Skip to content

TODAY I ARE MOSTLY…

January 16, 2009

…IN THE MOOD FOR DANCING…!!

 

Yes, I am definitely in the mood for dancing…and it’s Robin’s fault!  No, no…I don’t want to dance along to those blasted Nolan Sisters…ye gods!! 

 

This time last year I joined another belly dance class, which was within easy reach for me, by being just off the High Street and convenient for mine and Ange’s bus stops. 

 

The class was a mixed one for complete beginners through to more experienced dancers…our teacher started us all off with warming up exercises, then we would go through the basic moves…shimmies, hip circles, hip lifts and drops, etc.  We’d practice walking steps, such as the camel, up and down the room…then we’d go into a choreographed bit before cooling down exercises and home time.

 

It was fun for a while, as I found it easy enough exercise while I was going through a major weight gain, due to the medication I was on.  But very soon, the weight I was putting on got too much as it was very solid, which reduced my mobility drastically, so I had to drop out of the class.  Ange also dropped out, but her reason was boredom at doing the same thing every week…the choreography was never varied.  I had to agree with her.

 

Well, the weight went on…and the weight is coming off.  The solidity has gone, which is the main thing for me…and I’ve got my bounce back…just like Tigger!!  So, back to dear Robin…he put a picture of a belly dancer doing a candle dance on his blog, and now I have got my dancing head back on!  I spent ages and ages going through belly dance videos on YouTube, and have found the three videos that Ange gave me…two of which I have not watched yet…!

 

Yep…it is now time to limber up and start dancing again as I can’t believe how stiff I am now! 

 bckgrnd.jpg 3 belly dancers image by Phoenix9907

20 Comments leave one →
  1. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 17, 2009 9:05 am

    Ooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooohh verrrrrry interesting…………… (can we watch?) NO seriously – good for you. Phil and I (more Phil) are looking to do something like that as a way of exercise – line dancing etc,,,,,,, but we have been saying that for some time now :-Sxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

  2. Princess permalink
    January 17, 2009 9:09 am

    Yo Sandi! OOOOOH GOOD ON U GAL! Any chance of vid or phot evid?!?! hehehehehe, oooh u knew that one was coming! Hope u have a FAB Weekend! Luv PF XXX

  3. Sandi permalink
    January 17, 2009 1:37 pm

    In the Middle East, men do belly dancing too…it\’s not just for women…there you go Phil…have a go! All you need is a scarf tied round your hips…!!I seem to have three main phases, don\’t I…I go from Regency…to fetish…to Middle Eastern dance…and back to Regency…etc. Strange….!

  4. Pamela permalink
    January 17, 2009 2:56 pm

    Me too Sandi, time to limber up again that is. Starting small,walking the steps at work, two flights done eight times a day,been doing it only a week, and feel better already.Once I`m limber again I want to get into yoga, and perhapsthe belly dancing as well. Thanks for the yummy pic!! Have a fantastic weekend, oxo

  5. Sandi permalink
    January 17, 2009 4:45 pm

    I started with walking to work a few weeks ago…and felt great for it. That\’s my thing for Fridays, now, because actually getting a bus that isn\’t full of anima…I mean…er…schhol children…little darlings (gritted teeth!!!) is bloomin\’ awkward, as we start half-an-hour earlier…and I usually ended up being late!!! I walk so far, then see if a bus is about…if there is, and it\’s almost empty…I hop on it. Sometimes I walk most of the way (two to two and a half miles), others I get half a mile…it\’s all exercise!)But, I need more than just walking, as I am very stiff, now. When I was at the garage, I used that like a gym, and was very conscious of what muscles I was using with each job I did…then my thyroid went ballistic…so I had to leave. I tried to touch my toes, this morning…I could only reach my shins!! Right now…my ankles…ooooh…creak…crack…groan…!!

  6. Sandi permalink
    January 17, 2009 4:54 pm

    Oops…I didn\’t check my spelling before hitting Add! That should be \’school\’ and not schhol!! I would also like to do yoga and tai chi…but they will have to wait until I have more money to spend!Yes, it is a \’yummy\’ pic, isn\’t it…I just love all the jewel-like colours.

  7. Pamela permalink
    January 17, 2009 4:56 pm

    LOL, glad to know I`m not the only one with such feelings about "little darlings",it`s not their fault that nobody has disiplined them, sadly these days some peepsjust let `em run wild, and I`m shocked and pleasantly surprised when I meet a childwith manners.

  8. Pamela permalink
    January 17, 2009 4:59 pm

    I knew what you meant. The yummy pic is the biker dude, tho the above pis IS colorful…

  9. Sandi permalink
    January 17, 2009 5:06 pm

    Ooooh…don\’t get me started…!!! They can\’t discipline them properly as they will be sued for doing so. This claim culture is taking over everywhere and schools are one of the major places that have suffered because of it. Parents sue because little Johnny fell over in the playground…and now little Johnny and his friends are no longer allowed to be be normal children. Also little Johnny has been disciplined for being naughty…and his parents sue because he is \’traumatised\’….then they complain bitterly about the lack of said discipline in schools, blaming them for turning their little angel into an uncontrollable tearaway!!! No-one wins!! I feel a rant coming on…NO…I am in control…I am calm….!!!!!!

  10. Sandi permalink
    January 17, 2009 5:08 pm

    Oh…of course…silly me!! Yes…biker dude is yummy scrumptious…and above pic is just very colourful and pretty!! Got it!!

  11. Mike permalink
    January 17, 2009 6:10 pm

    I think the Nolan Sister\’s are sweet…..wouldn\’t want to listen to em sing for more than ten seconds, but sweet nonetheless! :-)Yeah i\’m working Sandi, just on a short skive then back for the last three hour drag! By the way….is it JUST the scarf that middle eastern men wear? 🙂 xxx

  12. commander permalink
    January 17, 2009 9:01 pm

    didn\’t get an update on thisblog but saw thecomments.lost now .

  13. Sandi permalink
    January 17, 2009 10:48 pm

    LOL! Thanks for that, Mike…I\’m glad the guy in the video I just watched was wearing more than just a scarf! But, if they are fit and gorgeous…then just a scarf is fine by me…!!!!Oh, Robin…I know the comments have twisted and turned a bit, covering school kids and claim culture along the way, but we arrived at those comments by way of getting fit…Pam walks up stairs and I walk to work of Fridays to avoid the little darlings on the buses! Apart from that…oh, and the biker dude I posted in Pam\’s guest book because we talked about the pictures…it\’s all been about dancing and exercise….so there you have it! Not only are you lost…but you are confused into the bargain!! I guess you will just have to read everything…if you can be bothered…I can\’t, now…ho hum…is it nearly Spring yet…?!!!

  14. Sandi permalink
    January 17, 2009 10:54 pm

    This evening, I watched those two videos that Ange gave me…the first is A celebration of Egyptian dance or some such, and is a Hafla that was filmed. I ast forwarded through a lot of it…well, it was nearly two and a half hours long…yawn…!! The secon vid was more the thing…a brief history of Middle Eastern dance…then into the nitty-gritty! On went my skirt and top…and coin-laden hip skarf, up went the mirrors onto the unit and into a warm-up session…followed by lessons on all the basic moves…and boy! am I out of practice…!!!! Like I said…stiff!! But, I can almost touch my toes after an hour of that…!!! I will just have to keep at it…!!!

  15. commander permalink
    January 18, 2009 12:31 am

    so this is an indoor sport yeah?and you dress up yeah ?huh there u r then she\’s back on the rubber and cling film again tch !din\’t take me long t catch up y know …smart cookie me !

  16. Princess permalink
    January 18, 2009 7:34 am

    Yo Sandi, u put on all ur regalia?! Where\’s the phot?!!!! Cor!!! U do like teasing us Sandi! Hope u have a Fab Day 2day! I am hoping 2 go around a carboot sale this morn, 2c if anything catches my eye! I only have 2 do my onvoicing now once a month, which is much better & frees up my Sundays! U have a Great day! Luv PF XXX

  17. Sandi permalink
    January 18, 2009 3:57 pm

    Hey, I didn\’t see these comments on Updates! Huh!You\’re a smart cookie, Robin…? I like cookies…nibble nibble…yum…! Oh…sorry…!Oh, PF…you wouldn\’t want to see a pic of me in a mis-match of cossie bits with my flabby belly wobbling like a blancmange, now would you…?!!! This morning I could touch my ankles…improvement on yesterday…! Tomorrow…my toes…!!

  18. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:24 pm

    I can still only reach my ankles…keep going, girl!! I might put the other video in tonight, instead…it\’s by Jacqueline Chapman and isn\’t quite so long…keep at it!!!

  19. Bran permalink
    January 30, 2009 5:45 pm

    On your comments re children, I love them but have had to give up eating them now I am a low cholesterol diet!Been working on my weight for a couple of months, though as the weather is bad I can\’t get the exercise I would like walking the moors rabbiting. But the weight seems to be coming off and when my trousers started to fall down whilst buttoned up it was a start also a bit of a shock to the system when it happened in a roaring gale when my arms were full of logs, talk about breezy in the nether regions!

  20. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:22 pm

    LOL!!! Hey, bet you were walking like those lads who wear their jeans barely covering their bums…with legs apart…so comical…!!!I took my trousers off while they were still done up…which made me feel good…but they haven\’t become THAT loose yet…sigh…!

Leave a Reply

