Skip to content

Well I Never…!!!

April 1, 2009
After having lunch with Mum, yesterday, we went for a wander up the High Street.  Passing Waterstone’s bookstore, a book in the window caught my eye, so I had to go in to look for it…but,instead of finding that book, I found Ian Rankin’s Exit Music…the final Rebus story.Smile
 
Mum offered to buy it for me, for my birthday, but as there was a three for two offer on we looked around at the other books.  Seeing nothing to interest us, I said to leave it until next week.  We continued our wander.Hot
 
Upper High Street…suddenly I had the urge to pop into the Cancer Research charity shop to look at the books…and there was Exit Music…for £2…instead of £7.99…!!  Bargain!! Open-mouthed
 
 
8 Comments leave one →
  1. Cornish permalink
    April 1, 2009 3:02 pm

    I almost fainted when you said \’passing Waterstones\’. You never pass that shop!!! Don\’t do that to me!Well done you. I did the same thing with another book yesterday. I saw it a couple of weekends ago for £3 and then bought it for 50p in one of the charity shops. Then, blow me, I met my mother outside the shop and she said I could have borrowed it off her for free. Oh well, I have my own copy now and I can read it whenever I like and the charity shop got a pound out of me cos I put the change back in their pot.Been gardening today and putting food out for the slugs. They do so love a good Clematis. xx

  2. Sandi permalink
    April 1, 2009 3:15 pm

    I know what you mean…I\’m afraid I have great trouble passing that shop!! I have been dragged past by Mum, Ange and Robert…why?!!!

  3. Natalia permalink
    April 1, 2009 6:39 pm

    Cancer Research One! Waterstones Nil. I\’d say that was a brilliant goal ranking there. I had a very good weekend Sandi and Thanks for the beautiful picture in my guestbook…….. Made me smile. Lots!!! xx

  4. Sandi permalink
    April 1, 2009 8:36 pm

    Much as I love Ian Rankin\’s books, I\’m afraid I can\’t afford to pay his royalties…but I\’m sure he won\’t begrudge the money going to a worthwhile charity…!Anyway, I put that down to angelic guidance and thanked them for it.

  5. Mike permalink
    April 1, 2009 10:11 pm

    I\’m sure he\’s a nice chap……but sod him! :-)I doubt it\’ll make the difference between him enjoying steak & chips saturday night or a corned beef sandwich! 🙂 xxx

  6. Sandi permalink
    April 1, 2009 10:15 pm

    Well, someone else bought it from a bookshop and did the honours for me…lol!! I supported a charity…actually, I tell a lie…Mum bought it for me…!!

  7. Cornish permalink
    April 2, 2009 9:19 am

    I\’ve removed the piles of books from the floor in my bedroom this morning and put them on the various bookcases. If I buy any more I\’ll need to get another new bookcase too.I like charity shop books and can spend ages going through them. We\’ve also got a really old second hand book shop down the road that\’s crammed with all sorts of books with very little room between the cases. Not the place to take a wheelchair! Wonderful shop though, however tatty it is. I\’ve found some good books in there!Have a great day. Hope you\’ve got some of this sun too. xx

  8. Sandi permalink
    April 2, 2009 11:57 am

    Not today…it\’s grey and hazy! Yesterday was lovely, though.We have got the Oxfam bookshop in town, and there is Readers Rest halfway up Steep Hill…well, I think it\’s still there…it\’s been a few years since I went up that way, but as I plan on re-discovering my inner-tourist this year, I will be making the climb sometime soon…le puff…le pant….le puff…

Leave a Reply

