Skip to content

Time For A Change!

February 11, 2009
It has been too long since I last had my hair done, so this week I decided it was time…time for a change!  So I booked in with my usual hairdresser, Adele, and decided to go for something a bit more up-to-date.  As my hair is still a bit short for the style, Adele cut it so that next time it can be shaped some more…my usual style is short layers all over, but I have had my hair like this for some years and don’t want to get stuck in a time-warp (which is just sooooo aging!!!)
 
The bob is the thing at the moment, in all it’s various guises, so this is what I have opted for…though I think it’s going to take some time to get used to having floppy hair…you never know, I might decide to go back to my old style next time, because it’s getting on my nerves.  We shall just have to wait and see how I get on with it!! 
 
Photographic Evidence will be posted in due course, Princess Frogget…I promise!!  The reason for the new look is that next week we are going down to Kent for my old school friend, Barbara’s birthday bash…and we will be staying with another old school friend…and I have seen neither for over thirty years!  Gotta look my best!!  OMG…what AM I going to wear?!!!!!
 
Another reason for the change is the fact that since I put on the weight, due to thyroid medication, I have felt fat and frumpy instead of slim and sassy…and it has really been getting me down!  I’ve lost a bit of the weight, but have stopped…and nothing I do seems to shift it!  I want so much to be able to wear my nice clothes again, instead of wearing out the same old tat…I really can’t afford any new clothes (until I can get another job) so have to resort to rummaging around in the charity shops.  (No, I will NOT go to Primark!!)  I have found some real bargains for rock-bottom prices…like a designer silk dress (just before the weight went on…grrrr!!!!), a lovely green silk shirt, jeans that fit in all the right places…and now I need something for Barb’s party.  Have I had any luck so far…?!!  Not a sausage!! 
 
OMG…what AM I going to wear…?!!!!!  Don’t panic…!!!  Surprised
14 Comments leave one →
  1. Kayley and Phil permalink
    February 11, 2009 5:25 pm

    "It\’s just a jump to the left"…and a step to the right. But seriously we cant wait to see the new look…….its going to be sexy for sure (you go girl!)

  2. Princess permalink
    February 11, 2009 6:30 pm

    Yo Sandi! Oooh can\’t wait 2 see the pic evid!! Aaaw I bet u\’ll look fab in wotever u wear! Hope u have a Fab Evening! Luv PF XXX

  3. Mike permalink
    February 11, 2009 7:24 pm

    Hmm i remember asking my hairdresser friend Michelle for a new style……after she\’d finished rolling around on the floor in fits of laughter she did manage to say "with what?"……despite the hurt we\’re still friends! 🙂 xxx

  4. Sandi permalink
    February 11, 2009 8:07 pm

    LOL! Would that be…um…follicley challenged, Mike…?!! Aw, bless…!Er…me…sexy…?! Get away!!! See pic of the \’party pooped\’ in the album of Karen\’s fiftieth birthday Do!!Um…I have just remembered that I used to take pics with the webcam…but how the heck did I do that…?!!!

  5. Cornish permalink
    February 12, 2009 12:37 pm

    Looking forward to seeing the sexy new goddess too. I think Mike\’s hairdresser was laughing because he wanted a mohican! They are so not it any more!!!! And after fifteen months of no hairdresser I\’ve finally found a style that I like too. Now the difficult job of finding a new hairdresser to do it.You can sometimes find amazing things in charity shops, just never at the time you need them. I\’m sure that whatever you find, you\’ll look stunning in. xx

  6. Bran permalink
    February 12, 2009 4:08 pm

    Dressing up to go to Kent Sandi, don\’t know what part you are going to, but from memory most of Kent is a fashion wilderness —————- after all didn\’t Chatham spawn "Chav\’s"? Though if your going to somewhere like Tonbridge Wells I suppose that\’s different all together.

  7. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2009 8:54 pm

    Hmmm…I thought chavs came from Essex….whatever. I\’m actually going to Maidstone, as Anne has lived there for years, and Barbara has only been there a couple of years.As for sexy new godess…forget it!! I still feel fat and frumpy…and don\’t like my hair…it\’s still a pain!! I feel I have wasted money when I can ill afford to do so! If I had the money, I would go back and say chop it all off!!!! It\’s irritating the heck out of me…grrrrrrr!!!!!!!!!!!!

  8. Rosie permalink
    February 12, 2009 9:28 pm

    Does your webcam have a button on it – I\’m always taking pics with the cam when I don\’t mean to because the button is placed where I would naturally grab it to adjust! My hair irritated me a bit when I first had my fringe put back in after 15 years or so but I kinda like the way my hair flops when I\’m bopping away at work ;o)

  9. Sandi permalink
    February 12, 2009 9:55 pm

    Yes, my webcam does have a button on it but I don\’t take pics accidentally…thinking about it, I think I have to go to the main menu and select webcam to turn it on…right, be back in a min…

  10. Bran permalink
    February 12, 2009 11:15 pm

    Chatham "Chav\’s" thats what the were called when I was at boarding school in Kent mega years before "Chav" culture. Apparently the epicentre of "Chavdom", is one of the council estates in Chatham and they called themselves "Chavey\’s" at first.I like Maidstone though used to like going to the cattle market there years ago!

  11. Sandi permalink
    February 13, 2009 12:30 pm

    Oh…you learn something new every day. I come from Kent and didn\’t even know that! Dartford, actually. Nowadays, Chav is a name that covers a multitude of sins…literally! We tend to lump the sponging-classes who start breeding from an early age into this little \’box\’…you hear them coming down the street before you see them!! They usually wear grubby sports gear and trainers, though the only exercise they do is lifting a pint or rolling their fags…and shaggin\’…! Then they have to be seen with their Staffie-type dogs with big studded collars (poor little things!! The dogs…not the collars…!!!!)Yes, we have these people in Lincoln, too…but this place is way behind the times!! Not so bad now that we have a growing university…oh…I\’m waffling again…;-D

  12. Bran permalink
    February 13, 2009 1:22 pm

    "Chavie" is the old gypsy name equivalent to "Bloke" —- in a sentence "go and see that "chavie" over there —– Lots of settled gypsy families on one particular "sink" estate in Chatham and your description of the chav fits most of the youngsters there! You wouldn\’t know Dartford from when you lived there, last time I was there (about ten years ago) it had radically changed in the 18 months since I had been there before on business. Certainly glad that I seldom ever go out Cornwall now and will never go to the southeast again!

  13. Natalia permalink
    February 13, 2009 1:29 pm

    "(No, I will NOT go to Primark!!)" This Remark made me laugh out loud. Whilst the prices are competative, the quality of the merchandise is questionable. Also I question how the items were produced in the first place. We hear that "sweat shops" still exist often employing child labour for a few pence and hour. Like you, Sandi far better to put your money into a worthy cause than support another Non ethical profit making corporation. Hope you make a find soon and you have a good time at Barbra\’s birthday. :o) xx

  14. Sandi permalink
    February 13, 2009 3:12 pm

    Exactly…although buying from a charity shop, you cannot often tell where clothes came from…unless you know your labels, and their ethics. My favouites shope are Cancer Research and British Heart Foundation, as these will not take damaged or soiled goods, and are very fussy about their stock…though I have got decent stuff from the other shops in town, too.Primark is very cheap, but as yu rightly point out…the quality is questionable. I cannot afford to buy clothes that will only be good for a couple of outings…fine for young \’un\’s who change their wardrobes with such rapidity it leaves me breathless!! Was I like that once…? I doubt it!I remember Dartford as a quiet little town with a nice park…to be honest, it\’s been so long since I\’ve been anywhere near Kent that I doubt I\’d recognise anything at all! A lot can change in thirty years!!!

Leave a Reply

