Skip to content

Camera Plus Film Equals Photos

January 24, 2009

At last!  I have a film for my camera!  The only thing now is a refresher course in how to use it again…lucky I still have the instruction manual to go with it, as I had forgotten about shutter speeds and f-stops, and such like technicalities.

 

Not only am I re-reading the manual, but I also have a book on creative photography, pre-digital, that I found very useful and enlightening when I first got my camera.

 

Digital cameras are a brilliant invention, as you can see the pictures and delete them if they aren’t right, and then you download them onto the computer…instant pictures! 

 

But, where is the fun and anticipation of waiting to see how your photographs have turned out?  And what about playing with all the gadgets and lenses, for close-ups, effects and colours, etc?  Surely that’s more creative than a digital camera?  OK, I don’t really know what a digital camera is capable of doing, these days, but the way I see it is like comparing a classical pianist to a synthesiser player.  (The synthesiser player just presses buttons and flips switches to get all the weird and wonderful effects!)

 

So, when I win the lottery, or become a successful businesswoman, I want a top of the range SLR…and a top of the range digital camera.  Oooooh, what fun I shall have!!!

25 Comments leave one →
  1. Rosie permalink
    January 24, 2009 11:27 pm

    No, what you want is a top of the range digital SLR\’s… kill two birds with one stone – it can be as manual or as automatic as you wish then…

  2. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 12:00 am

    Oh, I didn\’t know they had brought out hybrids…sounds interesting.

  3. Rosie permalink
    January 25, 2009 12:14 am

    Oh yes, Kit Houghton (the Equine Photographer I won a days tuition with) uses one… indeed I\’m pretty sure they are more common than the tradional SLRs, particularly when a quality picture is needed quickly. Now that was a very interesting day… didn\’t have a digital SLR like the other 2 winners did but the camera the ex claimed that I used to win the competition wasn\’t a typical take it on a night out camera either.

  4. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 25, 2009 7:56 am

    We think\’s the "old stuff" as Kayley think\’s of it sometimes is often more real and has a personality. Old cars and bikes for example just like old type camera\’s are far less technical but also lack modern capabilities. Yet they are in many ways better and more fun (we hope that makes sence)

  5. Princess permalink
    January 25, 2009 8:25 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! Froggies eyes are glinting! New Camera= More Phot Evid!!!! hehehehhee! Hope u have a Fab Day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  6. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 11:20 am

    LOL! OK OK…photographic evidence for froggie…that\’s more for the scanner. When I find the box, and download disc, for the scanner, I will have plenty of photographic eveidence for you…! Um…did you see that I have a new photo album? One really, really bad photo of …er…someone…bleargh!!!!I agree with you Phil…personality! Our old car, Taz (that was the original number plate) was just soooo full of personality…was very upset when Robert sold him for scrap!! And my poor motorbike, Grub, is in the garage in bits…rusting away…poor dear Grub…! There are pictures of him in Those were the days album…a Yamaha XS400 Custom…lovely bike…I was going to take my test so I could ride him…………!

  7. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 11:22 am

    Rosie…I will have to look into those cameras (no pun intended…honest!!!)…but at the moment, I am hard pressed to afford film and processing let alone a brand spanking new camera…sigh…! Actually that was a very big sigh!!!!

  8. Bran permalink
    January 25, 2009 12:51 pm

    Hi Sandi; why not have a look at "Bridge" digital cameras not quite SLR\’s not just point and snap, you can pick them up at the moment for the cost of processing about ten rolls of film! Used to use a Nikon "F" with all sorts of lenses but now only use a cheap (£150) digital as the quality is on par, had the Nikon for decades but think I have taken more "digital" pic\’s in the last 5/6 years than I took with the other over a 30+ year period.

  9. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 1:02 pm

    I have just picked up the manual for the digital camera…it\’s a Fujifilm FinePix 4800Zoom or summat!! It\’s OK (the camera), but I believe that mobile phones now have better cameras built in! But it\’s fine for me to get to know how the digital camera works…! As I was saying…the manual! This little booklet is a hefty tome compared to my SLR manual…!! And that has other languages in, too…!!! I\’ve got some reading and learning to do, haven\’t I!!!

  10. Poppy permalink
    January 25, 2009 2:04 pm

    Hi Sandi, in reply to Bran B\’s comment below, that is the way I have gone, with a \’bridge\’ digital. I wanted something better than the point and shoot variety, but not something as bulky as an SLR, mainly because I had no idea how it all worked!!!! lol Anyway I settled on a Canon Powershot G9, and I am really pleased with it. Its bigger and heavier than a point and shoot, but still small enough for me to carry with me in my handbag!! Good luck with the photography, its great fun isn\’t it?? xx

  11. Bran permalink
    January 25, 2009 2:06 pm

    The one I use mainly is a Fujifilm finepix S1000f —10 megapixel (certainly enougth for anyone apart from Pro\’s) —10x optical zoom all sorts of settings manual and auto — just over £100 from Curry\’s —- smashing bit of kit. They also do a version thats 18x optical zoom for around £150. take into account the cost of processing film nowadays and £100 wont go far

  12. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 2:23 pm

    Isn\’t it great…just how many people enjoy photography! The first camera I used was Mum\’s little Kodak Instamatic…because of parellax you had to centre your subject, then move down and across to make sure the pictures came back centred properly…what fun! Then I got this Praktica MTL5, which is the one that I have just got the film for…and we have the digital…so I\’ve loved taking snaps and photographs since my early teens. It\’s got to be over ten years since I took any photos…! Hmm…too long!!!

  13. Rosie permalink
    January 25, 2009 2:46 pm

    Those photos of the wheel were on my \’bridge\’ FujiFilm FinePix S500 – it was about £300 when bought about 4 years ago and the FinePix S1000f is better equipped cheap enough to be a superior replacement – I just haven\’t replaced mine. While cameras on phones are comparable to some of the point and shoots, I find them clumsy to use and the pictures are nowhere near as good (no room for features that come as standard on normal cameras like autofocus, redeye reduction etc)… you can tell those I took on my phone, they are fuzzy when enlarged… but on the camera the quality was much better even on quick snaps!

  14. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 3:07 pm

    I an never hold my phone still enough to take any decent photos…I always shake when I press the blasted button! No, give me a seperate camera any day.

  15. LABW permalink
    January 25, 2009 10:12 pm

    Oi.. you trying to get me goin\’…lol 😉 Bloody cameras….I did find my Pentax K10D a little bit complicated at first…but knowing I could rule the world with it\’s technology…puts my mind at rest…and if it was working..lol. BTW it\’s digital SLR. In one year I have taken over a thousand pic\’s with it..and I nearly know what does what…I think..lol. My camera before…Pentax MX…they said all my len\’s would fit and work with the new one …\’aint so blue eye\’s. You have fun Sandi. Paw /finger flipp\’n LABW LABW xx

  16. Sandi permalink
    January 25, 2009 10:54 pm

    How do you know that I\’ve got blue eyes…?!! LOL!!Until I can make up my mind what I want to take photos of…I\’m just going to sit here and hum and haw over it…! Actually, there is the local area to rord, but mainly Lincoln\’s industrial history, which I\’m surrounded by when I go to work, down Waterside North. I will blog about this later…!

  17. LABW permalink
    January 26, 2009 1:29 am

    Brown eyes..burning like fire….the blue eyes should have been in my best H. Bog. accent…Leeeshen Blu\’ Eyyeees…know wot I mean..lol..just a figure of speech / point across thingy. Happy rording.:) 🙂 🙂 LABW LABW xx

  18. LABW permalink
    January 26, 2009 1:36 am

    Oh..and another thing…do you have to wear a hat with horns on when you go rording…\’cos if you do …I\’m your man 😉 LABW LABW xx

  19. Cornish permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:34 am

    You can do exactly the same with a DSLR as you can with an SLR, but more! You can tweak the photos afterwards on the computer to get rid of red-eye and things like that. The digital ones can still take the lenses of the film ones if it\’s the same size too, though they do tend to be a little too slow for the camera. I use an old zoom lens with my new one and they both work lovely together. You can still use filters on them too. I find the digital a lot more fun than the old SLR and still use all the \’creative\’ zone far more than the point and shot modes. I wouldn\’t change mine for the world, unless it was for a better version, with money permitting of course. I\’ll let you play on mine sometime.Oh and my old little point and shoot digital camera had the \’creative\’ modes too so that you could set up the aperture and such like, so they\’re still an option for a tighter budget if you can find the right one. xx

  20. Sandi permalink
    January 26, 2009 11:05 am

    Rord…?!!! I flippin\’ missed that one…LOL!! Of course you know I meant \’record\’! I hate it when it does that…I know I\’ve typed all words correctly, but when I read over it…letters missing and sometimes great chunks of words!!! This never happens anywhere else…just here! And what\’s with a hat with horns…? You\’ve lost me there old boy! Have you got a hat with horns on…?!Well, I\’m going to have to read through the digital camera\’s manual to learn what it\’s all about, and how to use it…if I have any probs, I know where to come for advice, don\’t I…thanks all…XX

  21. LABW permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:12 pm

    No…. I thought you meant marauding…lol. Uhh.. you going to tell me next your\’ve never seen a Vikings helmet…errr perhaps best not…eh…ROFLMO….I \’ve got face ache now…easy … lol. xx

  22. Sandi permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:33 pm

    LMAO…!!! Yeah…of course I\’m gonna go marauding around the local area wearing a Viking helmet…! How pissed do you think I get!!!! ROFL…ooooh hooo hahahahah….!!!!The missing letters often happen…I type everything correctly, but when I look…letters and short words missing!! So record ended up as rord…LOL!! New word for today!!

  23. Princess permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:45 am

    Ooooh we deffo need pic evid of u in a viking helmet! Wot a Fab Idea Sandi! hehehehe, Luv PF XXX

  24. Sandi permalink
    January 27, 2009 10:57 am

    Tsk…(eyes to the sky…!)…the woman is obsessed with photographic evidence!!! LOL!!!

  25. Sandi permalink
    January 29, 2009 10:36 am

    Glad you were happy with that…but I now know the man was being very naughty (giggle…) with his references to (ahem!!) a Viking\’s helmet…ROFLMAO…!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

