Skip to content

Maidstone Here We Come…!!!

February 22, 2009

Our journey home, today, took us just over three hours…with half-an-hour stop at services just north of Cambridge for a quick snack and the loo.  The roads were clear, and there were no hold-ups (traffic…not stockings…!!) and we even sailed through the toll-booth and tunnel at Dartford (meaning we were quick…not that the tunnel was flooded…!!!)

 

The journey down was a different kettle of fish…we took the A1, and were going to turn off, but the junction we wanted was closed due to an accident (?), so we had to carry on until we hit the London Orbital Car Park (M25 to you!)

 

All of a sudden, the traffic slowed, and then came to a stop somewhere near Welwyn.  After a while, we noticed that quite a few vehicles in front were pulling out and taking a slip road.  I asked Robert where that led to, he didn’t know, but we also pulled out and headed up it too.

 

At least we were moving, and heading in the right direction…but before we got on to the M25, we had come to a standstill again!  I don’t remember what it was this time, but once we did get on to the M25 we found the traffic moving freely.  Oh, goody!!

 

Well, that was until we joined the queue for the Queen Elizabeth II Bridge over the Thames.  Ah…my first glimpse of the Thames for thirty years!!  I looked west towards the curve in the river, and told Robert that Erith was just the other side of it. 

 

How strange the area looked from up there…almost like looking down at a model village…and it all looked so flat!!  Of course we were looking towards Erith Marshes and Slade Green.

 

Anyway, toll finally paid, we carried on to the Darenth Interchange where we turned onto the A2, M2 then A229 into Maidstone.  Robert had studied the map, so knew where we were heading…only he hadn’t taken into account all the one-way systems…so, after a couple of laps of the town centre, I called Anne and she directed us to her house, where she was standing outside waving her arms in the air.

 

Oi!!  You lot…WAKE UP!!!!  It’s alright…I’ve finished….for now…Wink

 

Have a nice relaxing evening…XXX

 

 

13 Comments leave one →
  1. commander permalink
    February 22, 2009 9:24 pm

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  2. Sandi permalink
    February 22, 2009 9:26 pm

    ROFLMAO…!!! I have been following our route on Google Maps (Satellite) and as I followed the A2, heading east….there are a couple of places that had me in fits (take note, Rosie) The first place I saw was…Thong…LOL!!! OK…the second place is not so funny…Chalk…which stands to reason, really, as there are some pretty cool chalk cliffs along the way…!!

  3. Sandi permalink
    February 22, 2009 9:30 pm

    I said WAKE UP!! I\’ve finished…it\’s OK…you can relax, now…wanna cuppa and some biccies…?

  4. Natalia permalink
    February 22, 2009 9:46 pm

    Relaxing Evening Sandi……… Tis more like a Riot Dear lady. :oD xx

  5. Sandi permalink
    February 22, 2009 10:18 pm

    Good, innit…?! I like riots…!! LOL!!

  6. Cornish permalink
    February 23, 2009 9:12 am

    Glad you\’re home safe and sound. None of those places mean anything to me. I\’ve not left Cornwall for fifteen years.We can beat the Thong name. There\’s a place not so far away called Skinner\’s Bottom. No idea where the name came from. There are other funny names but it\’s too early to remember them at the moment. Take care and have a great day. xx

  7. Sandi permalink
    February 23, 2009 2:02 pm

    Skinner\’s Bottom…I like that one…LOL!!! There are some fabulous place names around…but Thong reminds me of that e-mail I received about how to wear a thong…and how not to wear a thong…!!!

  8. Kenneth permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:06 pm

    Thank you for the wise words you left me. I don\’t think you are as "mad" as you suggest you are.There exists a little village on the coast near me, it is named "Boggle Hole" Earl Grey please in a China cup 🙂

  9. Natalia permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:15 pm

    Tell you what if you shoved a Wild Board sausage in that there hole, it\’s certainly make someone Boggle……. :op

  10. Sandi permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:46 pm

    I know Boggle Hole…is it in N. Yorkshire? I remember that my sis went there years ago! Ha…I\’ve just found a Boghole…in Scotland…ROFLMAO!!!!!Did you know, that it\’s hard work being mad…sometimes I can\’t be bothered…hence the depressingly serious side…!Ooooh! Natalia!!! Skinners Bottoms and Boggle Holes…and wild boar sausages…the mind boggles…LOL!!!

  11. Sandi permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:53 pm

    Ah…a cup of Earl Grey…lovely! Anyone else for a cuppa…?

Leave a Reply

