Skip to content

And Now For The Weather Report…

March 8, 2009

 

Various 2005 001 What changeable weather we have had this last week.  Grey skies, March winds, rain, hail, and  a little bit of sunshine in between.. You could say that my week has been a bit like the weather…with both good and bad…and indifferent…moods.

 

Last weekend, we found out that our neighbour, Una, has cancer and that she was going into hospital mid-week.  My thoughts and prayers are with her and her family at this very difficult time.  Of course, this has affected my mood for most of the week, so I have been trying to appear happy and uplifted…the actual effect has been more like a yo-yo!

 

The last few days, I have been feeling a bit off colour, which I’m putting down to not eating properly…finances are really tight at the moment.  I’ve tended to feel hungry, wonder what to have to eat…then ask myself if I really need to eat just now…wait until later!  Result…feeling head-achey and fuzzy-headed. Not good!

 

For the last few years, I have been paying a monthly sum to the council to pay back ‘an over-payment’ of housing or council tax benefits.  (One of the debts was passed on to a debt collection agency)   Anyway, the other day I thought that surely this payment that I had been making to the council must have been paid off by now…so I went in to enquire.  The clerk told me the original sum…then told me that I still owe an amount more than double that!!  Come again…?!  

 

Another enquiry to the other department, then she asked if I was also making payments to a debt collection agency.  I told her that that had been paid off in full to get them off our backs…two or three years ago!  We had been hounded and threatened by their bully-boys for months, because we could not afford the extortionate amount they demanded we pay.  I was turning into a nervous wreck, and was scared to go anywhere near the windows for fear of being seen…I guess I was on the verge of a breakdown!!

 

We had been talking about buying the flat for a while, and this is what we did…taking out a slightly bigger mortgage than needed so that we could kick the bailiffs into touch!!   It seems that although we got free of them, they are still f**king about with our money…because they have not passed it on to the council….so I’m still paying!!!  I was livid!!  The clerk then told me that one of their people would get on to the agency and get it sorted for us, and they are going to phone either tomorrow or Tuesday morning to let us know where we stand.  I don’t mind telling you that I really am not happy about this!!  Then I thought that if the original payment did finish last year…then they will owe me money!!

 

And on the subject of money, this month sees the last payment for our garage at the high rate…and next month we will be paying the normal amount.  Arrears paid off and up to date!!  Also, a letter from the mortgage company informs us that our payment has gone down….oh, good!  (How long for, though…?!)   All I need now is a new job…and a nice win on the lottery would be most welcome…! 

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. commander permalink
    March 8, 2009 7:59 pm

    We live to shovel shit.

  2. Pamela permalink
    March 8, 2009 10:11 pm

    I totally agree with that last line Sandi!!I`m sorry to hear about your neighbor.Take care of yourself my friend. (((HUG)))The weather here ATM is a tornado watch, lovely…

  3. Sandi permalink
    March 9, 2009 8:22 pm

    You be careful, Pam…look what happened to Dorothy when a tornado struck…wicked witches and Munchkins and yellow brick roads…and scarecrows, lions and tinmen that talked…freaky!! Oh, that was Kansas, wasn\’t it!! Wierd place!

  4. Sandi permalink
    March 10, 2009 10:22 am

    At last, we have a new area manager, at work, and I am very pleased about it, as It\’s my old boss Sharon. When she left, Karen took over, and…well, all I can say is that Sharon is efficient and knows what\’s what, and when she says she will do something, she does!I still haven\’t heard from the council yet…well, it is MY money we\’re talking about here…not theirs!! Makes a difference!When chatting to Sharon, yesterday, I mentioned the time it takes to check the building and lock up, at work, which means I am working at least ten to fifteen minutes more per day than the others…you get my drift…!I have no idea how Una is doing, as I haven\’t seen Frank at all…

  5. Princess permalink
    March 10, 2009 10:43 am

    Yo Sandi, oh I didna see this post. If u still haven\’t heard anything I wud give em a ring, sometimes u have 2 keep right on top of them…like u say, their more interested if it\’s their money that\’s been affected rather than urs! Hope u have a better day 2day & yes, u do need 2 eat properly! The headaches & fuzziness sounds like more lack of fluid tho? Dehydration. I shall keep my fingers crossed 4u, that they owe u money! Luv PF XXX

  6. Sandi permalink
    March 10, 2009 11:03 am

    I think I drink plenty of fluids…especially at work…water dispensers on every floor…lovely and ice-cold…! As for the council, they are looking for ways to save money, and the big thing at the moment is the closing of the Tourist Information Centres…when tourism is one of Lincoln\’s biggest earners…!! Also, getting as much money from us….and keeping hold of it as long as they can…!! I will be getting onto \’em again…I\’m not going to pay twice for past mistakes!!!

  7. Princess permalink
    March 10, 2009 11:24 am

    U Go Girl!!!!

  8. Sandi permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:14 pm

    Now the work situation is really beginning to piss me off, too…!!! I\’m beginning to wonder what else is going to be heaped on the shit pile…!!!!!!!

  9. Princess permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:20 pm

    Aaaaw hope the work situ improves 4 u soon, glad ur drinking loadsa fluids. Hope u manage 2 have a relaxing evening, Luv PF XXX

  10. Rosie permalink
    March 10, 2009 8:34 pm

    I\’m always weary of other companies who collect on a debt as the stories you hear are usually the ones where the money doesn\’t get passed on – ever thought it might be worth mentioning the word Watchdog to the company you have been paying as a bargaining tool – might motivate them a little more methinks – worth a try at least. Hope things pick up for you and your neighbour… had a bit of a cancer scare myself last year so it sits a little too close to home for me if I were to think about it too much. Well I\’ve still got my London trip to see the Stereophonics to distract me from all else that ailes, will worry about the cost later…

Leave a Reply

