Skip to content

Lincoln Then & Now

January 29, 2009

Now the camera is suitably loaded with film, I have been giving a lot of thought to what I want to take photographs of, and the urge to capture the changing face of Lincoln is strong. 

 

What I would like to do is find some old pictures, and take new ones from as near to the spot that the early photographer stood on as possible to capture the scene as it is now.  Back in the 1980s, Maurice B Hodson did just that…but now a lot of those buildings and street scenes have changed so much that new ‘now’ pictures are needed!

 

So, the new album is called ‘Lincoln Then & Now’, and to start off I have added a picture of High Bridge taken in about 1909 from Mayfield Bridge…but it may be some time before I add my new shot.  The rate I’m going (two photos in the last week) it will take a while to get through thirty-six exposures!!  Nah!  Once I get going there will be no stopping me!!

 

So, as the old phrase goes…watch this space…!

 

Anyway…here is the first picture that I have added to the album…the photographer was standing on Mayfield Bridge looking towards the High Bridge.  High Bridge is unique in that it is the only medieval bridge in Britain with buildings still on it.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Cornish permalink
    January 29, 2009 3:51 pm

    Watching …………………… watching ………………….. um, nothing\’s happening. Oh it may take a while. Sorry. I think there was something in that pasty I had for lunch! Will go and take a gander at your photos now, I did everything backwards as usual. Have a good evening Sandi. xx

  2. Sandi permalink
    January 29, 2009 9:22 pm

    Hehehe…just one photo to start with…I need to take my \’now\’ pics so that I can add them in order, as there is no way of re-arranging them once they are in the album!! Which is really, totally crap!!!I\’d better not get started on those damned albums…I can feel my blood pressure rising…!!! Been one of those days…ggggrrrrrr….!!!!

  3. Sandi permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:35 pm

    Oh, well…this was a waste of time…no one is even remotely interested…! Skulks off miserably…sigh…huff…!!

  4. Bran permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:52 pm

    Still waiting to see new piccys, though it might take a while for you to take them, process them, scan them in and publish them. suppose we will see them some time in the summer!

  5. Sandi permalink
    January 31, 2009 6:25 pm

    Am waiting for some nice weather to allow me to take some good \’uns…don\’t like grey, miserable photos.When I take the film in, I will get them dropped onto disc…so no scanning involved…which reminds me….box…! Where was that darned box put…?!!!

  6. Sandi permalink
    January 31, 2009 6:29 pm

    Sod the box! I\’ve just found the disc…\’twere in the cupboard with the other discs and stuff…now where are the connecting thingummies….?!!!

Leave a Reply

