Skip to content

Save The Trees…!!!!

January 31, 2009

This afternoon, as I was coming back from the shop, I bumped into a neighbour who told me that the old people’s home, next to us, who have applied for planning permission for two- and three-storey extensions, isn’t planning on extending, but flattening the whole lot…including all the lovely trees(!!!!) to build sheltered housing, a community hall and surgery, etc.

 

No way!!!  The mature trees round here make this a very nice area to live, and it was the reason I took this flat when it was offered to me.  If it wasn’t for the trees all around us, I would not like living here at all!  It is one of my pleasures, as I walk to the bus stop or shops, to watch the trees and shrubs as they come into bud, then into full leaf, or with all the flowering cherries, when they come into bloom…it’s really beautiful in the Spring.

 

Of course, we as residents in the area can all put forward our objections, but they will not be listened to…when do the council ever listen to people’s objections when they want to go ahead with something…?!!!  And it’s not just our council, either…they all do it, ride rough-shod over objections and complaints.  We, as a nation have become too soft and allow these people to do as they please.  Why?!!  What is the point of moaning and whining about our government and councils when no-one will make a stand against them.  They know they can do as they like….and it’s not good enough!!!!

24 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:47 pm

    Yo Sandi! Actu they DO listen when it comes 2 mature trees, in fact u will probably find they already have preservation orders on them! Do contact ur Local Planning Dept (ours is in our Town Hall!) It is actu very hard 2 get permission 2 lob trees down, it is even difficult 2 get em pruned! The house that I lived at after I got married, was lovely at the back(or so I thought) there was a little lane, with a wall, just on a tiny strip of land by this wall was a line of huge trees. When i first go there I thought how lovely, 2 look out & see these huge trees waving about, but in the end, it got me down. In Summer these lovely trees were dense & dark & made my living room dark, I had a huge window but had 2 have the light on mosta the day. We wanted 2 get them trimmed down a bit. Wot a job we had in order 2b able 2! So checkit out! Luv PF XXX

  2. Bran permalink
    January 31, 2009 5:48 pm

    Check to see if there is a tree preservation order on the trees, if not quickly apply for a TPO (temporary tree preservation order) that will at least throw a bit of a spanner in the works!

  3. Sandi permalink
    January 31, 2009 6:33 pm

    Two of the trees have already been cut down…they were between the fence and two other trees…why?! There was nothing wrong with them…and they weren\’t causing any damage…not close enough to the fence!!! Of course, if they try to cut down any more, I could always chain myself to them!!!

  4. Pamela permalink
    January 31, 2009 7:45 pm

    Oh, I would be furious if they tried to get rid of my trees.The wooded area is what keeps me here.

  5. Happy permalink
    January 31, 2009 9:21 pm

    I hope you can find way to advocate for the trees.

  6. Sandi permalink
    January 31, 2009 10:49 pm

    I love those trees…! have…er…even given them…names…

  7. commander permalink
    January 31, 2009 11:01 pm

    remember that old song "…….i talk to the trees ….thats why they put me away….."

  8. commander permalink
    January 31, 2009 11:11 pm

    just athought i personally have cut down at least 8 trees on my land ?i eat meat and enjoy it too.and i smoke like a beagle .

  9. Sandi permalink
    February 1, 2009 10:27 am

    You have?!!! Tree murderer!!!! I like meat…er…but I don\’t smoke (only when I\’m goin\’ fast…!!!!)A link…? OK…lets have a butchers…

  10. Princess permalink
    February 1, 2009 10:33 am

    Yo Sandi, Good Monring! This vision of u tying urself 2 a tree has just popped int my head…only, it\’s the pic of ur wearing the helmet!! ROFL!!!! Hope u have a Fab day 2day, no signa the predicted snow at my end yet! Luv PF XXX

  11. Princess permalink
    February 1, 2009 10:33 am

    PS…..We wud DEFFO need Phot evid!!!! lalallalalallalalala

  12. commander permalink
    February 1, 2009 10:40 am

    Actually (shy) it is more than 8but some were very titchy.Y see i do like to be able to look out of the windows and having all the lights on 24 hours a day was getting costly and we were all so pale ……and …..it was fun …..TIMBER !!!!!!!

  13. Sandi permalink
    February 1, 2009 11:31 am

    B-b-b-but I thought t-t-t-tigers liked t-t-trees…!!! SOB!!! (runs away…!)

  14. commander permalink
    February 1, 2009 12:40 pm

    well yeah need at least one t piss up but 45 ft of blue spikes 6 ft from y winda is no fun but god i loved that tree,cedar, but insurance and damage to risky.In the summer it would be infested with aphids and ants feeding of there sugary excretions and my car would be covered in a coat of syrup which was rvolting and every thing stuck to it like glue.it was 15 ft higher than the telephone pole and breakin the wires too.if peeps would do a bit of care and not plant giant full size in a front garden then those what follow would not have to do it down .

  15. commander permalink
    February 1, 2009 12:47 pm

    In the 50\’s and 60\’s it as monkey puzzle trees.70\’s and 80\’s frickin leylandii .80\’s and 90\’s cannabis lager cans and telephone masts .2009 windmills.

  16. Sandi permalink
    February 1, 2009 1:37 pm

    Now that is just plain stupid…people have no idea, do they…?! They see a little tree in the garden centre and think.."That would look nice in the front garden…" taking no notice of the label that says \’grows to eighty feet\’!! I remember one tiny garden, where I used to live…someone planted a weeping willow!!!! It was about four foot away from the drains and not much more from the house!! Doh!!!Lime trees are the same with the aphid problem…aphids feed on the sap…ants milk the aphids…bleargh!!!Damned Leylandii…they are a bloody nightmare…!!!! Windmills…? Oh, you mean those wind turbines!

  17. Sandi permalink
    February 1, 2009 1:39 pm

    I love the smell of cedar…the building, where I worked some years ago, was clad in cedar…it smelled lovely when it rained…!!

  18. commander permalink
    February 1, 2009 1:59 pm

    I like the smell of leather .diesel oil on New Street station .Fish \’n\’ chips and the vinegar that makes you cough.Coal smoke in a dusty old carriage.Seaweed and salt.Fresh dougnutsFresh cut hay.Decidous Azalea-Irene KosterLamb roasting and and and …….

  19. Sandi permalink
    February 1, 2009 2:27 pm

    Yes to leather, doughnuts, hot oily engines and steam engines, a working forge, spices, new carpets, tarmac, Jeyes Fluid and creosote, and I used to love cuddling my cat, Jade, and burying my nose in her soft warm fur…she smelled lovely. As for flowers…lilies, Stargazer and Casablanca…roses, carnations, freesias…I haven\’t smelled that azalea…will have to look out for it! Yes to freshly mowed hay and grass. Water…rivers, sea and rain (after a shower)…damp soil, and green mossy woodlands…I could go on and on…!

  20. Cornish permalink
    February 1, 2009 4:22 pm

    I wonder if they would support a treehouse at all. You could move into one and then they wouldn\’t be able to chop them down.

  21. Pamela permalink
    February 1, 2009 4:29 pm

    Cedar, fresh cut grass,sea, rain,fresh picked tomatoes( make me think of my Grampa),peaches, yeah I could go on too!!

  22. Princess permalink
    February 1, 2009 5:47 pm

    Yo Sandi, funnily enuf I woz watching Loaction, Location, Location this afters & they mentioned about trees!! They said all u have 2 do 2 prevent a tree being lobbed is 2 ring up ur local town hall & ask 2 have a preservation order placed on it, all as u have 2 do , is explain wot it means 2u, wot benefits u feel u get from it being there! At the very least they can slap on a temporary preservation order! According 2 this programme u can ring up & get it all done in that one phonbecall! Hope uhave a Fab Evening! Luv PF XXX

  23. Kayley and Phil permalink
    February 2, 2009 7:46 am

    We understand how you feel about the trees. We have a reasonable view from our place and it makes so much difference. People power is the only thing that works. But not always. It really is not fair the ammount of power the councils have now adays.

Leave a Reply

