Skip to content

Wuthering Heights and Jane Eyre

March 14, 2009

Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte…the book had me reading through a mist of tears.  This afternoon, I sat and watched the 1992 adaptation starring Ralph Fiennes and Juliette Binoche, and guess what…?  Yes, you guessed…no sooner had I dried my eyes and blown my nose…my eyes leaked again!200px-Emily_Brontes_Wuthering_Heights_DVD_Cover Crying

 

I don’t think that there have been as many film adaptations (I may be wrong) of this passionate classic as there have of Jane Austen’s works, but I have got to vote this one as my all time favourite…Ralph Fiennes was a brilliant, brooding and very sexy Heathcliff….while the rest of the characters were equally well cast….and the whole stayed more or less true to the book.

There were small differences, but I’m not going to list them here…that would be called nit-picking!  Besides, it’s known as ‘artistic licence’…!!  I really enjoyed this film!!

Wuthering Heights was followed by Charlotte Bronte’s Jane Eyre (1996) starring Charlotte Gainsbourg.  It is the story of a young orphan who is sent away to school by her awful aunt….who had promised to bring her up as one of her own.  When Jane leaves the school, she takes a position as a governess to a little girl at a grand old house on the moors.  There she meets and falls in love with the moody owner, Mr Rochester….saving his life, one night when she sees smoke coming from his chamber and finds his bed on fire.  He asks her to marry him, but the wedding is halted by a man who claims that Rochester has a wife already.

Back at the house, Rochester takes the party upstairs where his wife is kept…she is quite mad!  Jane leaves, and the mad Mrs Rochester burns the house down, herself jumping or falling from the roof to her death.  Jane, meantime, has discovered that she has been left an estate and fortune by her uncle…she is now a wealthy woman.  She goes back to to Rochester, but when she arrives she is shocked to find the old house is a burned-out ruin.  Mr Rochester has been blinded by the fire, but he is now free….and I guess they lived happily ever after…aaaaaah….hellgillforce-20050320sRed heart

When they were published, Emily’s novel shocked with is descriptions of passion, jealousy and hatred, and Charlotte’s book was long held to be superior.

  But tastes change, and if you ask anyone today, they are more likely to say that Wuthering Heights is by far the best of the two.  Which do you prefer…?

 

10 Comments leave one →
  1. Mike permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:20 pm

    Doh! Sorry Sandi but havn\’t read either….i\’m more into Tom Clancy, Robert Ludlum and Stephe King, though i do alot less reading nowadays! Glad you enjoyed the film! xxx

  2. Sandi permalink
    March 14, 2009 8:32 pm

    Hmmm…sounds like another blog, doesn\’t it…The Classics v Modern writers….! I\’ll have to think about that one…as I\’m an Ian Rankin fan…reading Fleshmarket Close at the moment.

  3. LABW permalink
    March 15, 2009 12:14 am

    Welll….Sir Lol Olv. and Mer. Ober. in the 1939 film did it for me… the blk. and wh. filming added a certain atmosphere has did Kate Bush with the song ..perhaps it\’s just me..lol LABW LABW xx

  4. Princess permalink
    March 15, 2009 8:03 am

    Yo Sandi, I caught the last half of Jane Eyre on tv yest after my racing had finished! Have u ever been to Haworth, where the Brontes lived? The parsonage where they lived is now a museum. They have actual dresses that they wore & a lot of their personal effects, very interesting! In main street of Haworth there are some really interesting shops, the street is all cobbled, have lost about two stilletto heels on there! I shall try & google u some pics of it! Hope u have a lovely day! Luv PF XXX

  5. Poppy permalink
    March 15, 2009 10:59 am

    I wouldn\’t like to choose between the two, they are both wonderful. I read Jane Eyre as a child, and it made such an impression on me. It was done as a serial on TV on Sunday teatimes, and that was the first time outside my imagination that I saw someone else\’s interpretation of a much loved book. Wuthering heights is equally as loved, looks like I must read them both again soon!! The lives of the Brontes are fantastic too, I can just see them walking round and round the dining room table discussing their thoughts. I have never been to Haworth, but maybe one day 🙂

  6. Sandi permalink
    March 15, 2009 11:44 am

    I\’ve not been there yet, but the Bronte Museum has a website… http://www.bronte.org.uk which tells us about the family and their books, and the museum collections and what\’s on, etc. Yes, I\’d like to go there…but I hate the tourist thing, as I like to see things as they were, not with hundreds of people milling about…!One version of Wuthering Heights, that I saw many years ago, depicted the house as more of a small cottage than the grand farm house that it was meant to be…. \’a quantity of grotesque carving lavished over the front, and especially about the principal door; above which, among a wilderness of crumbling griffins and shameless little boys I detected the date \’1500\’ and the name \’Hareton Earnshaw\’.There…I have started reading it again, now…oh, well………

  7. Poppy permalink
    March 15, 2009 2:20 pm

    Thanks for the link Sandi, I will have a good look! I am like you, I want to see theses places without all the tourists milling around. Quite a few years ago I was lucky enough to visit Hill Top Beatrix Potters home, there was only myself and about 3 other people looking round – it was great! The guide tol me later that I had missed 3 coachloads of tourists earlier in the day, I am so pleased they weren\’t there at the same time as me! I would love to see the sun rise at Stonehenge on mid summers day, but it would have to be me, a few close friends and the Druids….!

  8. Princess permalink
    March 16, 2009 10:34 am

    Yo Sandi! Good Morning! Best time 2 see Haworth is on a weekday, the weekend\’s are packed, especially Sunday, but it\’s very quiet thru the week! Watched Wuthering Heights yest, then Jane Eyre, The Scarlet Pimpernel & have taped Northanger Abbey! Hope u have a Good Day 2day! Luv PF XXX

  9. Sandi permalink
    March 16, 2009 12:16 pm

    Thanks for the best times to go to Haworth, PF…there are often coach trips so will have to pick up a booklet (ah, the dreaded tourist coach trip thingummy!!!) I think that is the most TV I have ever watched in one weekend! Watched WH again, and the gorgeous Anthony Andrews in The Scarlet Pimpernel (it\’s looking a little dated now, due to the make-up!) I\’ve seen Kate Beckinsale\’s Emma and this Northanger Abbey before, but still have to watch them again…!!! I hadn\’t seen that version of Jane Eyre before, but enjoyed it anyway. I love a good costume drama…!! Was very disappointed when Poldark was being shown again, from the beginning…when I was at work!!!!

  10. Princess permalink
    March 18, 2009 8:22 pm

    Yo Sandi, ya know , I think that is the most in films I have watched one after another! Have still got Northanger Abbey 2 watch! Hope u have had a good day at work & that u have a lovely evening! Luv PF XXX

Leave a Reply

