Skip to content

Sandi’s Place Name Competition…!

March 7, 2009

Karens 50th 042 I have always had a fascination with place names, and have sometimes used them as character names in stories.  Rosie’s list of funny place names has got me looking at the road atlas again.

See if you can find where these places are….

Lickey End

Hole-in-the-Wall

Wyre Piddle

Cummer 

Up Hatherley

And last, but by no means least…

Beer  Various 2005 031

26 Comments leave one →
  1. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:26 pm

    Thanks Robin…you\’re a star…XXXX

  2. commander permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:32 pm

    Sandy in bedfordshire .All the road signs on the M11 say \’sandy beds\’

  3. commander permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:35 pm

    Duxford……ducks-ford …well the water only came half way up there ducks …?,,,quackers !

  4. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:37 pm

    LOL! I used to spell my name like that…until I found out that that is the masculine spelling…the feminine being Sandie (I just dropped the \’e\’…as you do…!)Home of the RSPB…I love the bird silhouettes on the A1…!

  5. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:39 pm

    There\’s a Gay Street in W Sussex…and…nah…I\’ll save \’em for another time…!!!

  6. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 2:42 pm

    Well…any idea where Lickey End is…eh…?!

  7. Mike permalink
    March 7, 2009 3:08 pm

    None!! But i\’m hoping someone finds it later tonight! 🙂 xxx

  8. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 3:24 pm

    LOL!! Ooooh…you are awful…!!

  9. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:17 pm

    Boggle Hole anyone…?

  10. Pamela permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:32 pm

    In Kentucky there is a city called Morehead.

  11. Mike permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:40 pm

    Now, are you trying to get me into trouble Sandi? 🙂 xxx

  12. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:43 pm

    What…?!!! I didn\’t do nuffink!!

  13. Cornish permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:53 pm

    Little SinnsFrogpoolPark BottomAnd my favourite: Skinners BottomThere\’s more but I forget them for now 🙂

  14. Cornish permalink
    March 7, 2009 5:54 pm

    Ooh and Mount Ambrose too. I had ancestors whos first name was Ambrose. It\’s all becoming clear now!

  15. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 6:09 pm

    Aha! So that\’s where PF lives is it…? Frogpool…!!

  16. Princess permalink
    March 7, 2009 6:16 pm

    ROFL!!!! Noooooo Sandi, that\’s just one of my estates!

  17. LABW permalink
    March 7, 2009 8:31 pm

    Woo hoo 1..Just off the M42 Bromsgrovie way..bin past it many times 2..Ross-on -Wye..Even did a blog about going to the Hay -on -Wye book thingy..Lord Fawley /Mandy…arse..loverly area shame he has got a w/e retreat there abouts. 3…Worcs..I am for ever going to and from that area..on me way to Hereford 4….Have you…ever bin across the sea to Ireland…County Galway 5….I had a year in \’Nam…GHQ…not far away… 6….There a little piece of heaven…in Devon…and they call it….lol When I mentioned a Ladieee friend of mine..who was from Lanc\’s (worked at Shug. Hall )she came from a place called Ramsbottom….there is a place near to moi called Hoar Cross..I don\’t know if they were..or just frustrated…lol…LABW LABW in Whiteoxheather……….xx

  18. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 9:24 pm

    Well done, Chris…you do get about, don\’t you! At least someone has had a go, instead of just giving me more funny place names. You must admit that any place name with Bottom or End in it is funny anyway…lol!!!I like Pam\’s Morehead…it kinda goes with Cummer, don\’t you think…maybe they should be twinned…! The sign would read \’Morehead, Kentucky, twinned with Cummer, Ireland\’…hehehe…ahem!!

  19. commander permalink
    March 7, 2009 9:32 pm

    charmin !

  20. Sandi permalink
    March 7, 2009 10:11 pm

    Eh? What is?! Cummer and Morehead…? Oh, dear…now they sound like a pair of cops…DI Cummer and DS Morehead…!!!

  21. Bran permalink
    March 8, 2009 12:05 am

    Pratt\’s Bottom in Kent.

  22. Pamela permalink
    March 8, 2009 1:13 am

    Kentucky also has a Beaver Lick….Hey, it`s only fair if they have Morehead, lol.

  23. Pamela permalink
    March 8, 2009 1:15 am

    And right here in Ohio is Round Bottom Road : )

  24. Sandi permalink
    March 8, 2009 10:56 am

    That\’s one fat ass…!!! Tell Cartman to go home…!! LOL!! All these Bottoms…like I said, if it has Bottom in the name, it\’s funny….! Oh, the British sense of humour!! It\’s why the Carry On films used to be so popular…and comedians like The Two Ronnies. Toilet humour…!!There\’s a Lickfold in Surrey

  25. Rosie permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:40 pm

    I miss all the fun don\’t I??… at least I got a mention in my absence – it\’s nice to be remembered! :o) Not been working with place names for a while so I\’ve gone a little rusty… but I won\’t bore you with what\’ been happening at work – not that it was much until about 2 weeks ago anyway!

  26. Sandi permalink
    March 11, 2009 8:03 am

    We are having \’issues\’ at work about us all leaving together…I nearly retorted "Do you want us to hold hands, too…?!!" I have to go back, after locking the gates, to sign out and put the keys away….of course I leave on my own!!! The others aren\’t going to come back in with me, are they….doh?! As Jenni asked…."Do you want us to baby-sit her and walk her home…?!! I either keep hold of the keys and leave at the same time as the others…or I have to go back and put keys away…I can\’t do both…!!!! Bloody typical of that place, told to do one thing…then later told to do the opposite…!!!!

Leave a Reply

