Skip to content

Jobcentre Here I Come…!!!

January 26, 2009

The company I work for has lost the contract at the offices, where I work, so a new company is going to take over…I was told the end of next month…I’ve now been told next bloody Monday!!!  We only got our paperwork last week, so I phoned my boss to ask when their rep was coming out to explain it all to us…I was told that they won’t be until AFTER we have filled all our paperwork and sent it…and the new people have taken over.  So that means we have to accept their terms and conditions before they take over and someone comes to see us? 

 

I don’t like the sound of that!  The trouble is, I don’t know TUPE law or what it all entails…let alone what it means!  OK, I know that if you work for a company that loses a contract, the people who take over have to take you on under your present terms and conditions, and cannot just get rid of you.

 

We have been told to read the handbook.  Fine!  The problem there is that the print is so small I can’t read it without straining my eyes!!  And the paperwork…pages and pages of it…looks like a lot of work…especially for me, as there are several pages that I, as supervisor, have to fill in for the others.  Oh, great!!!

 

What I have read of the handbook implies that there is paperwork for holidays, sickness and a multitude of other stuff into the bargain!!  When am I going to have time to do my actual work?!  And can I have an office with a desk and filing cabinet for all this extra bumph…?!  (Or should I use it to wipe my backside…?!!!)

 

Jobcentre here I come…!!!!

28 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    January 26, 2009 6:37 pm

    Yo Sandi, aaaw wot a pain. U do need 2 go thru that paperwork with a fine toothcomb tho, 4 ur own sake. Looking on the bright side ya never know they might actu be an improvement on ur last Employer! I shall keep my fingers crossed that it is! Rite off 2 go check my stew, it;s been slow cooked all day! Hope u have a Fab Evening! Luv PF XXX

  2. Rosie permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:09 pm

    I should be experienced at this – after all I went from being employed by Tibbett & Britten, taken over by Exel Logistics taken over by DHL on our contract side (all in the space of the 5 and a half years I was there)… oh and then after all that, Reebok who we were contracted to got taken over by Adidas. Then I moved to UFindUs who started trading as CustomerStreet and were taken over by BT to become BT CustomerStreet (follow all that?) – needless to say I\’m never quite sure who I work for even tho I\’ve only ever had two \’proper\’ jobs!Anyway – from what I can remember they can not enforce changes to your contract within the first 6 months or so – don\’t quote me on this but I would personally hold off signing anything until you are happy with any changes to the terms and conditions. They inherit your services as an assest to the company so you should not need to sign to say you agree with this unless there are specific changes to the contract you need to agree with. Some of the longer term employees who had Reebok contracts (from when they ran their own warehouse) were still on weekly pay despite weekly pay only been issued to new staff on temporary contracts – when you were taken on you got monthly pay.So – my instinct is telling me that they are pushing you to sign changes to your T&Cs before they are explained and disguising it as administration… Personally I would not be too hasty to sign… I\’m just trying to think if I signed anything when BT took over – I don\’t recall but then my memory is hazy… hope this helps – and I hope this change is for the better… I\’m loving the perks of working for BT!

  3. Mike permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:20 pm

    Doh!! Thats all you needed! Obviously it depends on the new company taking over and the type of people running it……when i first started this job full time i worked for a bookmakers called Vickers (who were fine) after a year they were bought out by Stanley\’s, treated well and good communication with senior management, unfortunately they sold out to William Hills a few years later…….well lets just say that the goalposts have been moved so far that they\’re now situated in the grandstand somewhere! lol xxx

  4. Bran permalink
    January 26, 2009 8:28 pm

    Sandi, the job centre is the place to approach, worthwhile contacting them as they may have an employment advisor who would be able to explain the small print.

  5. Sandi permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:13 pm

    Thanks all…Robert said that we are not legally bound to sign anything until we have seen one of their reps. I told the others at work and they said "But we want to get paid…do you want to get paid…?!! We\’re filling them in and sending them ASAP!!" Fine! I\’m looking into it, first!The company I work for at the moment started as Mowlem Pal Mall, then got taken over by Carillion who got bought out by Resource…who have now lost the contract!! Hence totally new company…who just happen to be taking over next Monday!! Apparently, all the other sites have had their paperwork for the last couple of weeks or more…why have we only just got ours…?!!!

  6. LABW permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:27 pm

    Oooh don\’t sign anything yet…get in touch with these dudes…www.Free-Employer-Advice.co.uk Free Help W/ Employment Law Issues! 0800 327 7411 Free Employer Advice…or…Please see Acas\’s Advisory handbook on Discipline and grievances at work. What are unfair selection criteria for redundancy? …http://www.acas.org.uk. That\’ll show them. Make point of telling your employer that you are not happpy in this situation LABW LABW xx

  7. Rosie permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:52 pm

    You do right to hold back – they will regret rushing to sign in their panic if they realise that they have signed away their right to get overtime or other such stuff.

  8. Androgoth permalink
    January 26, 2009 9:57 pm

    Hello Sandi..Yes and don\’t forget to read the small print eitherSort Of \’The Devil In The Detail\’ as it were.. Oh andhow do you mean, Cute? lol Cheeky or what? Justkidding my new friend.. THE WORDSMITH Xx

  9. Sandi permalink
    January 26, 2009 10:18 pm

    Of course I will…the whole handbook is small print!!!Of course I am…!!! Always have been…!!

  10. commander permalink
    January 26, 2009 11:01 pm

    di it sandi do it .take the chance to move on now.

  11. Pamela permalink
    January 26, 2009 11:46 pm

    I would break out the magnifying glass, and read that small print.Have a good night Sandi. Work went well, but my body is sore.

  12. Cornish permalink
    January 27, 2009 9:13 am

    Thankfully I\’ve never been in your situation so I\’d be useless in any advice. It sounds as though someone has been rather remiss in informing you (major understatement) of the company\’s position and I wonder if that would be grounds for legal action. If everyone else knew of the new contract weeks ago then why did they keep it from the people that count? Seems very peculiar to me.Anyway, BIG HUGS and I hope it all works out for the best in the long run. xx

  13. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:09 am

    When I dropped my boots off at the cobblers, I carried on to the Jobcentre…it\’s no longer in the town centre, which is a pain! I asked if there was someone I could talk to about the situation, etc., but all the woman said was phone ACAS!!! While there, I went to look at the jobs boards…there was only one with four jobs on it! What bloody use is that!! They are all on the touch screen thingummies now…bloody pain in the arse they are…I just wanted a quick glance over \’em….not spend all afternoon going round in bloody circles…!!!!

  14. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 1:38 pm

    This morning\’s post brought a letter from Resource thanking me for attending the consultation meeting on 15 December…have I missed something here…?!!!The letter also said that Resource and the new company have \’a duty to inform and consult with all employees affected by the transfer of services, directly with yourself or if you so wish through a recognised trade union or with those involved in collecive consultation.\’ Yes, I keep saying this…!!!It also states that if we have any questions we must not hesitate to contact Karen, my boss…who knows as much as we do!! They are also \’making arrangements for the new company to meet with us prior to the transfer and will blah blah blah…\’ so that means that someone will be with us today?!! What rot!!! The date of the letter? 28 January!!! Paperwork received last week…new company take over next Monday!!I was informed that other sites had their paperwork several weeks ago…and that they have been visited by the new company\’s representative. What about us…?!!!

  15. Kayley and Phil permalink
    January 30, 2009 2:58 pm

    well all i can say is that i know the feeling(its Phil by the way) im looking for a job but out of the motortrade. The problem is ive been in it for ever and im 53 this year. Still got a few things to sort out with my eye but we need to sort out our life this year……lol

  16. Princess permalink
    January 30, 2009 6:51 pm

    Yo Sandi, Good Evening! Hmmmm. it\’s not very impressive is it?! If u have any questions, I would submit them 2 Karen in writing & ask 4 a written response! If she can\’t answer ur questions herself she will then have 2 forward on ur questions 2 ur new bosses 2 answer. Hope it gets sorted soon. Hope u have a Good Evening! Luv PF XXX

  17. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:00 pm

    When I showed the letter to Robert, he got straight on the blower to them to find out what that was all about…but who-ever sent it was not available (hmmm…!), and they took my number and said they would call me. So far…well, you can guess…!!He then phoned the new company…big difference! He spoke to a lady who explained that they had only just received our paperwork from Resource, so that is why our \’welome pack\’ was so late arriving. I spoke to her, and she told me to just carry on as normal, and we cleared up a couple of little hiccups concerning my people….so I\’m feeling a bit happier about it. But, as for how we shall all get on…we shall see…!Karen has been offered a position with Resource, so we don\’t have an area manager at the moment…Robert said about applying for it…why not!!!

  18. Mike permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:08 pm

    Hey that sounds like better news!As for the area manager\’s job………go for it Sandi! xxx

  19. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:17 pm

    Not me, ya noggin\’…Robert!! I don\’t drive. ("Thank goodness for that!!!" I hear you all cry…!!)

  20. Princess permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:22 pm

    Oooh U go 4 it! U wud make a Great Area Manager! Wot have u got 2 lose?! Tis worth a shot! Hope u have a Fab resta evening! Luv PF XXX

  21. Mike permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:24 pm

    lol…don\’t think i\’ve been called \’noggin\’ in about 30 years…..mind i\’ve been called plenty else in the interim! Ok, like i really meant to say…..go for it Robert!…..ermm no kisses though! 🙂

  22. Mike permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:25 pm

    Hey look! Princess made the same mistake as me lol

  23. Rosie permalink
    January 30, 2009 8:36 pm

    Why not indeed… "The only way is up! Baby!"… erm – moving swiftly on…

  24. Sandi permalink
    January 30, 2009 9:57 pm

    PF didn\’t read the previous comments, then, did she…must have written her comment when I was writing mine.

  25. Princess permalink
    January 31, 2009 8:37 am

    *Coughs* Bows head in shame….then sticks it back up, rises 2 her full height(which aint much , but more than Sandi!!!!) & Yells at the toppa her voice "U Go 4 it Robert, Good Luck!!" Froggie hops off, wiping brow as she goes!

  26. Sandi permalink
    January 31, 2009 4:03 pm

    LOL!! Everyone is taller than li\’l ol\’ me…!!I did say you must have written your comment as I was writing mine…!Hmmm…I wonder if Robert was only joking when he said about applying for the area manager\’s job…?!! He hasn\’t said any more about it…

  27. Princess permalink
    January 31, 2009 4:30 pm

    Hehehehe, maybe he\’s secretly applied but doesn\’t wanna say owt, till he sees whether he\’s got an interview! Started my stupid invoicing this morn & didna finish till 3.10pm no wthat is Poo! My day is gone & I didna get 2 do my horses! Emma(the person who got hit by the car) came 2 visit me 2day, wot a lovely surprise, she boughtme a card & beautiful plant 2 say thank u, I wos so touched, it was great 2 see her, she\’s on crutches, but can move about on em ok! Hope u have a Great resta day! Luv PF XXX

  28. Sandi permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:02 pm

    Robert was telling me that last night he was in another area, at work, because three people were off…and the guy he was working for reckons the place is going into free-fall. Robert said that it was time to apply for that job, then. "What job?" "Area manager." "What? Here?" "No, a cleaning company." I wonder if he will…? I think he should…it\’s days..!You won\’t be moaning about the stupid invoicing tomorrow, though…will you…?!!!What a lovely surprise…did you tell her that everyone on here has wished her well…?You have a brilliant evening, too, PF…XX

Leave a Reply

