Skip to content

Hythe Church Crypt

April 2, 2009

Browsing through my old postcards, this morning, I found this one….File0017

It tickled me, as it’s a birthday greeting…so I just had to buy it…!!  Take a look at the message on the back if you don’t believe me….

File0016

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Bran permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:01 pm

    You can still visit the Hythe crypt if you have a mind for the macabre, a salutary reminder that all existence is transitory!

  2. Sandi permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:11 pm

    I would have thought that dem bones would have been shifted by now…you mean they are still there…? Fascinating. I am not so sure I would have been too happy at receiving this as a birthday greeting…but maybe these two Rose\’s shared a strange sense of humour, perhaps…?!

  3. Sandi permalink
    April 2, 2009 2:16 pm

    Thank you, Bran…I have just found this…http://stleonardschurchhythekent.org/History/HouseofBones.html

  4. Mike permalink
    April 2, 2009 3:36 pm

    Yeah very macabre choice of card….perhaps we\’re just too \’fluffy\’ nowadays?!! 🙂 xxx

  5. Sandi permalink
    April 2, 2009 11:13 pm

    Like I said…a very strange sense of humour, indeed…?!

  6. Natalia permalink
    April 3, 2009 3:26 am

    Fascinating Sandi… But then I don\’t find things such as this macabre. As Bran says a salutory reminder. :o) xx

  7. Cornish permalink
    April 3, 2009 10:07 am

    Each skull tells a story and I wonder what all theirs were. Interesting stuff.Alas poor Yoric (I\’m very aware that I may have spelt that wrong). Yoric, where are you????? What? Someone had to say it!!

  8. Sandi permalink
    April 3, 2009 12:11 pm

    The link I gave below takes you to St Leonard\’s Church crypt info…and it says that some of the skulls could be pre-Medieval…maybe dating from Roman times…you know mercenaries, merchants and such like, as they are not British. It\’s fascinating stuff…and all because I found a postcard sent as a birthday greeting! LOL!

Leave a Reply

