Skip to content

Sunbonnets And Stuff

March 4, 2009

Well, here I am…re-writing my blasted blog because I successfully added this darned picture…!  Picture added…blog vanished…! 

 

Anyway, sunbonnets and stuff…I have found my bonnet box and brought it down from the loft.  The Lincolnshire Show supplement was in there, hence the scanned pics that I’ve added to this and the album.  The bonnets are all in the process of being hand-washed due to smelling musty…!

 

When I first started making sunbonnets, some-one suggesed I research other regions, as I’d been told about the North Yorkshire ‘Staithes’ bonnets that opened out flat…so that was the first one I studied at Whitby Museaum.  When I got home, I made one for my display.  In due course, I visited other museums to research East Anglian, Yorkshire, and canal-women’s bonnets, and making copies to add to my display.

 

In 1988, I was contacted by Thames Telivision and asked if I could make about a dozen bonnets for the TV series Hannay.  The episode, entitled That Rough Music, was set in the King’s Lynn area, so I was sent a bundle of fabrics, and set to work.  Before sending the finished bonnets, I took photos of them…but I’m NOT going to try and add one here, because this might all vanish again!!

 

Since I had the urge to make another sunbonnet, the other day, I seem to have been stopped in my tracks every time I want to get on with sewing…first, the piping-cord vanished, and I still haven’t found it!  Then, I was about to sit down when Robert got up wanting milk, so I had to go to the shop (had to get gas and electric as well) which put paid to that.  Last night Robert was chalking for the ladies darts team, so I went to the pub from work, and by the time I got home I wasn’t feeling too good, so I went to bed.  And today…I have finished ironing the ladies cotton combinations, ready to be drawn and measured, then I’ve been rinsing the bonnets…and writing this…!

 

Almost time to go and get ready to go into town…ho hum…!!!  Maybe this evening…eh…?!!

31 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    March 4, 2009 2:46 pm

    Well. I would be a mad sewing woman if I could find the darned piping cord! I was sitting on the sofa, last night, watching CSI as I was unwinding it….and now it has completely vanished…!!!I can\’t find it anywhere…what is going on…?!!!!

  2. Poppy permalink
    March 4, 2009 3:34 pm

    Good luck with your sunbonnet Sandi, hope we can see a picture when you have done it, oh and I hope you find the piping cord…..xxx

  3. Mike permalink
    March 4, 2009 4:50 pm

    Aww….well i was the mad threading man last week! 🙂 xxx

  4. Sandi permalink
    March 4, 2009 8:04 pm

    There are some photos of sunbonnets in the album \’Sunbonnets\’…including N. Yorkshire, which I\’m making now (or will be hen I find the dratted piping cord!…and the E. Anglian one which is made in a similar way, only it\’s bigger.And I lied about the apron…I found the newspaper supplement for the 100th Lincolnshire Show (1983)…and I wasn\’t wearing the apron then…my memory is going…!!

  5. LABW permalink
    March 4, 2009 9:13 pm

    Sunbonnets…are you mad woman……LOL..we\’ve had snow here today..well it\’s heading for Easter…All together now…"In your Easter bonnet..with all the frills upon it………….. ) LOL… LABW LABW xx

  6. Sandi permalink
    March 4, 2009 9:56 pm

    You know I\’m mad…LOL!!You\’ve had s-s-snow…brrrr! We\’ve had some lovely sunshine…which is probably why I\’m in the mood for sunbonnets..!…"you\’ll be the grandest lady in the Easter parade…" Think of Easter…and sunshine…and Easter eggs…chocolate…yummy…!!!!Waffle…waffle…!

  7. Sandi permalink
    March 5, 2009 11:15 am

    It\’s blinkin\’ freezing cold and foggy this morning…put that sunshine back…!!!!I still can\’t find the piping cord…it\’s obviously been sucked into another dimension…!!Time to put the kettle on…anyone for a cuppa…?!

  8. Mike permalink
    March 5, 2009 3:33 pm

    Hmm i guess that cuppa is cold now?!!On a day off (yippee!) but doing houshold chores (boo!) but that\’s also becausei\’ve got saturday off (yippee!) and i want it to be completely free (apart from theeasy job of kicking Princess\’s butt at our racing competition!)….Oops better scarper,she\’s bound to be around later! 🙂 xxx

  9. Sandi permalink
    March 5, 2009 9:18 pm

    That one was…stone cold, I mean…well, it was nine hours ago!! Kettle is going on again in a min…got all your…ahem…ch-ch-ch-chor…stuff done, then…?!A yucky morning turned into a beautiful afetrnoon, and I got a pile of sunbonnets washed (musty from being in the loft!) and I\’ve got the scanner connected and working…so…here are the pics from the 100th Lincolnshire Show supplement 1983…actually, they are going in the Sunbonnet album….!!

  10. Mike permalink
    March 5, 2009 9:38 pm

    Well i know i\’m pushing it….but have you got plenty of milk? Fancy a hot chocolatewith ermm…..a tot of brandy chucked in, don\’t worry about biscuits either…i\’m nota keen dunker! Chores done……….time to chill….i\’m pretty good at that! 🙂 xxx

  11. Sandi permalink
    March 5, 2009 9:41 pm

    Plenty of milk…got some this afternoon..er…hold on…!!I\’ve finally managed to get the pic on here…but where the f**k is my blog entry…?!!! Excuse me a min…B*****KS!!!!!!!!!!!!!!Sorry…do you want sprinkles on that…?!

  12. Mike permalink
    March 5, 2009 9:53 pm

    Lol yeah i was kinda wondering where the blog went after i pressed \’add\’……i didn\’t nick it, honest!! No to sprinkles but yes to two sugars, i\’m a sweet guy! 🙂 xxx

  13. Sandi permalink
    March 5, 2009 9:59 pm

    I know you are, sweetie…What did I do wrong…eh? I clicked on Edit…put cursor where I wanted pic…tried to copy and paste…didn\’t work, so clicked Upload Photo…went round in circles a few times doing what they said to do…nothing happened…until the pic finally appeared…and the blog bloody disappeared…grrrrrr!!!!!

  14. Mike permalink
    March 5, 2009 10:15 pm

    Hmm not an expert on this blogging lark, pretty sure when i add a pic to a blog that i use the HTML button rather than copy/paste or upload, mind thats because i use pics from Photobucket rather than ones from any of my albums…..so not alot of help, sorry! Right, that brandy and hot milk is having the desired effect, feeling a bit tired…..hope you find it Sandi! xxx

  15. Sandi permalink
    March 5, 2009 10:30 pm

    Well, I\’ve just scanned the pics to the computer, so that\’s where I get \’em from. It used to be so easy…now they\’ve buggered that up as well!!!!!I\’m not feeling too bright-eyed and bushy-tailed at the moment…eyes are hot and sore and I feel as though I\’m coming down with something…am off to bed…TTFN…

  16. Cornish permalink
    March 6, 2009 9:06 am

    That\’s some lethal weapon you\’re holding in that photo! Looks like you\’re aiming for that chaps foot too.Hope it\’s just that you\’ve been oversewing and not a cold coming. Have a great weekend. xx

  17. Sandi permalink
    March 6, 2009 10:55 am

    Hmmm…that was an idea I hadn\’t thought of at the time…having only just met Kevin. But later….I wasn\’t the only one…!!! (Remember an ad that said: "It\’s so simple, even Kevin can do it…!" Need I say more…?!!!)Can anyone remember what I\’d actually written in this blog…the one that vanished…? I could try re-writing it…perhaps…?I don\’t feel too bad, this morning, Rachel, but I could so easily come down with something at the moment as we\’re not eating properly (no mone for food after bills have been paid…just the basics), so are both feeling a bit run-down. I\’m trying to stick to plenty of whole garins at the moment…wholemeal bread and plenty of cereals…but I need food…FEED ME…!!!!!

  18. Sandi permalink
    March 6, 2009 10:58 am

    The \’lethal weapon\’ is a potato fork…but unlike a gardening fork, the tines are not free…the side bits carry on across the bottom, so in effect you dig up yer taties and sieve \’em…they don\’t get impaled!

  19. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 12:37 am

    OK…time to change the subject, I guess…!Maybe I should change the title of this blog to…A Cure For Insomnia…?!!! LOL!!!

  20. commander permalink
    March 7, 2009 12:45 am

    Shhhhhhhhhhhhhh !!!…..quarter ti one in the morning …..yak yak yak ….! ….opens window shouts "go home …go t bed …" slam !!!

  21. commander permalink
    March 7, 2009 12:46 am

    zzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzzz

  22. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 12:46 am

    Oh, yes…talking of Kevin…I remember that one day he was sent across to the shop to buy some coffee. Now these museum staff were all hardened coffee drinkers, and only the best would satisfy them…so when Kevin came back with…with…(dare I say it…?!) with…ahem!…Mellow Bird\’s there was almost a riot in the staff-room…!! It was so funny…the response was the same whenever someone was told…a near apoplexy and a spluttered "Mellow Bird\’s…?!!!" Kevin by name, Kevin by nature…! (just like Malcolm…!)

  23. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 12:47 am

    Aha!! My work here is done…!!

  24. Princess permalink
    March 7, 2009 7:08 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! Thanks 4 the lovely comments (hugs) hehehe, read the blog then comments, which seem 2b about coffee! Ooh mellow birds hated that, do they still make it?! Erm, I need 2 make a correction, I see Mike has got it totally worng again, I am gonna whip his butt on the nags this afters! When I add a pic 2 a blog, copy n paste. Unless I\’m putting in a phot of my own. Hope u have a Fab Day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  25. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 10:03 am

    I\’m glad you\’re back to your chirpy self again Princess…hope you\’ve got the lovely sunine, too….if not, then I guess you\’re the one generating it…!I\’ve found that you can\’t copy and paste your own pics…HTML is for pics from Photobucket etc., and their Add Photo…just doesn\’t work now!! Will ask Kayley and Phil, as they always manage to add photos to their blogs…!

  26. Princess permalink
    March 7, 2009 10:08 am

    Yo Sandi, aaaw Thank u! ((hugs)) no sun here, grey sky! Erm, that\’s coz the only way I know how 2 do pics is google em then copy n paste! Soz I\’m not much more help! Right off 2 watch Morning Line!! Luv PF XXX

  27. commander permalink
    March 7, 2009 11:08 am

    put y pics in a blog using live writer or just put a pic in with no text on live writer and press the html button this converts it to code u can copy and past in a html or video custom box . ?you figure it out lol.

  28. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 12:17 pm

    Thanks sweetheart…I will now go and play…never used Live Writer before…so…of we jolly-well go…!

  29. commander permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:29 pm

    It will take time to get the hang of it but it has some neat tricks if u r using pics use the copy and paste to put pics in there or use the button provided to add pics either is fine it has more fonts to choose from too u can write and create a blog in live writer or write on your normal page then pull it into live writer to edit it that is the method i use .write in your blog then open live writer and search for it and edit ad republish again ..you will get the hang of it .If u want to create a picture and text for permanent display in a html box on y page then create it in liv ewriter then press the html button which will convert the whole page into code then copy and pase into a box on your page and u have a permanent display instead of a blog.

  30. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:49 pm

    I was playing with the effects for the pictures before doing the next blog properly…what I should have done though is to choose how to put the text round the pictures…but I forgot to…ne\’mind, I can play with that next time. Thanks…XXXX

  31. Babblelot permalink
    March 8, 2009 4:18 pm

    Hello, I stopped in from a mutual friend or was jist put here by MSN…lol.I just loved your bonnets! I am ah wannbe sewer er seamstress, ennawayI can magically sew crop pants and end up with a 3rd leg? There\’s ahstory there….enjoyed your blog very much. Hope you stop by.Toodie from Missouri…where the men are handsome women purty anyoung\’ins well behaved

Leave a Reply

