Skip to content

Glued To The Goggle Box…!!

January 23, 2009

Oh, what beauty!  What craftsmanship!  What extravagance!

 

What am I on about, now, I hear you sigh.  Why fashion, of course!!  More specifically Couture and Haute Couture.

 

For the last few weeks, on BBC4, there have been quite a few programmes about the world of fashion, from Men, Women and Clothes, made in the fifties, The Secret World of Haute Couture, Fashion Victim: The Killing of Gianni Versace, The Look, Saville Row, The House of Chanel, and Style on Trial among many others.

 

Wednesday and Thursday nights are just a whole evening of fashion TV.  In Style on Trial, each programme takes us through a decade…I think it began with the Forties.  So, with rationing and make-do-and-mend, it took us up to Dior’s New Look and an upturn in the fashion industry.  The Fifties saw Paris fashions and lady-like elegance, and the emergence of Rock & Roll and fashions for young people. 

 

The Sixties were about innovation and new materials….and men with long hair and…tight trousers…oh, yes…!!!  The Seventies had Glam Rock and Disco…then Punk and recession…which brings us to the Eighties.  As a reaction to all the doom and gloom and Punk, the New Romantics brought colour and glam and men in make-up (yes, they wore make-up in the Seventies, but not to the extent of the Eighties.)  How I loved all the flamboyance and hedonistic decadence…and the BIG hair!!! adam-ant.jpg picture by SandiJames13

 

I could never do big hair…so I kept it short.  Anyway, all decades had their things that are best forgotten, and the Eighties gave us legwarmers…and…the…the…shell suit…!!!  Oooh, I feel faint!!!

 

Getting away from the horror of…that…the Eighties were a decade of colour, extreme design and decadence…remember Dallas and Dynasty and power dressing with BIG shoulder pads and big hair?!!

 

Then there were Chanel, Dior, Versace, Christian Lacroix who took us to times gone by with their over-the-top Baroque, Byzantine splendour and a look back to Italian and Venetian history.  Colourful times indeed…!!!

 

Next week will take us into the Nineties…I will need reminding of what was on offer, as I have forgotten.  Was there anything outstanding?  Anything to mark the decade as unique?  I feel it was a huge anti-climax…and more demure (?!) sober fashions were a reaction to all the excesses of the previous decade.

 

Where will all this take us, now, I wonder?  Here we are in 2009 and in another recession.  How long will we have to endure rising prices, job cuts and unemployment, struggling to make ends meet…?  I wonder what the next reaction to all the latest doom and gloom will be.  I hope it is as colourful and flamboyant as the Eighties were…!!! 

 

35 Comments leave one →
  1. Cornish permalink
    January 23, 2009 1:30 pm

    Why is SHELL SUIT in small print? Is that because you had one? I\’d love to see those photos!Back in the ……………. some time ago, I was made to wear a bright yellow shirt with huge lapels and a bright red tank top. Now that\’s embarrassing and definitely won\’t make it to the internet where it can be passed around and used in evidence. I did the legwarmers in the eighties. They were yellow too. Don\’t forget the Boob Tube. I had one which I wore out one day when it was nice and warm. It was so nice and warm I never noticed it was keeping my belly warm and not my bee stings. No photos from that one thankfully. xx

  2. Sandi permalink
    January 23, 2009 2:20 pm

    Shhhh…don\’t shout that vile word here…!!! No I did not have one!! Or leg warmers…they were hideous then and always will be…they send me cold…yeuch!!!I had a bright yellow blouse with big pointy collar and big cuffs…of and puffed sleeves…and a stripey tank top…then there were those short-sleeved jumpers worn with blouses with big puffy sleeves. Then what did I wear in the eighties…ah…purple cord ski pants, skinny jeans, black leather ankle boots with studded straps and cuffs…um…black leather blouson jackets…no, I did not push the sleeves up!! I loved the OTT jewellery, and all the bright colours, too.

  3. Bran permalink
    January 23, 2009 4:24 pm

    Leg warmers are making a come back! Even down here in the far west of nowhere the girlie\’s are starting to wear them! As for Rachael and the boob tube, well that\’s an image to stay in the mind!

  4. Sandi permalink
    January 23, 2009 7:36 pm

    LOL!! I had a boob tube…but I never wore it out…I didn\’t feel safe! The leg-warmers just didn\’t do it for me…it was the other item that makes me spit venom…one of the fashion industry\’s biggest…mistakes?!! Well…joke at any rate!!

  5. Pamela permalink
    January 23, 2009 8:26 pm

    I loved the eighties!! I had the big hair, wore the shirts with shoulderpads,and the boob tubes, and ankle boots, lotsa bright colors. Did not do leg warmersand don`t know what a shell suit is. But, remember parachute pants and bustiers??

  6. commander permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:00 pm

    oooh some thing excited and pleased you .Nice to see you in full flow.can i remember when we were not still recovering froma recession orjust sliding in to one .er……no.

  7. Sandi permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:22 pm

    Parachute pants? Big and baggy? Bustiers…still with us…the problem with these things is…women of the wrong shape like them, and they never stay up..so they are constantly pulling \’em up!!!Oodles of programmes on fashion and couture always please me…I love clothes…I love style…shame I do not have the means to have a full wardrobe!! One pair of jeans for wearing out and one pair for at home. A pair of black cords that are too loose for wearing out, but comfortable for home. A handful of tops, but no decent shirts…they are all worn. I feel like a total scruff at the moment…by my standards!!!My hair didn\’t like BIG, Pam…but I did try! I will have to find a picture of a shell suit…it was supposed to be marginally sporty,like a track suit, but was worn as casual…it was made of a horrible rustling nylon-type fabric in garish colours!! Totally tastless! Robin, I could have blogged about how totally shit I felt the other day…and how totally crap my day was…I was very stressed…but all these programmes took my mind off of it all and cheered me up…good, eh?!! It\’s all because I love costume and fashion from all eras…and theatrical costumes and costuming in general.

  8. Rosie permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:26 pm

    I had a shell suit (I was about 12 at the time, that\’s my excuse)… a purple one with aqua blue and turquoise nested V\’s on the front and back of the top and stipes down the outside of the legs… but biggest sin was probably my leggings… I liked very bright colours and if they weren\’t a colour similar to coral (very popular with me then, still is but not on the legs!) then they were usually patterned… moving swiftly on…

  9. Rosie permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:29 pm

    It\’s always nice to have a distraction – that\’s why I\’m often up in the wee hours when I should be sleeping in preparation for work!

  10. Sandi permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:36 pm

    Why have I never done any dress-making courses?!!! If I can ever afford it, any time in the future, then that is what I should look into doing!!!In the meantime…I shall have to go through my box of dress patterns to see if I have anything suitable to make for myself…I\’ve plenty of fabrics.

  11. Rosie permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:46 pm

    My Nana was always making me dresses when I was younger and I used to get picked on because of it. Kids are so creul aren\’t they?

  12. Sandi permalink
    January 23, 2009 10:59 pm

    My aunt used to make very nice dresses for me, when I was little (I still am, but that is neither her nor there…!), and I wanted to make dresses, too, but when I went up to secondary school and did needlework, the teacher was for ever telling us that it wasn\’t good enough. So we probably spent more time unpicking and doing it again than actually making anything! It put me off for many many years!! Thankfully, my job at the Museum of Lincolnshie Life resurrected my interest, with all those lovely sunbonnets and costumes…and my needle got busy again!

  13. Bran permalink
    January 24, 2009 12:17 am

    Did you check out that wonderful short prog on BBC4 Thursday night, made in the 50\’s about fashion through the ages. All the models on their estates Lady this, Lord that, what an amazing anachronism in this day and age.

  14. Bran permalink
    January 24, 2009 12:20 am

    Almost forgot, the 80\’s were the decade that fashion forgot and shell suits seemed to be the national uniform of the 80\’s equivalent of chavs and scousers.By the way used to design and have made my own clothes in the 60\’s, still cringe at some of the things we used to wear then!

  15. Pamela permalink
    January 24, 2009 12:53 am

    Nooo, parachute pants weren`t baggy, just had a lot of pocketsand ties on them. And the big hair required tons of hairspray!!

  16. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 24, 2009 8:16 am

    Adam and the Ant\’s oh yeh. I remember it well – The Conought Hotel in Wolverhampton which had a nightclub underneath it. 400 people dancing to stand and deliver, the clothes, the ambience – god it was good (personally i still like ant music the best) lol

  17. Sandi permalink
    January 24, 2009 11:06 am

    Bran, the programme you mention is called Men, Women And Clothes and I love it for all the historical costumes shown. I\’m afraid that I have to disagree with you…the 80s weren\’t the decade that fashion forgot as all those new designers came to the fore and it was just crazy. It might be more accurate to say that it was the decade that taste forgot…but I still loved all the glitz and colour…remember women and power-dressing!!Pam, we knew \’em as cargo pants and they\’re still around to a degree…much more pared down nowadays, though. "Stan, it\’s me liver…" I was a big Adam and the Ants fan…loved all the wild costumes and Stuart Goddard was just sooo drop dead gorgeous….sigh…! (I think he\’s fat and bald now…sob!)

  18. Sandi permalink
    January 24, 2009 11:09 am

    Oh, almost forgot…I was going to add a bunch of pictures to this blog of all the colourful fashions and the New Romantics and stuff, but I spent ages and ages and found almost nothing!! Probably looking in the wrong place!!

  19. Princess permalink
    January 24, 2009 5:17 pm

    Yo Sandi! Ooooh Loved Adam & The Ants, he woz sooooooooooooooooo cool! Hope uhave a Fab Evening!Luv PF XXX

  20. LABW permalink
    January 25, 2009 10:32 pm

    Wooo Hooo … Let\’s get one thing straight there is FASHION and there is STYLE…..things go out of fashion..but style…well somethings…are well… stylish and can set trend after trend when someone in the media rediscovers \’em…Ray Ban aviator sunglasses,Irwin flying jackets,Trilby hats, The classic brogue shoe, corsets,silk stockings are but a few…or is it just me…lol :)) LABW LABW xx

  21. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 10:49 pm

    Ah, corsets and silk stockings are are being made by more companies as they become more and more popular again.Style never goes out of fashion, but fashion itself…well…there\’s good and bad from every decade…and some thing are best forgotten! This is a subject I never tire of…!!

  22. Bran permalink
    January 25, 2009 11:41 pm

    My mistake; the 80\’s were the decade that style forgot not that fashion forgot. Was working in the city then and remember power dressing only to well, some of the girls I worked with almost had to turn sideways to get their shoulder pads through the doors! As for corsets and silk stockings, now my blood pressure is out of kilter again!

  23. Sandi permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:50 pm

    Oh, dear…sorry \’bout that…I love corsets, and want one…!!As for the shoulder pads…I\’ve just been flipping through February\’s Harper\’s Bazaar, and guess what?! Shoulder pads are re-emerging almost a la Kenny Everett!!! Well, looking at a pic of a white tailored Balmain jacket that the editor says \’is to die for\’, I\’d say someone probably would if they got that in the wrong place…nasty!!!I am happy to announce that there is a lot of bright jewel colours, gold and richly coloured snakeskins, along with bold, brash jewellery…and red lipstick, huge bags that will probably even hold the kitchen sink! Oh, and there is a lot of beadwork, sequins and embroidery…and feathers feature a lot on clothes and accessories.Warning: Do not, under any circumstances, dig out your old 80s gear…you\’ll be spotted a mile off!!!

  24. Sandi permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:55 pm

    You could get away with some of the jewellery, though, because the models look as though they have raided their mother\’s old hoard.On a downer…leggings in metallics are also featured…OMG!!! The fat brigade will be happy…!!! You have been warned (just in case you get stuck behind an oven-ready elephant!!!)

  25. Rosie permalink
    January 27, 2009 11:16 pm

    Oh dear… I recently bought a pair of those metalic leggings (read, within the last year)… I am ashamed…

  26. Sandi permalink
    January 27, 2009 11:32 pm

    If you\’ve got long legs and are slender…wear \’em with pri!! I\’m talking about the two-ton Tessies who took theover because they were \’comfortable\’…what they meant was they couldn\’t be bothered!

  27. Sandi permalink
    January 27, 2009 11:35 pm

    Pri?!!!! theover?!!! I didn\’t check before hitting Add, did I…?!!! Ooops!!!I meant \’pride\’ and \’them over\’…!! Really annoys me that does!!

  28. Rosie permalink
    January 27, 2009 11:52 pm

    I\’m 5\’1" and abou 150lbs… my legs are hardly long and slender…. :p

  29. Bran permalink
    January 28, 2009 12:29 am

    "oven ready elephants" what a turn of phrase you have my dear, but sadly the description does fit the majority of people that wear leggings whether they are metallic or not. Of course they also wear sizes they have to use a crowbar to get their ar#es in so if they bend over you expect them to explode, oh not a pretty sight and especially when I am sitting there trying to eat my pasty, fair puts me off it does!

  30. Sandi permalink
    January 28, 2009 11:08 am

    Oh, dear…first it\’s your blood pressure…now I\’ve put you off your pasty…I\’m so sorry…who would have thought that discussions about fashion could have such an effect…?Here in Lincoln you see \’muffin tops\’ all over the place…lardy young females in over-tight hipster styles. But the thing is, they ARE that shape! Older people go IN at the waist…they go OUT…what is that about…?!!!! Wierd!! The human form is, indeed, changing…but not for the better…!Rosie…the metallic leggings will look great with a slinky, drapey tunic top/dress…a contrasting texture…but…I\’m no expert…I just love finding out about what\’s hot and what\’s not…!

  31. Sandi permalink
    January 29, 2009 1:32 am

    Well, this evenings programme confirmed my previous thoughts on the 90s…boring! It was the decade of celebs (gag!!!), street fashion and the big names on the High Street. Oh, well…!

  32. Cornish permalink
    January 29, 2009 9:24 am

    Adam and the Ants was before my time but I do remember them as the noise that blasted out of my sisters bedroom. Naturally they were plastered all over her walls too. I was more into Spandau Ballet and the shiny suits. There\’s something you don\’t see much of these days.Corsets. Ahh. I\’ve got three now including the one I made. And I prefer lace top hold ups to stockings. See how I managed to turn that one around!!! Questionable clothes to sexy underthings.Take care Sandi and have a good day. xx

  33. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:15 am

    I\’m really pissed off, today!!! First the Jobcentre trek, then something at work…at least I could relax with these progs, for the evening! Not!!!! No SKY!! Nothing! Couldn\’t even change channels…!!! The last programme in the series, Style on Trial, and they were summing up and would announce which decade was the most stylish…now I\’ll never know!!!I also missed a prog about Coco Chanel…and Men, Women And Clothes…I was really spitting feathers, this evening, I can tell you…especially when the computer started to play up as well…I really am not in the mood for any of this shit at the moment…!!!!!!!

  34. commander permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:32 am

    Well gosh.Wine chocolate and a dvd.every thing you missed will be repeated .Just keep an eye on the lists ."but i wanna fukin see it now " she screams ……wine chocolate dvd …..

  35. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:36 am

    You\’re a bloody mind reader…you are! I do wanna see it now!!! Don\’t want wine or a DVD…chocolate….gimme chocolate….!!!!

Leave a Reply

