to swap places with her…NOT!! I\’d go stir crazy!!! Poor cow! Tomorrow we will do as we\’ve always done…then we shall see if she wants the lift again. We recken she will complain to facilities about us…and if she does it will prove what a tiny-minded bunch of fuck-wits these people really are!!! I feel sorry for them!!

  5. Princess permalink
    January 14, 2009 6:02 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! Did she actually know the reason why before she asked u, or would she have genuinly not know n the reason? Hope u have a Great day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  6. Sandi permalink
    January 14, 2009 12:27 pm

    They both know that we arrive at the same time every day, so I think they deliberately try to get the lift at the same time so they can have something to whinge about. Usually we get black looks or they tut at us…how sad for them!! It wouldn\’t hurt them to just wait a few minutes would it? I mean, it makes no difference to the time they arrive home…they are just being awkward baggages!!

  7. Rosie permalink
    January 14, 2009 1:27 pm

    If I was working in your building then I would either go earlier if I was in a hurry to get back home or wait and acknowledge you coming up through if you were one of the regular cleaners that I knew. In the warehouse I used to work I was on first name terms with all the cleaners as they often worked around us as we worked at our desks… at the end of the day someone has to do it don\’t they.Unfortunately, for data protection reasons the cleaners are not allowed in our room and it is left to us lot to clean up – you really don\’t want to see the state of this place you would problably have a fit! The only time it gets cleaned is when we have VIPs or we rearrange the seating plan – not very often… but I\’m as guilty as the rest – I hate cleaning – which is probably why I have the utmost respect for anyone who cleans up after me!BTW not all computer jobs are boring you know – depends what you do on them… I love mine but then I do have some creative licence in what I do.

  8. Sandi permalink
    January 14, 2009 2:38 pm

    I know that there are some very interesting creative computer jobs around, but theirs involve just typing…reports and stuff!! We get on alright with most of the people who are working when we arrive, and often stop and chat…it\’s just that handful of ignorant arseholes that always manage to get our backs up when we should just ignore them! I\’ve had my rant for now, and I feel better for getting that off my chest…more important things to think about, now…ho hum…

  9. Sandi permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:19 pm

    I can\’t wait to see if any more is said about \’the confrontation\’ tomorrow. I wonder if said woman will \’thcream and thcream until I make mythelf thick!\’ Yeh…sounds about right!!! LOL!!!

  10. Pamela permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:30 pm

    People like that are unhappy with themselves ,and want to make others unhappy. Don`t worry about her silly whining. Sleep well, xx

  11. Sandi permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:41 pm

    Oh, I\’m not worried about her pathetic whining…I just can\’t believe she took it downstairs, making herself look tiny-minded and ignorant. It\’s given us something to laugh at, today.Hope you\’re having a lovely evening, Pam…XX

  12. Rosie permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:47 pm

    Loving the pic with this… 🙂

  13. Sandi permalink
    January 14, 2009 11:57 pm

    Hmmm…maybe Bossy the cow is too cute to illustrate a blog about that sad woman!

  14. Rosie permalink
    January 15, 2009 12:10 am

    Did you get to find out what the other version was? Would be interesting to see a side by side comparison methinks.

  15. Sandi permalink
    January 15, 2009 12:45 am

    \’Fraid not…didn\’t ask…not interested…! Probably something along the lines of me being rude to her, or some such…rather than her being very agressive and pompous!

  16. Tracey permalink
    January 15, 2009 6:32 am

    oh gosh, what can you do . . .sometimes the best revenge is rising above

  17. Sandi permalink
    January 15, 2009 12:01 pm

    From what Jenni (my third floor lady) said, I think other people have got to hear about it, because she told me that they had been giving her \’looks\’ and smiling (in a friendly, knowing way, because they are the nice people)…and I\’m beginning to get the impression that this woman is like this with her colleagues. You are right, Tracey, but I feel that I might laugh if I bumped into her again…oh, dear! (I can see that scene from MPs Life of Brian where the emperor is asking the guards what is so funny about the name Biggus Dickus, and they are rolling about laughing or trying not to laugh…hehehe…!)

  18. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 16, 2009 7:20 am

    It\’s the sad truth that most people out there judge you on what you look like, where you are, and what you do for a living.

  19. Sandi permalink
    January 16, 2009 11:40 am

    A sad truth, indeed…and so out-dated! Jenni said she left earier, yesterday…and was smiling…becuase she went whining to Emma about us…? Oh, per-leeeease…!!

Leave a Reply

