Skip to content

All Friends Are REAL Friends!

February 18, 2009
This week is half-term, and while the little darlings are home, they have first use of the family computers…also, I know that a lot of you will be out and about keeping said little darlings amused.  Result…bloody quiet on here!!!
 
Anyway, according to Janet Street-Porter in her newspaper article the other week, those of us who sit at our computers ‘chatting’ to our online friends (because we don’t have any ‘real friends’!) are just ‘very sad people’.  She, on the other hand, has never been part of an online community, and never wants to be, either…because she has got REAL friends!!!
 
How can this woman comment on something if she hasn’t tried it?  And who is she to judge others and make assumtions about their lives…?!!  (Oh, dear…soap box is out again!!!)  How can she spout on about people blogging about ‘their boring lives’…do we really want to hear about her’s?  Not really!  I didn’t finish reading the article…a few paragraphs were more than enough!
 
If someone blogged about what they had for breakfast, that they decided to wear their blue T-shirt today…that is boring, and no one would want to read about it!  But most people on here have got real friends, they go places, they have things to say that are interesting and are worth commenting on. 
 
Another thing…my friends on here are REAL friends!!  What tosh the woman spouts about it being impossible to make friends online because making friends is about face-to-face interaction, about seeing facial expressions and body language.  Yes, I agree that some people do try to be who they are not, to deceive…but they are soon found out…they cannot keep up a pretence for long.
 
So, if I am a sad git for having online friends…as well as ‘real’ friends…then I’m guilty as charged.  Do I care for the opinions of a jumped-up, self-opinionated freak…?  Nah!!  Online friendships are just as important as face-to-face friendships…they are just the modern equivalent of having pen-friends…and it’s wonderful to make friends from all over the world.  Ain’t technology brilliant…!!!
13 Comments leave one →
  1. commander permalink
    February 18, 2009 12:14 pm

    i could write an essay and shoot the small minded bigot down in flames but i can\’t be sked .One because she is spouting obvious rubbish which is naive and stupid in the extreme and secondly i don\’t give fuk what she thinks cus she is a nobody and living in a bubble of her own an accusing every one one else of being dim .Sad woman closed mind generalising and putting every one on the internet down as a sad lonely geek .Ha silly cow.

  2. Sandi permalink
    February 18, 2009 12:33 pm

    My point exactly, my dear. I really don\’t know why I waited until now to have a wee rant about it…maybe I wasn\’t in the mood then…?!The woman has made herself look small and ignorant…but she probably doesn\’t give a shit, because that is how she is anyway! Can someone enlighten me here…just WHY is she \’famous\’…?!!!

  3. commander permalink
    February 18, 2009 12:39 pm

    Has been news paper editor became a tv \’pundit\’ on the basis of her deformed teeth and awful put on essex accent every one laughs at her and she gets paid to be a figure of ridicule .Well i suppose even a talentless freak has to earn a living .

  4. Bran permalink
    February 18, 2009 5:10 pm

    Janet Teeth-Porter; has to find something to write about to earn her money, shame she didn\’t research her article a bit better but what do you expect from such a purulent journalist like her! Obviously if she can cause offence to people with an article like this and the story can run and run —–just lazy journalism realty!

  5. Sandi permalink
    February 18, 2009 6:08 pm

    The paper must have been desperate for copy on that particular day, then! (Surely articles like that are more welcome in the gutter press than papers like the Daily Mail…?!!)

  6. Cornish permalink
    February 18, 2009 7:59 pm

    I\’m keeping my little darlings amused all right. Darned things are wearing me out!Ms Porter obviously never heard of \’Don\’t knock it till you\’ve tried it.\’ Blinking woman. Don\’t let her get you mad like this Sandi, it\’s a waste of energy. I reckon she\’s just jealous and has zero friends really. Hugs. xx

  7. commander permalink
    February 18, 2009 8:50 pm

    our opinions of the daily mail obviously differ lol.

  8. Kayley and Phil permalink
    February 18, 2009 9:33 pm

    Friends…a person you know well and regard with affection and trust; ally: an associate who provides cooperation or assistance; acquaintance: a person with whom you are acquainted; Thats what google says a friend is…no mention on whether they are an online friend or a" real "one.Personally we concider them all the same.

  9. Mike permalink
    February 18, 2009 11:02 pm

    Janet Street-Porter is a self important idiot, as for the Daily Mail, always reminds me ofjunior school and the coarse toilet paper they inflicted upon us there! Yeah, i\’m not a bigfan of that particular publication! 🙂 xxx

  10. Sandi permalink
    February 19, 2009 3:55 pm

    Don\’t know why I left it until now to have a little rant…I was probably just in that kind of mood, and that\’s what came out of it…?!!When I go to House of Fraser\’s Cafe Zest for a cuppa, there are always newspapers for our perusal…I usually pick up the Times because I want to read some NEWS…or the Mail because they have other interesting articles on lifestyles and fashion etc., as well as news…but I don\’t like the Express or any of the others…! (You will never, ever, see items like Sun, Star or Sport there…thank goodness…utter drivel!! You know what they say…Garbage In, Garbage Out!! Or G.I.G.O. for short!)

  11. Natalia permalink
    February 20, 2009 3:12 pm

    Yes Ms Porter is extremely opinionated to the point of sometimes offensive Sandi. With regard to her comments about online communities, I feel perhaps she shouldn\’t be judgemental and comments stem from her own observations of her lifestyle. I believe her column is provocative but that is why she has the post, for as we know all of this helps to sell papers. I have my own set of freinds and they include my online friends, each one has thier own merit and set of emotions and needs. In my daily life I mindful of them often. When you Sandi, write about certain aspects/topics it prompts me to think and respond accordingly. Do I find you boring??? Most certainly not……….! Amongst other things that is why you are my friend. :o) xxx(whispers quietly…. Leather boots ;o) ) xxx

  12. Sandi permalink
    February 20, 2009 7:10 pm

    Don\’t forget the corsets and handcuffs…LOL!!! OK, I haven\’t got the corset yet…but I will…one day…!!!In the meantime, I will have to be happy with the Regency short stays that I have just started making…! Well, it\’s a start, isn\’t it…!!!

  13. Kenneth permalink
    February 20, 2009 10:33 pm

    Hello Sandi. Just popped in from Nat\’s place. Can not help but respond to your post.Yes, it is brilliant !!!………and more to come.

Leave a Reply

