Skip to content

Curse Of The Trolls

February 25, 2009

The troll is playing with her hammer again!!!  The constant noise from the flat downstairs is really getting to everyone else, now…not just us! 

 

Glynis has had enough, as she is right underneath it all, and today, Robert lost his cool, jumped out of bed, grabbed the broom, and thumped on the floor with the handle…I thought it was going to break!  As he works nights, he has been trying to sleep, and as you would expect, has been kept awake by the racket. 

 

The ‘noisy’ neighbours were evicted last August, and the hammering has been going on since then.  Both Glynis and I are convinced that there can’t be anything else left to hammer at in that flat…!

 

Robert pulled on some clothes and stormed down there to ask her to keep the noise down.  She’s actually re-laying new flooring throughout the entire flat…but that does not entail constantly hammering on the walls, surely….because that is what it sounds like all the time!!  Glynis has also had new flooring laid, and we never heard a thing…and it was all done inside of a few days…work that one out!!

 

She stopped for a while, but is at it again…and I hope that Robert was able to fall asleep during the quiet period!  What I want to know is…when she’s finally finished laying this flooring, is she going to rip it all up and start again…?!!!  Because, apart from the months when the flat was let, she has been DIY-ing…and the trolls moved in there in 2000…!!!  That’s a heck of a lot of hammering!!!!

 

Just one more thing, before I finish….we found out that Anne and Justin have got their own troll living next door to them!!!  He began hammering while we were there, and Anne rolled her eyes heaven-ward and said that it’s been going on for months…he’s been building an extension and knocking bricks out one-by-one rather than just giving it some welly and getting the job done in one go!!  It seems there is no escaping from the curse of the trolls…!!!!

 

trolls Pictures, Images and Photos

16 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    February 25, 2009 2:47 pm

    Does you neighbourhood have a troll problem? Do they come out at night…or day? Are these just isolated incidences, or is this turning into a major infestation?Tell us your troll stories, so that we can build up a map of the troll hotspots…………

  2. Cornish permalink
    February 25, 2009 3:05 pm

    I\’m the only troll down here. I look like the one on the left with the skulls. Thankfully I\’m quiet so I don\’t annoy the neighbours too much. It\’s just when I leave the house that the parents grab their kids and take them inside, shutting the curtains as they go.Seriously Sandi, I really wish there was something I could do. I hate it when a car goes past with their music blaring (which I do admit to doing sometimes so have no real right to complain), so I\’d hate to have to live with what you do. Big hugs (give one to Robert for me too).So sorry, only one pin in the map and that\’s for me. xx

  3. Mike permalink
    February 25, 2009 7:28 pm

    No real troll problem over here either! A young couple did buy the house next door a couple of years back, gutted it, put in a dividing wall and completely redecorated it…..but the noise wasn\’t too bad at all, mainly because it was done by professionals, hence lots and lots of tea breaks! lolAs i said when you originally had problems, all of those affected should get in touch with the local environmental health authority, they can demand to see what she\’s doing and curb the hours that she\’s doing it! xxx

  4. Sandi permalink
    February 25, 2009 8:00 pm

    She told Robert that she works odd shifts, too, so has to fit it in when she can…yeah, which means most days…!!! She doesn\’t hammer every day…thank goodness! It\’s just that when she does it\’s very annoying!!Like I said, Glynis has had ew flooring put in, too…she\’s not hammering day and night…!!

  5. Bran permalink
    February 25, 2009 8:31 pm

    Cornish Maid fancy saying you look like a troll, I found you were very attractive when I met you recently, and certainly a lot younger than your blog picture suggested!

  6. Rosie permalink
    February 25, 2009 9:15 pm

    No trolls this way Sandi – but then I got houses either side of me – the flats are further up the street… mind you the flat oposite has been known for holding parties until late on in the night and have had people from houses 4 or 5 down on my side complain about them before – nothing recently thank goodness…Got toothache at the moment… think I need to take something for it :/

  7. Cornish permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:10 am

    Trollop then Bran.Morning Sandi. Send her down a mine somewhere. With all that hammering they could do with her help!Hope she\’s better today and you can get some peace and Robert some sleep. xx

  8. Cornish permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:11 am

    Hehe, I just thought; trolls like mines. I have found her calling in life. Now all we\’ve got to do is get her there.

  9. Bob permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:09 am

    Unfortunately, in this modern age, people can just draw their curtains to keep the light out – they don\’t have to live in caves any more! They\’re like rats – you\’re never more than 20 feet from one…Oh, I did get some sleep, thanks. I reckon the come-down from the adrenalin rush when I went downstairs must have taken it all out of me…

  10. Sandi permalink
    February 26, 2009 10:45 am

    So far so good…peace and quiet…the hum of the drier, birds trilling, and the low noise of traffic (brilliant since they smoothed the road outside the flats…no more trucks and lorries hitting the pot-holes and making an almighty racket…!!) All we need now is some sunshine…(sigh)

  11. Sandi permalink
    February 26, 2009 2:26 pm

    Still peace and quiet…lovely…aaaaah…!

  12. Rosie permalink
    February 26, 2009 9:43 pm

    Oh dear – I live mainly in my bedroom and keep my curtains drawn for convience more than anything (ok I\’m lazy, and I\’m worried the curtain pole will fall down if I\’m rought with it – bite me!)… does that make me a modern day troll then? Sure hope not!

  13. Sandi permalink
    February 27, 2009 9:56 am

    Nah! Her downstairs got called a troll because she looks as though her knuckles should be scraping on the ground (she looks like a bloke)…and she\’s always hammering (thumping things).Another thing….no taste! Orange varnished pine everywhere (ceilings), dark blue tiles in the kitchen….and all the windows covered in (crooked) fake stick-on lead….bleargh…!!!Ooops! Listen to me being catty…miaowww…

  14. Sandi permalink
    February 27, 2009 7:38 pm

    She was at it again, this afternoon…unless that was Rachel stomping about in her thigh-high black leather dominatrix troll boots…?!!!

  15. Cornish permalink
    February 27, 2009 8:45 pm

    It wer me. I\’ve lost my whip now and was looking for it. I don\’t suppose you\’ve borrowed it without telling me again? You really must ask next time Sandi. Have a great weekend. xx

  16. Sandi permalink
    February 27, 2009 9:03 pm

    Or get me own whip…I know…!

Leave a Reply

