Skip to content

Party On, Dudes…!!!

February 23, 2009

Oh, I almost forgot…about telling you all about our weekend or you will probably be thinking that we just travelled down to Maidstone, did a couple of laps of the town and came home again…!!

 

We arrived at Anne and Justin’s…late afternoon…and shortly afterwards Justin decided to go to the pub, so Robert went with him…giving me and Anne chin-wag time.

 

After a bite to eat, we all went along to the club, where they had a horse racing thingy…and Justin kept picking the wrong horses.  I only picked one horse…and it lost!  Ne’mind…!

 

Next morning, we decided to take a walk into Maidstone…it was a beautiful day!  Anne had told us about the museum, so I just had to go along.  The museum is housed in Chillington Manor, built in 1562 for Philip Barham a local MP…and it’s huge!  Galleries and stairs and wings off this way and that…it is definitely a fabulous building.

 

http://www.museum.maidstone.gov.uk/index.asp

 

While in town we had a bite to eat then headed back to base…where Anne had cooked us dinner…!!  We managed it…and ice cream afterwards…don’t ask me how!

 

Party time…we got ready, and Anne drove us down to the pub…The Royal Albion, opposite the museum.  It’s a lovely little timber-framed building that has been opened up inside, but they have left the timber-frames in place (worm-holes and all!)

 

I recognised Barbara straight away…she hasn’t changed one little bit…and she’s still as nutty as I remember!!  We didn’t think that we would stop there very long, but we did.  I don’t know how much she’d had to drink, but she was telling everyone that I was an old school friend…even though she’d already told them several times.  Ah, bless…!  (If the scanner was connected, I would add Barbara and Paul’s wedding pics…and you would be able to spot me a mile off…wearing red satin trousers and a white jacket!!  I still have that jacket!!!)

 

When we arrived there was a Blues Brothers tribute playing.  When they left…the karaoke began…so we didn’t stop long after that!!  As it was such a lovely evening, we walked back.

 

Yes, we had a brilliant weekend, and Anne said that as we’d had last week off, we should have gone down earlier.  We would have liked to, but we didn’t really want to impose this time, but maybe another time, when we have more money, and more attractions are open…(there was a carriage museum, but it was closed…!!!)

 

Sorry for boring you again…it just goes to show that this was the highlight of the year, so far…!!!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. commander permalink
    February 23, 2009 2:02 pm

    im not borezzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz. lol.

  2. Sandi permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:01 pm

    Charming…!!

  3. Princess permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:05 pm

    Oh Poo! U didna do Karaoke?! We cuda had some Fab phot evid there!! Hope u have a Fab Evening! Luv PF XXX!

  4. Sandi permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:09 pm

    Hmmm…peace and quiet…and I have no idea what\’s on TV…so I won\’t bother…!

  5. Natalia permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:12 pm

    My vote is we go and infest his Cat Basket with Fleas, that\’ll keep the blighter awake, However I can\’t garuantee that he\’ll take more notice. :o) Yes, it sounded really good weekend break. I\’m happy for you Sandi. :o) xx

  6. Mike permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:17 pm

    Ooh, karaoke…..i do some appalling versions of Barry White hits….well at leastit means i can get to the bar easier because the place empties! lol xxx

  7. Cornish permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:25 pm

    Couldn\’t you break into the carriage museum for a gander? Sounds like you had a really good weekend Sandi. Buttons and holes are now done so it\’s just the hems, and the three layers are all together on the stays. I\’m getting there slowly. Saw a wonderful colour in silk yesterday that would make a fantastic dress. Cheap too which makes it all the better. It\’s still in the shop …………… for now. Have a great evening. xx

  8. Kenneth permalink
    February 23, 2009 8:49 pm

    I like Museums, at my age I should be exhibited in one. The old fossil section.Chilington manor looks impresive.

  9. Sandi permalink
    February 23, 2009 10:19 pm

    LOL!! When I worked at The Museum of Lincolnshire Life someone jokingly referred to me as a \’museum piece\’…that was in my younger days…best job I ever had…(sigh)The place is impressive…I\’d love to go back and spend more time…looking at the architecture as well as the exhibits…I\’d even love to work there…!! (They have a ghost of a grey lady on one of the stair cases…and when people use the photocopier in their private library, aparently, they get pennies thrown at them…spooky!)If I broke into the carriage museum, I\’d have been the only one there…no hordes of school kids…lovely! (I want to get on with my stays, but the moment has passed, again…I\’m now in a reading mood!)Mike…the very reason I hate karaoke…!!!Natalia…I nearly gave him a boot to the bonce to wake him and tell him to go sleep in his own space…but thought better of it. I\’m not that rotten…(or am I…?)

  10. Kayley and Phil permalink
    February 24, 2009 8:11 am

    It sounds like someone had a good weekend. nice one sandi xxxxxxxxxx

  11. Sandi permalink
    February 24, 2009 8:49 pm

    It was a good weekend…but the last week just went so quick…I don\’t even feel as though I\’ve had any time off! Yesterday, I was soooo depressed as it got nearer to the time to go to work…I really don\’t want to work there any more, but what else is there at the moment…?! Not a lot, actually!!

  12. Princess permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:30 am

    Yo Sandi! Glad u had a good time. Hope work wasn\’t 2 bad yest! U have urself a Great day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  13. Sandi permalink
    February 25, 2009 11:32 am

    Now we work for a different company, I have to actually add up everyone\’s hours from the timesheets and e-mail them to the office. What a nightmare…for me, least, as maths is not my strong point…our hours are straight forward, it\’s Dave who is there all day who signs in and out at all kinds of odd hours and minutes…!! I complained abouit, and he\’s stopped doing the odd minutes and just rounded them up to the nearest five…so now he puts times like 4.45 or 4.50 instead of 4.47, etc…!!!Well, I had that to deal with on Monday…he\’s a total pain! hy can\’t he start and finish on the hour or half hour!!!

  14. Cornish permalink
    February 25, 2009 11:55 am

    Slap him Sandi!!! Tell him whos the boss. xx

  15. Sandi permalink
    February 25, 2009 12:44 pm

    But I\’m not his boss. I am just the supervisor of the cleaners…not the…just what IS his job title, exactly…?!!! Grrr…now I just feel like slapping him anyway…just for the hell of it…hahaha!!!!

Leave a Reply

