Skip to content

There’s No Business…

February 2, 2009

…Like Snow Business…!! 

 

Yeah, I love it when it snows, but the trouble is that we don’t get snow like we used to.  Other parts of the country still do…snow drifts and blizzards and the like, but it has been many years since Lincoln has seen anything remotely resembling a blizzard!!

 

For years all we have had is what looks like a dusting of icing sugar, but I have just remembered that we did have proper snow about three or four years ago…because me and Robert rolled a snowball from the pub, all the way home, after an evening spent in the pub!  Actually, I think it broke up when we crossed the road, so started a new one that we left to stand sentinel over the pedestrian entrance to the flats!  That was fun!!

 

Just as I was getting ready for work, I got a phone call from our new company…I don’t have to bother going in today, as EA are closing early.  Another instance of a little bit of snow causing a lot of chaos?  Perhaps…but a lot of their employees do live out in the sticks, and although the main roads are gritted regularly, a lot of the lesser roads are not.  So it is better to be safe than sorry….rather than end up in a ditch!! 

 

When Robert went out to do his delivery job, he dropped me off at the garage so I could get a few bits…and on the way home I realised just how slippery everything is at the moment!  The snow is fine and slushy…not nice!!  I prefer deep, crisp white snow…it sticks to your boots and creaks underfoot…very satisfying!  That is the kind of snow I am dreaming of…as I have been waiting many, many years to build a giant snowman…will my dream come true this year…?  Hmmmm….Thinking

snow.jpg snow day. image by smallbuttons

27 Comments leave one →
  1. Princess permalink
    February 2, 2009 7:41 pm

    Yo Sandi, Beautiful Pic! Well we\’ve had flurries all day & more snow this eve, no work 4 me 2moz the council has decreed all schools in out area will be closed! a Day off 4 me then! Supposed 2 have a loada snow 2nite-YIPPEE! Hope u have a Fab evening! Luv PF XXX

  2. Rosie permalink
    February 2, 2009 8:02 pm

    Deep snow? Not bloody likely! :p x x

  3. LABW permalink
    February 2, 2009 8:09 pm

    Hi ther Sandi..snow..not quite deep crisp and even..but I must admit I like it. I took some pic\’s of my garden when I got home and had a snow fight with Axel ..( I won…he just mooched off covered in snow ).What about a blog type snowman competion (Take a pic and post ) or is that a bit childish…runs out like a good \’un rollin\’ an\’ howlin\’…….lol LABW LABW xx

  4. Cornish permalink
    February 2, 2009 8:11 pm

    Our garden looks like a christmas card at the moment and it\’s still falling. The girls have been out and had a snowball fight while I stopped indoors next to Nobby, toasting away and with the lights on outside and off indoors. Perfect. Couldn\’t wish for anything more right now. Have a great evening and stay safe and warm. xx

  5. Sandi permalink
    February 2, 2009 8:23 pm

    Our snow has thickened again…looked out a few minutes back and everything is covered with white again…lovely. If this carries on, the whole country will be covered by a blanket of beautiful white stuff!I don\’t mind getting phone calls telling me not to go into work, but a bit of snow will not stop me getting there! I bet they don\’t close early tomorrow!! The thing is they are thinking about safety, with most of the workforce driving in from remote villages.Poor Axel…he can\’t exactly make snowballs and chuck \’em back at you, now can he …!!!

  6. Princess permalink
    February 2, 2009 9:46 pm

    Yo Sandi! hmmm, it keeps stopping & starting here! Hope it\’s nice n deep 2moz! Hope u have a lovely resta evening! luv PF XXX

  7. Sandi permalink
    February 2, 2009 10:09 pm

    Drat!!! It looks as though it has been raining instead!!! What was nice white and pretty is now looking slushy again…!!!!! Not happy about that at all…!!!!!!!!!

  8. Sandi permalink
    February 3, 2009 11:57 am

    Yes…the snow turned slushy…and froze overnight…!!! I am not happy about it!!! Where\’s the six foot deep snowdrifts…?!!!!The pavements are just ice now, so I will have to be careful…sciatica is really playing up at the moment, so it\’s going to be entertaining…hehehe…!

  9. Sandi permalink
    February 3, 2009 11:58 am

    Oh, yeah…and the sun is shining brightly, not a cloud in the sky…and it\’s -2….brrrrr…!

  10. Sandi permalink
    February 3, 2009 11:59 am

    Now that looks as though I put – 2…instead of -2…tsk…!!

  11. Princess permalink
    February 3, 2009 12:44 pm

    Yo Sandi! Good afters! Just nipped 2 the local shop & it was soooo icy, I musta looked like Todd on Dancing on Ice! Sun is out here 2, but it\’s freezing! Hope u have a lovely day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  12. Cornish permalink
    February 3, 2009 1:09 pm

    Just had another shower. Teehee. xx

  13. Sandi permalink
    February 3, 2009 8:07 pm

    OK Rachel…you\’ve got all the best snow…I get the picture!! Now I\’s gonna sulk…!!! Ours has been melting and freezing into ice that is difficult to see at this time of night….I slid and slipped my way home…got here in one piece!!!

  14. Cornish permalink
    February 4, 2009 9:02 am

    Glad you\’re still ok and not hurt by all that slipping. Tipping it down with rain here today. The roads are all clear now but the pavements are still lethal. I\’m assuming the girls got to school in one piece as I haven\’t heard anything. Can\’t help worrying about them though. It\’ll all be gone soon here as it\’s defrosting really quickly. It was nice to see and I enjoyed it immensely. Take care Sandi and be careful out there. xx

  15. Sandi permalink
    February 4, 2009 10:45 am

    We still have snow, on roofs and in gardens and places not walked by people and animals…though it it now quite frozen! When the snow turned to sleet it just melted most of it, and since then the temperatures have stayed below zero…even though we had sun all day yesterday, and it looks like the same again for today.

  16. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2009 1:23 pm

    Well, so far the snow falls…melts…freezes…leaving pavements in a lethal state! Black ice is everywhere, and the emergency services are stretched to the limit. Yet more snow is forecast for the next few days, but I don\’t mind…I\’m not going anywhere over the weekend! Still not enough snow for a giant snowman…will have to re-think my strategy. Hmmm…mini snowman…? Nah! Snowcat? Snowshoe? I must come up with something…!!!

  17. commander permalink
    February 6, 2009 1:46 pm

    dick

  18. Cornish permalink
    February 6, 2009 2:34 pm

    Mini snowman. At least then you\’ll have done one. Take care Sandi. xx

  19. Rosie permalink
    February 6, 2009 3:32 pm

    On the One Show yesterday they were showing pictures of peoples snow creations – there was a snow pony, snow dog (which was cute) but the snow tiger was very impressive – go take a look on iPlayer – I\’d\’ve been proud to say I did it – but I didn\’t…

  20. Natalia permalink
    February 6, 2009 6:32 pm

    The problem with it sticking to your boots and cracks is………. It results in puddles afterward if you\’re not careful. Why would you want snow impacted in your cracks anyway?? Brrrrr! :op ;o) xx

  21. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2009 7:37 pm

    I was just wondering that, too…snow impacted in cracks…nasty…LOL!!Hmm…a snow pe…yes..ahem…another good idea from Robin…thank you!! Erected on the wall….it will be the first thing the troll sees when she looks out of the window….hahahahaha!!!!!A snow tiger…sounds lovely…will have to have a look…!

  22. Princess permalink
    February 6, 2009 7:45 pm

    Yo Sandi! Good Evening! All that we have left my end is sheet ice, I have been skating along many pavements 2day, doing big circles with my arms 2 try & keep upright! Hope u have a Fab Eevning, am having chinky 2nite! Hehehehe, Luv PF XXX

  23. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2009 7:56 pm

    TGIF is what I say!!! I think a lot of people have been \’walking\’ like that…why don\’t the council grit pavements any more? (I knew someone who slipped on the ice and smashed his head on the pavement…I\’m afraid he died of his injuries! He couldn\’t sue…but his family could have!!)Have a brilliant weekend, all…and stay warm and cosy…!

  24. Princess permalink
    February 6, 2009 8:00 pm

    Well according 2 the news, there is a national shortage of salt rock 2 grit with! It deffo needs srting tho, we have more snow predicted 4 Sun! Hope u stay warm & safe, Luv PF XXX

  25. Natalia permalink
    February 6, 2009 8:03 pm

    Whoo, Hoo!! Sandi, That wouldn\’t certainly make her eys fly open, especially if she sat on it…. Ermmm No, must behave!! Think I\’ll go and go and give a Crumpet a good toasting now. :op xx

  26. commander permalink
    February 6, 2009 8:26 pm

    Well it would pack her crack !i\’ll er ….go now shall i …seems best .

  27. Sandi permalink
    February 6, 2009 8:29 pm

    ROFLMAO…!!!!!!!!

Leave a Reply

