Skip to content

ODDS & SODS

January 19, 2009
As yet I cannot think of a Title or Category, as I’m not sure if this is going to become a rant or not.
 
Several things have bugged me these last few days, not least that of my photos, and the fact that they are all now in ‘shit order’….after spending ages re-arranging them so that they were in chronological order.Baring teeth  When I tried, again, to add a ‘comment’…more like a bitch…on the Windows Space, I kept getting the pink bar telling me they could not add my comment at the moment!!Baring teeth  Why did photos have to end up in a jumble because of a change in format…?!!  I am really cheesed off about this little…thing…!!
 
OK…it’s a bit of a rant…!!  Another thing to bich about…Add a category is still next to the Category box…so why can’t I add a category?  And why can’t I delete categories I don’t use or need…I’m still getting ‘stressed’ with all this, aren’t I!!!Baring teeth
 
What else…?  Oh, yeah…I really want to get on with my costume, for this year’s Jane Austen Festival, but every time I think about picking up my sewing…I have the urge to clear out more crap instead…which is what I’ve been doing until my knees began to creak…so on went the kettle and here I am, tapping away about this and that.Thinking  I have got another couple of carrier bags of papery crap to go (from Robert’s mountain…!!!!!)  I took over three stones of newspapers and other stuff down to the bin at the weekend…I’m wondering how much space, in cubic feet, all this junk is taking up?  Far too much!!!!Surprised
 
There, Title and Category have now manifested themselves…and I have decided that Miscellaneous Mumblings is for a bit of a moan about stuff…and Random Ramblings for general waffling.  It makes perfect sense now!Confused
   
24 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    January 19, 2009 8:17 pm

    Oh, yeah…and I managed to change the general font back to what it was before…as it\’s so much easier to read!!!

  2. commander permalink
    January 19, 2009 8:30 pm

    categories ?er honestly why bother ?

  3. Sandi permalink
    January 19, 2009 8:51 pm

    Good point…if the category was in bold at the top, then it would be noticed…but it isn\’t. I must admit that I never notice what category people have used for their blog entries, anyway…yeah…you\’re right as usual…why bother…!!!OK…what about the general font? I find this one much easier to read than the one they changed it to….!

  4. Sandi permalink
    January 19, 2009 9:32 pm

    Er…where is everyone this evening…? And why do I get invitations from people I don\’t know…? Um…why do I bother asking such questions, because it\’s obvious these people never actually visit people\’s spaces before inviting…!! I\’m hungry…what can I have to eat…?! Why? Why? Why?!!!!

  5. Sandi permalink
    January 19, 2009 9:32 pm

    I\’m bored…!!!

  6. Pamela permalink
    January 20, 2009 12:23 am

    Awww…if I had been home , I`d have ranted with ya Sandi, (((hugs)))

  7. Rosie permalink
    January 20, 2009 12:38 am

    Yah… I was at wuk and then I went shopping… can\’t believe I spent £32 – on cat food! Wow – that\’s a third of this bill and that\’s allowing £15 for some new tops! Funny day, funny day (not funny ha ha funny, funny wierd funny)… where did it go – I\’m actually tired at a more amenable hour too… summat\’s not right.Oh and FYI I do use the categories – if nothing else it sorts out my poems from the other stuff… but yeah – most of the time I hardly notice them on other peoples blogs… x x

  8. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 20, 2009 7:31 am

    Thing\’s have changed a great deal since MSN "improved and updated" (yeh right) at least they seem to have sorted out the pics you put in you blog. The rest as you say are all over the place. If like us you dont have many friends on your list the ammount of comments/feedback we now get is very little compared to what it used to be. The chosen few only im affraid.So all in all we think this has taken a dive for sure. As we have said before we now also use another site to sort of ballance out the loss we feel has happened here. Ok no where near the personalcontact of input but far,far,far more people about.Sorry MSN but we think you ballsed it up!!!

  9. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 20, 2009 7:37 am

    Hold on!!! Ive just checked our blog and once again some pics are now in the wrong blog as well as where they should be….WELL DONE MSN!!!!…….,..

  10. Princess permalink
    January 20, 2009 10:10 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! Hehehehehe, oooh I soo lurve ur rants! It\’s deeo not an improved version in my eyes, yest I cudna even get 2 my homepage, so I gave up & went 2 watch tv! Ur right tho, it is very quiet around here at the mo. Hope u have a Great day 2day, sun\’s out here-YAY! Luv PF XXX

  11. Sandi permalink
    January 20, 2009 11:10 am

    It\’s still not right, is it!! Nothing has been ironed out…still the same annoying features and \’improvements\’ that we don\’t want!!! I actually managed to get onto Their space yesterday…not one positive comment did I read!!! It says a lot, does it not?!! I tried to add my blast at them, but it\’s funny how I always end up with the little pink box that says my comment can\’t be added at the moment…gggrrrrrrrr!!!!! Robin is sooo right to carry on his ranting and raging at the b*****ds…but I fear they are cocking a deaf \’un!!I shall check my blogs to see if the correct pics are where they are meant to be, too…! Well, I hope you all have a better day today, and that the sun is shining for you, too…have a good \’un…XXX

  12. Rosie permalink
    January 20, 2009 1:16 pm

    What I saw of it yesterday was them spouting about their vision for groups and how it is supposed to help you connect with people you already know. Ok, I can understand that – but it doesn\’t mean to say that they needed to take the functionality to discover new random people out does it – they could have left the modual to show updated spaces out as default on any new signups and let us have the option to use it should we want… oh – 15 mins left for a quick nap – might need one…

  13. Sandi permalink
    January 20, 2009 10:11 pm

    I agree with leaving the updated and new spaces module…why they had to remove them is anyone\’s guess!!The reason we like Windows Live Spaces is because it\’s different to Facebook and those chat communities…if they change things to make it more like them, then they are ruining it for those of us who don\’t want that sort of thing…which seems to be most of us on here!!! The improvements that I like are the comment boxes already being here…which is easier…and…um…well, the comment box!! I was sure there was something else…but I can\’t think what it was…!!!

  14. Mike permalink
    January 20, 2009 11:21 pm

    Hmm i\’ve seen the same question asked about a thousand times on their blog sites regarding why they got rid of the updated spaces community page…..the really annoying thing is that not once (as far as i know!) have they bothered to give an explanation!

  15. Sandi permalink
    January 20, 2009 11:37 pm

    Bloody typical!!! They said that the changes were made after feedback from users…and all I\’ve seen are complaints!! Has anyone seen any positive comments on their blog or guestbook???

  16. Rosie permalink
    January 21, 2009 1:18 am

    Mike the eplaination I gleened from reading their guestbook was that most people will only want to know about what is happening with people they know, not people they don\’t know (impression is that groups is the place they want you to go to find like-minded people in the future). But who are they to decide how we want to find new friends?!- there was no need to get rid of that page or those features really…Sandi – you can\’t remember what it the other improvement was because you can\’t see it – they removed the adverts… x x

  17. Tracey permalink
    January 21, 2009 4:01 am

    LOL what exactly is the problem you\’re having with setting category? Maybe l can help you out.And there is a good reason to set it. Some day you may decide to help your new friends get to know you better. You can, organize your blogs by category, put a module in your space, your visitor clicks "Miscellaneous Mumblings" and TADA gets all those blogs.

  18. Tracey permalink
    January 21, 2009 4:09 am

    Oh gosh l forgot l wanted to tell you l also hate when l get invites from people (always men) who l don\’t know at all – l\’ve blogged about it 2 x. So, if they would have looked at my space . . .Sandy, are you using Live Writer?

  19. Cornish permalink
    January 21, 2009 9:17 am

    Hiya Sandi, I\’m still about. Thanks for stopping by. I had an invite from someone too and went to take a look at their space. The only thing I could get into was their profile so the same may be for people coming to see you. A message would be good I know but how do we know if their genuine or not without being able to see into their world?Hope you\’re both keeping well. Take care and big hugs. xx

  20. Princess permalink
    January 21, 2009 10:15 am

    Yo Sandi, Good Morning! Well as peeps are leaving in droves, u would think they might get the idea that the improvements weren\’t liked. The trubs of calculating that is harder tho, coz altho a lotta peeps leave, they don\’t delete their space, they just sorta abandon it! I wonder how many abandoned spaces are floating about in cyber space?!!! Hope uhave a Great Day! luv PF XXX

  21. Sandi permalink
    January 21, 2009 11:58 am

    Cyber detritus, eh? Maybe they think that things will improve and come back to Spaces later?Tracey, I don\’t get invites from men…with further investigation I find that they are friends of friends, but they\’ve never left comments in blogs or guestbooks…the usual getting to know someone.I haven\’t got around to investigating Live Writer…what does it do…is it any good?Rachel, the previous blog was the one I thought would appeal to you…a vid of the Jane Austen Festival.Have a great day, all…XXX

  22. commander permalink
    January 21, 2009 12:14 pm

    Tracey youranswer about categories ….?you are in serious risk of becoming a geek .!

  23. Rosie permalink
    January 21, 2009 1:11 pm

    Tracey, that is exactly why I use categories and try to stick to one entry one category but there is sometimes so little to say about something that I just tack it on the end of something else, or it doesn\’t quite fit… not overly fussed however – so long as I can easily find my creative work when I look for it that\’s all that bothers me.Sandi – I use Live Writer most of the time, very handy for previewing how your blog will look if like me the width of the column on the home page is different to that on the actual blog page… means I can make sure I pictures and videos don\’t go off the page… my post in the wee hours of this morning used the polariod plugin to get the \’snapshot\’ look to my photos… x x

  24. Tracey permalink
    January 23, 2009 9:38 pm

    Live Writer has – SPELL CHECK !!plus other features that make it easier to use. lt\’s a little closer to a word processor l think. lt saves drafts, it\’s very easy to edit from.And, ME a GEEK, l\’m flattered!

Leave a Reply

